We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Ranked #19 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I travel frequently to Manchester on business and highly recommend the Double Tree Hilton. I've stayed at several other hotels nearby and always regret not picking this hotel! The team at reception are amazing and very welcoming. They have a Mac/TV system in every room and free wifi as well. The hotel bar and restaurant are great-- room service too. The location is perfect and is a street away from the main train station and a minute walk from Canal Street. A great place to stay!

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor for a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,122
    1,402
    424
    117
    43
See reviews for
373
1,592
337
1,085
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed here overnight as my team Villa played City in cup game. Very good location and wide range of facilities. Bar staff very friendly and breakfast buffet fine. Room was very comfortable and the fact that Villa won made my stay all the more enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Room spotless and very comfy with lovely products in the bathroom.
Staff very helpful and friendly and getting a nice warm cookie on arrival was very nice.
Free Wifi
Only had breakfast at the hotel which had plenty of choice and service was good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Situated a few minutes' walk from the station, the hotel is in ideal place for business people and visitors alike. Once you have mastered the efficient local tram system, it is then easy to reach most parts of the City.
The Doubletree takes pride in its slightly offbeat approach - professionalism with fun. Most of the time it works well,and the staff are helpful, but it has downsides. The signature freshly baked chocolate chip cookie at check-in is an example: initially appealing, it is then an extra object to hold when already carrying luggage,and the chocolate tends to melt on to you if you are not careful!
Rooms are functional but well equipped, even if the bathroom (no bath but effective shower) is the size of a large cupboard. Free bottles of mineral water, tea/coffee making facilties and an empty fridge for your use are helpful. Free wifi that is really stable and reliable is a plus point. However, the hotel is let down by room airconditioning, when it proved impossible to lower night-time temperatures below 23C despite an engineer's attention: it was cooler in the corridor. Opening the window just let in the sounds of drunken Mancunian weekend revelry in the station approaches from 9pm onwards. The Director of Operations has promised to look into this. Additionally, there were loud hotel guests running up and down the corridor at 2am on one night, but perhaps that is not the hotel's fault.
The hotel scores well on its food offering. The one AA rosette for the restaurant (City Cafe) is well deserved: freshly cooked food from an innovative menu was served promptly on request at an early dinner (545pm) at a cost of c£22pp with a beer, including 10% service added to the bill. This is useful if you have a concert or play you want to attend. The breakfast buffet was also first-class, and seemed to be discounted to £10 at check-in if you tell them ( I don't think this was just for HHonors members so it is worth asking).
With constant and continuing efforts to improve, this hotel could readily become a very good one.

Room Tip: High room facing the rear of the hotel would, I am told, avoid noise from revellers, but it would fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quodnumquamscis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed 1 night. Hotel is in a great location and on the surface is a good choice, smart public areas. We were on the 5th floor and the room was comfortable with a good bathroom / shower. We had booked a double room but the bed turned out to be two singles pushed together with no attempt to even fasten them together, and completely separate bedding on each bed. I could hae forgiven all this if we had been well looked after but sadly this was not the case . No cookie offered on check-in, we had to come back and ask, a 25 minute wait for 2 coffee's in the bar on Saturday night, Arrived down for breakfast at about 9.50 on Sunday morning (breakfast was available 7-11am), met by a large queue and when finally did arrive at the front after approx 10 mins we were told there would be a 25 minute wait. When I questioned why this was the case the reply was " if you had been down here at 9.00am it was very quiet". Staggering that a hotel of this supposed quality seemed to be completely un-prepared for the fact that people may want to come down for breakfast after a lie in on a Sunday, in the last hour that breakfast was being served !!!. When we finally got it breakfast was very good. In summary this would be a great place to stay if you felt like you were being treated as the customer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulS844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Enjoyed a 3 night break here in September 2012. Easily accessible. We got a direct train from the airport to Picadilly Station, and hotel was literally a 2 minute walk from the station. Very friendly, welcoming, helpful staff. Warm cookie was delicious and very welcome after a few hours of travel. We requested a quiet room in advance and got one. Loved apple TV/computer and internet access on it was free. Easy walk to main shopping street. Walked to Jamie Oliver's Italian restaurant easily after booking a table on line in the hotel room. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room on a higher floor away from the noise of the lifts and trams
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stay regularly at the London Westminster Mint Hotel, and the Manchester property follows the same format. Staff helpful, rooms well thought out, and a great breakfast freshly cooked for each guest.

My room on this trip was the nearest to the lift lobby, and the ping on the arrival of the lift was loud enough to keep me awake (as was some of the night time activities of other guests) - and on a christmas party night, there was a fair amount of coming and going until late.
I've stayed in this hotel a few times under different management, and although I've stayed at other Doubletree hotels, this was my first visit since Hilton took charge.

Check in was fine (A cookie on check in? Too many other things to sort, and bags to handle. A welcome token in the room would suit me better ...)

Room - disappointing. I stayed for two nights, but asked to be moved after the first - internal noise from the air con unit (even when off) and external noise from the trams tooting under the window were both too loud for a good night's sleep (even on the 8th floor).

SO if you are a light sleeper, make sure the receptionist knows.

The rooms still have apple macs for TV and computing, with wifi included in the price (hurrah!) The interface still needs some work - you can't alter the volume if listening to the radio using the remove.

In the first room, the tea bag saucer was chipped, and in both rooms the soft furnishings were stained - so perhaps a bit of TLC needed.

Rooms were spotless, and not cramped. If I could guarantee a room away from the tram lines, and the lifts, I'd visit here more often.

Room Tip: Light sleepers should make sure they are away from the lifts and not overlooking the tram line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keitharrowsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 118 in Manchester
5,001 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#35 of 118 in Manchester
2,806 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#41 of 118 in Manchester
4,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Address: 1 Piccadilly Place, 1 Auburn Street, Manchester M1 3DG, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Manchester)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Business Hotel in Manchester
#15 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly occupies a landmark site on the new Piccadilly Place development. The hotel reflects the vibrancy of the city, and is located close to major national rail connections. Relax in the sophisticated surroundings of our restaurant or our alluring Piccadilly Lounge and vibrant Blue Bar, then rest in hotel rooms styled with absolute consideration for your comfort. All with excellent facilities for leisure or business guests including iMac computers and complimentary wi-fi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Manchester Piccadilly Hotel Manchester
City Hotel Manchester
Manchester City Hotel
City Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing