We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for a stop over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Ranked #18 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“ok for a stop over”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

general comments
these hotels are all pretty similar but hopefully this will be of benefit to someone

we travelled here by train arriving at Manchester Picadilly.
if you leave the station by the London Road exit and look right (up London Road)
you can actually see the back of the hotel which is only a two minute walk
we were welcomed with warm chocolate cookies and went to our room
to be honest I felt that the room was a bit cluttered in that it had a desk and chair and a table and chair. we had just flown into Manchester and neede to iron a couple of things, but with the ironing board up, table and chair, cases etc. we couldnt move.
breakfast was nice with orders for eggs being taken by the waitress and the rest buffet stile
overall, handy for a stopover and quite centrally located.

personally
we didnt have a good stay as we were woken at 2.30 AM with the aircon breaking down and the subsequent fuss of someone trying to disable it in the corridor outside, then someone tried the room door handle which turned out to be someone leaving our bill, on which they had added a charge for £23 for something we hadnt had
but I suppose we all have our own stories to tell

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tosherinp60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,079
    1,371
    414
    115
    42
See reviews for
363
1,565
326
1,063
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

When I arrived the staff were friendly and very welcoming. My room was unfortuantly not ready but i went to the bar and they offered me a free drink. When i got the room, it was clean and tidy and lovely standard. I will stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Little_miss_cheeky18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahore, Pakistan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed in the hotel with my wife for two nights from 29th to 31st August 2013. The hotel is situated very close to the Piccadilly Manchester Rail Station and the City Center. The hotel was very clean, calm and quiet. The room was very nice and comfortable. The staff very helpful. The check out was very fast. There was facility even for express check out. We did not dine in the hotel nor used its bar; therefore, I cannot comment on that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotiana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The hotel staff were very helpful and the location convenient. The staff did not seem to know a lot about the surrounding location but they were willing to ramp up their computers to find the answers to important questions like where is the best fish and chips nearby (sadly impossible to find a good fish and chips shop in the neighborhood, but the hotel's bar did a fine job with their version of the national favorite). The hotel is clean and convenient for the business traveler. Taxis arrive quickly and Piccadilly Station is a short walk for all ground travel needs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dontwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night.
Check in was ok.
Had booked parking so had to try and find a place to stop to get key to get to underground parking.
Room was nice but found the TV and Bed locations a problem so you couldn't watch TV in bed unless you had a squint.
Air Con was very noisey so I got moved room from an Exec to a Guest Room
Overall not great. Left me thinking not really there yet when it comes to service.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whiteapple16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackAppleton, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Whiteapple16,

Thank you for choosing the hotel and for taking the time to share your experiences with Tripadvisor. I was dissapointed to read your experience was less than satisfactory.

If you could contact me directly, Jack.Appleton@hilton.com to discuss the contents of your review further that would be much appreciated.

We are dedicated to providing 100% customer satisfaction.

Kind regards,

Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

When we arrived our room was not ready but the staff gave us vouchers for free drinks at the bar which was a nice touch , the room was absolutely top class I enjoyed my stay very much and would return again

Room Tip: My room face the back and was fairly quiet so was not disturbed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danermag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were greeted by friendly staff. It was a busy weekend in Manchester city and the hotel had plenty of staff on to make sure all guests had a speedy check-in. Guest rooms are modern and comfortable. A decent breakfast selection on offer too. Will return again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 116 in Manchester
4,875 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
585 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#44 of 116 in Manchester
4,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Business Hotel in Manchester
#14 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing