We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort at an affordable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Ranked #18 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I have used Double Tree Hiltons a number of times now and will always look to stay here in preference to cheaper hotel chains.

The service is excellent, the staff well trained and attentive. Every effort is made to make your stay an enjoyable and pleasant one. For those collecting Hilton honor points, there is a separate booking in area at reception and all staff are friendly and helpful.

Yes, I will continue to support this chain, here and abroad

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Donald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,776 - 2,782 of 4,229 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

Our recent experience was completely soured by finding a plastic lid trapped under the sheet on the bed which was discovered only when I went to bed. Horrible! It did make you question the level of cleanliness if something so obvious was missed. It was pointed out to the manager who has apologised and offered an upgrade to a suite the next time we stay there. At the time we did point out that it was unlikely that we would do that so it was an empty offer and why would we as there are other hotels in that location with more style and character and almost certainly cleaner?

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happy-Traveller046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Fabulous location. Was really pleased, the hotel could not be any closer to the train station, canal street, shops, etc! There were plenty of reasonably priced restaurants to eat out close to the Hotel, which was brilliant. The bed was comfortable, although the pillows were a little bit shabby- but it did not spoil my time or experience! LOVED IT!! We would be more than happy to return :-)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Myself and my wife had the pleasure of staying at this hotel on Saturday night. First of all this was our first stay with this particular hotel. We normally stay at the Hilton on Deansgate but since Doubletree has taken on what used to be The Mint we thought we would give it a try! How pleasantly surprised we were! First the staff at reception we were very accommodating even pre checking us in and giving us an upgrade to boot. This enabled me to go off to football and my wife to get into the room. The hotel is very modern,light and airy and is very appealing to the eye. The rooms are spacious and have plenty of facilities even down to the very nice shower gel. My wife had a problem with the Apple Mac TV but a gentleman on reception was straight onto it and resolved it so that she could watch her strictly come dancing :-). We had a great nights sleep even tho our room was on the Piccadilly Station side but traffic noise was very minimal. I have stopped in a few DT hotels with business and am used to the breakfast format but this breakfast has to be the best one yet!

Room Tip: Try and go for a corner room as you get a small seating area that overlooks the streets below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trueblueChester_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Great location, a few steps from Piccadilly station, and very close to Canal Street, Deansgate, shops and so on.
Great staff, very professional, super quick check in, breakfast was fine, good espresso available, very smart Mac TV/computer/internet in the room, free fast wifi.
Really comfy queen bed, had a great sleep. No noise at all.
We have already booked the next stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveblower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

When in Manchester, I often use the Hilton Deansgate but due to unavailability thought that I would give the Doubletree a try. I was very pleasantly surprised and will definitely be returning on future trips.

The hotel is very convenient being literally a few steps from Piccadilly Station.

From the minute I arrived, I was made to feel like a valued guest with each and every member of staff going the "extra mile" to make sure that my stay fully met my expectations. I had a lovely room and things like the iMac TV are a great convenience providing TV, Radio, CD/DVD and Internet facilities. Check in and out was highly efficient. The room service menu is a little limited in choice but each meal I had was very well presented with good quality ingredients and well prepared. There is an excellent choice of foods on the breakfast buffet and good quality coffee.

All in all this must be one of the best UK Hiltons.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yhi904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

clean corner executive room as an upgrade. nice comfortable bed, complimentary minibar and good breakfast. helpful staff. overall a very nice hotel in a rather dismal city! we can recommend the hotel but not the city which has a very rough undercurrent to it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frater93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#34 of 120 in Manchester
2,578 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#42 of 120 in Manchester
4,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Business Hotel in Manchester
#14 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $99 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing