We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean, modern hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Ranked #19 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice, clean, modern hotel”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Nice hotel. Very clean and modern. Love the iMac TV system that let's you go online (it has keyboard and mouse) as well as watch DVD's or play CD's. Safe wasn't working on arrival in the room, but 15 mins after calling down all was fixed.

The only gripe really was with noise. We were in room 617 overlooking a derelict building. They are now demolishing this. Don't expect a lie in past 8am if you are facing it.

Also the room doors shut with a load bang so you hear everyone else get up and go for breakfast throughout the morning which gets a bit irritating if trying to sleep in.

Otherwise the service, location and quality are great!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor not facing the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HnhoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear HnhoJ,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience of your stay with us at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly.

We are please to hear you had such a great stay with us and the lcoation and in-room amenities made your stay that bit more special.

There is currently building work operating on one side of the hotel which can cause some guests to wake early in the mornings.

I have also passed on your comments regarding the bedroom doors to the maintenance team who are looking to solve this issue as soon as possible.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,107
    1,390
    417
    117
    43
See reviews for
368
1,584
334
1,077
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Really nice hotel with great service my only criticism would be that the room was on the small side. The staff were welcoming and the warm cookie on arrival was lovely. The beds were comfortable and the imac's in the room were great

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Vicky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Vicky,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that the team and amentities provided were suitable for your stay.

We are also pleased to hear you enjoyed your warm DoubleTree cookies on arrival!

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel many times for business. It is about 2 blocks from Piccadilly Garden train stop and walking distance to shopping and restaurants/pubs. The staff is very helpful and professional, the rooms are up to date and clean. The rooms have a refrigerator which is nice to stock with beverages and snacks for a longer stay. This time I stayed in a Queen Executive City View and it was a corner room with a nice corner window.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Julie,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor.

As a loyal customer of DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly it great to hear you enjoy staying with us.

I agree the location of the hotel is ideal for both Piccadilly Train Station and the local shops and bars. Its great to hear such positive comments regarding the standard of service of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
510 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Really good value for money place. It has changed names a few times in recent years; CityInn, Mint and now Hilton. But the quality is consistent: good serve, decent rooms, good breakfast, super location. Our teenagers are always happy here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oransome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear oransome,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor.

As a returning guest, it's great to hear that we are still exceeding your expectations in the service we provide at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed for one night 12/05/2014 to celebrate my 21st birthday and anniversairy with my boyfriend. Was greeted at check in by very friendly (iona?) She was fabulous and made us feel very welcome. She asked me what we were doing to celebrate my birthday and recommended us some bars to go to. She also gave us our warm cookies and a voucher for some free welcome drinks which I thought was lovely. We went up to our room and there were balloons, and a card waiting which was a lovely touch and made me feel very special. The room was clean and everything as it should be. Bathroom was lovely too. My boyfriend wanted more pillows so I rang down to reception and it wasn't a problem, someone came up with more pillows straight away. Bed was comfortable, my only complaint is that the aircon was a bit noisy and I found it difficult to ignore when going to sleep. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Clare,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay on TripAdvisor.

It is great to hear you had such a fantastic birthday stay with us. As a team we enjoy celebrating guests birthday as much as they do!

We have shared your comments with Ilona who was thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay here.

We have also commuicated the issues regarding the air-con to our Maintenance Team and we apologise for any discomfort this caused.

We look forward to welcoming you both back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

This hotel had some minor flaws that tempted me to lower rating to 4 stars. However these seemed to be mostly because it was fully booked most of the days we were there and accordingly somewhat stressed; they also may be of little consequence to most travelers (Diamond upgrade was minimal, no concierge lounge etc.) so I chose to give 5 stars based upon the great location, the great staff and very comfortable bed. We arrived at about 9 AM and they were able to get us a nice room in about 40 minutes. Maybe we would have had a better room if we waited.
Communicating before arrival, other than by phone (not practical from US), was difficult with even the Hilton international guest services staff not being able to get them to respond by e-mail. However, on a social media site, I eventually tripped over an e-mail that worked & finally did get in touch; they were very responsive then. I’ve let them know about this & they promised to put an e-mail address in an easy to find spot on their website. Please check this and, if it is not there, deduct some stars from this review. The buffet breakfast was quite good, but fell short (nothing special like pancakes, waffles, chocolate croissants etc.) of the breakfast buffets we had at two other English hotels that same trip and way short of breakfast buffets we have had a French & German Starwood hotels.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingdoc42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear travelingdoc42,

Thank you for sharing your recent review with us on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear your stay with us was a pleasant one. I apologise for the difficulty you had in contacting the hotel directly prior to your stay with us. We are currently in the process of looking in to this matter.

I am pleased the Front Desk Team were able to arrange an early check in for you after a long journey and you found the bed comfortable for your stay also.

I have also taken note of your suggestions for improving the breakfast items that we offer and we are most grateful for your thoughts, which have been shared with the Kitchen Team.

We hope you are able to return to Manchester in the future and we look forward to welcoming you once again.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Its important that when I arrive from Piccadilly station I can walk to hotel in 5 minutes which is why I stay there - I asked for quiet room away from trams but that did not happen was given wine instead to make up for it and it worked - service in ground floor was friendly but the staff were amateurish and prices high for cooking quality - but the "deals" good value

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire A, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Richard,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor.

As a regular guest of the hotel, we are please to hear you chose to stay with us once again. I apologise for not being able to allocate you a quiet room on this occasion but also pleased to hear the team were able to turn this around for you.

I have passed your comments regarding service in the dining areas - and agree that the offers in both City Cafe and Piccadilly Lounge are great value.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next stay.

Kind Regards,

Claire Armitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 118 in Manchester
4,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#42 of 118 in Manchester
4,320 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Business Hotel in Manchester
#15 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing