We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for us.... we would return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Ranked #18 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“perfect for us.... we would return”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We chose to stay here as we were travelling in to Piccadilly Station and were going onto the Etihad stadium to see a concert, so the location was perfect, just across the road from the station and down the road from the concert venue.
On arrival just before 2pm, we checked straight into our room (and was given a very nice, warm cookie as a welcome gift - fab with a cup of tea after our journey). Our room was on the third floor. with a corner window and a view over to Canal Street, although it was a little too near the tram tracks so best to keep the window shut due to the amount of 'tooting' that they do.
We ate in the restaurant as they had a deal comprising of 2 courses and a glass of wine for £14.50. The food was excellent, although the service was a little on the slow side, but it was a very nice environment to sit in.
We caught a taxi outside the hotel to the Etihad (which cost about £5) and then walked it back, it's about 1.5 miles away so didn't take too long. We went straight to bed when we got back, and though the beds were very comfortable, the air con was a little noisy and the curtain didn't close quite properly so the light coming in the next morning disturbed my sleep.
Breakfast was in the same restaurant as dinner the previous evening and there was a very good selection of continental and cooked items. The only downside was that our server didn't offer us any choice of eggs other than the scrambled ones that were in the hot counter, whereas other patrons were given a choice. The staff were all very friendly and polite.
We hadn't incurred any extra charges so were quick to check out, I did mention the curtain and received an apology, but unfortunately, not a free night as recompense, which would have been nice as we would definitely stay there again in the future :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynz0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,100
    1,385
    416
    116
    43
See reviews for
366
1,579
333
1,073
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We got a good rate through Expedia & booked a double room for 1 night so we could stay over after concert at etihad stadium. The staff were friendly & check in was quick & the complimentary cookie was a nice touch. Hotel is right across the road from Piccadilly station and only 5 min walk to city centre.
The rooms are clean, average size & have everything you need for a short stay. The bed was comfy although the air conditioning was quite noisy when on cool which made sleeping a little difficult also we could hear noise from the corridors & traffic we stayed on 4th floor.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne_B55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north-east england
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed overnight here while traveling on business. The location is great if you're traveling by train - just across the road from the station but far enough away to not hear the trains.

The staff were very welcoming (as always in Hiltons, I find) and my room was spacious and clean with complimentary water.

My only real bugbear was the temperature. The room was really hot and it was too noisy to sleep with the window open (it wasn't massively noisy but I'm used to it being very quiet at home). I put the air con on the fastest speed and lowest temperature but it made no difference whatsoever. Its not a big thing but prevented a good nights sleep for me. I'm sure they would have tried to sort it out if I'd complained, but for one night, it just didn't seem worth it.

The shower had little water pressure (came out in more of a trickle) and the temperature fluctuated wildly, but the bathrooms are otherwise really good.

This all sounds negative, but I'm being picky. This is actually a really nice hotel and I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redhead49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howden, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

For anyone wishing to spend time in this wonderful city, this hotel is well positioned within 5-10 mins walk of the city centre. The building is modern, but very bland and totally lacking in character. The rooms are equally bland, but of a reasonable size and well appointed. The staff in this hotel are its best point, they are helpful, polite and go out of their way to make customers feel welcome.

There is an on site restaurant, but the food is poor at best. The toiletries provided in the en suite bathrooms are limited...indeed the shower gel dispenser in the shower would only dispense tiny amounts of gel.....and the room TVs do not have good pictures. Free wi-fi is available but the signal is poor and this leads to regular disconnection from the intenet.

Would I recommend this hotel??? No, not really, there are many better hotels in the middle of Manchester. I would only return to this one if I had no choice!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKH245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed at the Doubletree Hilton Piccadiliy last week on business and was excellent on the whole. 3mins walk from the station, room was readly despite being slightly earlier than check-in time. Complimentary cookie and umbrella were provided on arrival which were both much needed. Room was great, decent size with highl standard of amenities and very reasonably priced. Would certainly stay again when next in town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shand08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Excellent 2 night stay the Doubletree Hilton Piccadilly.

Arriving early, we were able to check in straight away, with our complimentary cookies.

Our room, a standard twin, was spotlessly clean with all the basics and a few extras. Light in the wardrobe, iMac, free wifi, fridge, complimentary water (refreshed each day), safe, kettle with plenty of coffee, tea and biscuits, Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries in the bathroom...

The room was a decent size, plenty of room to move about and lots of storage. The bathroom was big, bright and well stocked with toiletries and towels.

Our room had a very effective heater/air con on the wall so the temp was always right for us. Plus the windows actually opened, often a rarity in a city hotel. We had a great view over Piccadilly station and the street below.

Breakfast could not be faulted. We were seated straight away, coffee/tea and juice brought to our table and any special orders taken (poached eggs, fried eggs, etc). The buffet was stocked with good quality hot food, pastries, cereals, porridge, many diff. breads and jams, fruit, meat and cheese, yogurt... Staff were constantly bringing out more to refill and replace. The yogurt and granola pots were especially nice.

We found all the staff to be very friendly and polite, nothing was a problem for the,. From ordering taxis to giving us directions, they were always helpful and pleasant.

We found the hotel to be in a fantastic location. 5 minutes walk from Piccadilly station if you are arriving by train, easy walk to the shops for a little retail therapy. The hotel is a stones throw from Canal Street and an easy walk to Chinatown. Also a 15 min walk to the Apollo, or a £5 taxi ride if you'd prefer.

I'd recommend this hotel 100%, it's an excellent base in a fab city and I will definitely return. Thanks!

Room Tip: Room 532 has views towards Piccadilly station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouLom79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Enjoyed our weekend in the Hilton apart from the breakfast service and quality of breakfast. We have stayed in Chester doubletree many times and it seemed better. And rooms are bigger. Staff were nice upon check in. Welcoming us with warm cookies upon check in is a warm welcome. Parking great under the hotel and easy access lift. Breakfast queue was far too long..... 15 -20min wait then another 15 min wait for actual buffet breakfast. They keep running out of things causing a big delay. Other than that we enjoyed the location and room.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skeeweeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 117 in Manchester
4,940 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#43 of 117 in Manchester
4,310 reviews
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 117 in Manchester
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Business Hotel in Manchester
#14 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing