We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Nearby Hotels
$87
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$87
$72
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$133
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$85
$71
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$124
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$158
$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$163
$100
Hilton
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$112
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Midland(Manchester)
$130
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$212
$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (4,398)
Filter reviews
4,398 results
Traveler rating
2,261
1,507
454
125
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,261
1,507
454
125
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treewarm cookiescity cafetrain stationon arrivalfree wificanal streetmanchester piccadillyexcellent hotelmodern hotelmini barbusiness triphotel barbreakfast was excellentcentral locationsaturday nightchecking in
Filter
Updating list...
4,156 - 4,161 of 4,398 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2008

I stayed in this hotel on New Year's Eve 2007 with my fiancee. We booked a City Club Room. The hotel is great. The creaters have really given some thought to 'what it is that guests want'! The room was a good size, super clean, the staff great, service wondeful, etc, etc...

Added bonus of paying that little bit more for a City Club Room were: Free bar token (which we both used on great cocktails), early check-in - late check-out (were able to sleep in until we like - check out 4:00pm), Apple IMAC in room (standard in all rooms) with free internet access, built in t.v).

I could go on and on about how good the place is but havent got time...

Will definatly go back there.

Stayed: December 2007
3  Thank DMC16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2008

Reception staff were friendly and check in was quick. Decor in the room was uninspired but everything was clean and fresh looking and the iMac was great.

Found the menu in the bar a little limited so decided not to eat there and visited Harvey Nichols instead. On arriving back at the hotel we visited the bar for our glass of champagne and canapes, which were part of the deal. I was asked for my card, so trailed back upstairs and then told that wasn't it. The waiter then returned from reception with an envelope we should have been given on arrival. Having nearly drank our champagne (good by the way) our canapes still hadn't arrived. After requesting them for a second time, they arrived (two extremely small pieces of chicken and equally small pieces of salmon). I didn't bother the next day. This was really my only gripe, bearing in mind we had paid extra for the whole package and wasn't asking these for free. A minor thing but embarassing at the time. Another minor fault was that there was no clothes hooks in the bathroom - don't know what you are supposed to do with your robes while you shower (no bath)

The quality and choice of the breakfast was wonderful. The evening meal, we couldn't fault, the only tartar sauce I've ever been able to eat.

The staff, on the whole, are helpful and friendly and the hotel is in a perfect location for Picadilly Station. Only a short walk into the town centre. Overall, a really good experience

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Susie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2007

I Have had the pleasure of staying in quite a few of the top hotels in Manchester from the Hilton to Great John Street but the friendliness and warm welcome shown by all the staff at the City Inn far out strips all of the other hotels. The Breakfast and evening meals are of excellent quality and value.
The rooms with free Internet and i-max TV. are large and very clean.
On are next visit to Manchester on business or pleasure we will book in at this hotel as it is so convenient for Piccadilly rail station.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank brewboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2007

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2007

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews