We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good central location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Ranked #21 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good central location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed here in Jan 2013 - we booked x3 rooms each at £89 which included breakfast.
Rooms - spacious, modern, and clean.
Staff - no complaints, all polite, greeted with warm cookies on arrival.
Location - good central base, 2 minutes on foot from Piccadilly station.
Parking - £15 for 24-hours, expensive but as expected for city centre, there are only limited spaces too.
Food - breakfast service was terrible, we waited 1/2 hour for tea and coffee and left without it in the end as we'd actually finished breakfast at this point, breakfast was cold and no choice on how you want your eggs cooking which disappointed me.
All in all though I would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly_lfc07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,994
    1,327
    401
    115
    40
See reviews for
352
1,517
313
1,015
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
160 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were given a voucher by a family member for afternoon tea at the hotel and booked ourselves in, they were more than happy to change the date at the last minute when our situation changed. The manager was more than welcoming and showed us to our table quickly. The food we received was of good quality, quite a variation of food and enough for two people, (note: the home-made scones were very nice). We had a look at the menu and couldn't imagine paying for the same meal at the much higher normal price, granted we had a deal voucher but in our personal opinion having eaten across the world, the price we paid was more than enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKworldtrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Where do I start? I absolutely adored this hotel due to it's strategic location near to the Manchester Piccadilly station, which makes commuting easy and the location to shops and Arndale which makes it a very convenient hotel. Arrived fairly early after a 15 hour journey and to my surprise, was given keys to the room early. Lovely cookie treat presented after check in and I can't thank them enough for the rest I had afterwards instead of wandering around aimlessly like a zombie had we were not given the early check in. Rooms are spacious with what you would normally find in a good hotel, desk, wardrobe, bar fridge, ironing board, crabtree toiletries and an iMac tv/computer which I loved. The pillows were not up to my liking as it was very down. Guess you could get that changed to your preference of which I didn't. Decided to add their breakfast at 10 pounds each upon check in. Their English breakfast was okay, which was what you need to start your day. Non halal though, so didn't try their bacon and sausages. Friendly staff throughout. Special thanks to Irfan for Jordan for their friendliness and for directions given. Lovely modern convenient hotel which is worth a try.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fazzigucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have stayed here twice and both times - the rooms were emaculate, the service was unrivalled throughout.

I have used all the facilities at this hotel and would recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting Manchester. Room service, cocktail bar - I forget the name- and breakfast restaurant.

All staff friendlty and efficient - making stays easy and a delight

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysOnMyHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annalong, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed in this hotel as a couple in early december for just one night on a weekend. Overall our experience was very pleasure and we got exactly what we expected from the hotel, their brand and our money. This hotel was previously known as the Mint hotel and i could never seem to get a booking but managed to after trying a few other hotels. This weekend was very busy because of the football being on and the x factor was in town. However, i will make this hotel a 1st option for may many further trips to manchester but it was excellent.

For location the hotel is basically a stones throw from Piccadily station which is the main one in manchester and serves london, the airport and much of the north-west. It is only a brief 5min walk to other attractions includes the main shopping centre and streets. We were over for the Derby football match and walking from the hotel is only about 2miles or less but there is buses about 500m away on match days.

The breakfast was very tasty and everyone you would expect and i noted the staff were always present, cleaning and helpful which can be important when its busy and a buffet style eating enviroment.

The front of house were all very helpful and sorry i couldnt remember names to name and praise but there was no bother and the cookie on arrival and departure was a lovely touch after travelling! Didnt get a chance to experience their meals, spas? pools? or the many other things they offer but i am sure it was all great.

Will def be visiting again and no problems at all!

p.s the rooms have apple TV. Very classy

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DSH16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Four of us stayed here in December for a weekend.The location was good-only a short walk to Piccadilly.We had a bar snack at lunchtime which was very good and the staff were very friendly.The room was basic but clean and very adequate for our stay. Breakfast was very good.
All in all I could not fault this hotel which was very good value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 605Chrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We had a great one night stay here. The location is perfect for travelling - it could hardly be any closer to the Piccadilly Station and China Town is a stone's throw away.

The warm cookie on arrival is a nice touch. The staff were very friendly and helpful - checking in was a breeze! There is a computer in the room too, which is excellent for printing off boarding passes.

We also greatly enjoyed our dinner in the hotel restaurant. It may not be the cheapest place in town but it is good quality food with superb service.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.7 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#42 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Business Hotel in Manchester
#16 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing