We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel with Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Ranked #19 of 119 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2008

Booked this hotel with American Express Non Refund rate for USD235 per night without breakfast. Since this is our (with my teenage son to Old Trafford) 1st visit to Manchester. I read lot of reviews from TA, nevertheless I am giving mine too as a token of appreciations.

We reached Manchester Ringway Airport from Singapore at 7am. We took our time to walk to the airport train station to Manchester Piccadilly Station for only GBP2.90 one way. A very comfortable ride for less than 30min to reach the main downtown Piccadilly station. Followed the signboard to Piccadilly Place wayout walked across the street for just 2 min to reach the hotel. That's simple.

The Reception Staff are very pleasant and helpful which allow us to check in right away at 8.30am. Room is great very clean & new mainly with FREE wifi. Shower is great too which you would wish to stay a little longer in the shower.

We had dinner at the City Cafe which served fine dinner at a very reasonable price and good service. Since our room package do not have breakfast we can walk across to the train station which have a few cafes open as early as 7am. We will definitely return to this hotel when we visit Manchester soon. Cheers

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Li L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,151)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,864 - 3,870 of 4,151 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2008

Just back from a relaxing weekend at the city Inn, and can't wait to book my next trip again. The hotel is in a brilliant location, just opposite piccadilly train station and 5 mins from market street (main shopping area). Arrived at 23.30, and was checked in quickly without any problems, staff were all very professional and polite. Room was excellent, have stayed in quite a few hotels, but the city inn has been by far the best. Room was spotlessly clean, very modern and loved the mac computer/t.v. White bathrobes were provided which i thought was a lovely touch. Room had everyting, including a proper ironing board and iron (some hotels u have to ring down for one or share one in the hall)
Breakfast was excellent and i ordered quite a bit from the room service menu and it was absolutely delicious too. Read some reviews before i went and having been there i can't believe how anyone could find fault with this place, unless you're extremely fussy. I can't fault any aspect of the hotel and would recommend it to everyone. It's been the best hotel I've stayed in for a very long time and I'll defo being going back again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FermanaghJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2008

Stayed for 2 nights and can see why the hotel is ranked so high in the popularity index. Good location just across the road from Picadilly station. Clean and modern with rooms done in soft soothing hues. The free wifi and the use of the Apple computer in the room is a big bonus. The Apple double up as a television too. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank tripkaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2008

This hotel has a great location for visitors to manchester - especially if arriving or departure from Picadilly is in your plans.

I don't know why more hotels can not just 'get it right' and it seems to be the more expensive the hotel, the more likely of getting it wrong there is - fortunately City Inn is in the happy minority: No nasty surprises.

Effecient check in. Decent bed, windows that open, good selection of things in the mini bar. Proper fridge so you can put your own things in if you wish.

Only niggles are that there is no clock in the room - the nice Mac media centre provides good entertainment opens - but a clock is always nice & that there is no phone by the desk.

keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank frozboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2008

I may be a little biased when it comes to this hotel as I spend almost as much time here as I do at home! I stopped Sunday to Friday for 6 weeks during July and August and am going back there next week for another month or so. As someone who travels as much as I do, it's important that when I come home (or back to the hotel at least) and the end of a long day at work, I am able to relax, eat reasonable food and sleep. May not sound like a lot to ask for but it certainly has been lacking from other hotels I have stopped at.

This hotel is lovely. For me, everything is spot on. You are met at the door and escorted to reception where check in is a quick and stress free procedure. You are given good clear directions to the room and your luggage joins you shortly after with a tour of the facilities of the room, if required.

The room itself is lovely. Clean, bright, minimal. Not fussy, but has everything you could possibly need, including your very own ironing board and iron! A good sized wardrobe means even when stopping for extended periods, you can escape the feeling of living out of a suitcase. The iMac is brilliant and meets all of your entertainment needs, housing the computer, TV, radio and cd/dvd player and I am told there is a wide selection of films available from Guest Services for free.

I utilise the minibar as a small fridge (it isn't one of the automatic charge ones) for fruit juices etc, and for tea/coffee drinkers, a carton of milk is provided so no more fighting with little plastic pots!

Wifi is free throughout the hotel, or if, like me, your broadband provider has dictatorial tendencies and only allows you to connect to your own "hub", cables are available to connect to the hotel's broadband service, again for free.

The bathroom is large and always spotless, has a wonderfully powerful shower and the hotel provides you with toiletries from the fabulous White Company. You are treated to two small towels and two bath sheets, along with two beautiful bathrobes.

The bed is large and comfortable and you are in control of the temperature of the room using the aircon/heating system so the thin duvet is more than suffice.

The rooms all have ceiling to floor windows in the corner near the desk which provide a nice amount of daylight and, although the hotel is located near the busy Manchester Piccadilly Station, good double glazing means you can shut out the city noise whenever you want to.

The bar is contemporary with very friendly staff and the room service is impeccable. Offering a good selection of meals from various menus, the food is always delivered beautifully and hot(!) and with a smile. A gourmet delight!

As I have said, this hotel is my home from home and I am glad it is.

Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank vfrequent_traveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2008

Clean, efficient and well placed hotel

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank tsafleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2008

I stayed at the City Inn for 6 nights and was impressed with the room. the room comes with an IMac computer that is a TV, DVD, CD and Internet all in one. I had my laptop and used the wireless connection with no charge and a strong signal (5th floor all the way down on the end). The room was not huge but big enough with a nice sized bathroom. Iron and Ironing board in the closet (a must for me) along with an in room safe.

As with almost all hotels the curtains did not close out the light, and therefore another good reason for an ironing board in the room :) The breakfast staff were OK but not friendly - part of the whole tip included process!

The main train station is a 2 minute walk out the lobby and shopping and pubs are about 2-15 minutes with plenty of selection.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pdxballard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 119 in Manchester
5,055 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#36 of 119 in Manchester
2,856 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 119 in Manchester
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Business Hotel in Manchester
#15 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $114 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing