We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Patronising Guide.....”
Review of Coronation Street The Tour - CLOSED

Coronation Street The Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The tour has now ended and there are no tickets available. Coronation Street The Tour was always supposed to be a temporary attraction which was originally meant to end on October 3rd 2014, so it has been fantastic that we were able to keep it open longer than anticipated. Since we opened we've welcomed over 850,000 visitors from across the world, thank you to all our guests who visited the cobbles.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Patronising Guide.....”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Production has moved to a new location so the old studios are open to tours. There is limited on-street parking nearby and the tour cost us £16.50 each when we toured on 14 May.
We were looked after by an over enthusiastic female guide who was most patronising,spoke to us all as if we were 5 year old children and rushed us through. To be honest this spoilt our tour and several persons commented on it. The tour itself is interesting if you are a Corrie fan. You are shown around the set - including the inside of the Rovers - for about 45 mins and then left to your own devices for as long as you wish on the street. You are free to take photos outside and there is a souvenir shop, cafe and toilets. Cafe is a bit pricey but the is a Greggs at the end of the street if you want to economise. All in all a good experience - pity about the poor guide.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Geronimo92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

6,406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,824
    1,235
    257
    53
    37
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Such a worthwhile visit, absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

This is a must if you can get there before it ends. It was amazing to see the actual set used for filming, being able to see film clips, having our photo taken behind the bar of the Rovers Return, seeing dresses, jewellery etc used on set and actually walking through Coronation Street where you can take photos. It is an absolute must for any Corrie fan. It's a shame it supposed to be knocked down afterwards, they should keep it and build a museum instead and keep adding to it as it's so fabulous and seems a shame for it to be lost.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Theresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A trip down memory lane ... And the cobbles”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Had a nice day here today.
Took my mum and Auntie who are both huge Corrie fans and we had a fab time.

Out tour guide Martin was great, he was very knowledgeable and fun, he really knew his stuff and had lots of experience.
The only fly in the ointment is you can get crossed with the next tour and can't hear your tour guide. If the tours were staggered more as I didn't get the chance to get a good look at memorabilia as the next group were on the way.

It is worth the money though and I would recommend it to everyone, even non Corrie fans for the history.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RachHC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The tour of tours”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I went to the Coronation Street tour today with my friend. We had a lovely time , it is great value for money, the tour guide Phil was very knowledgeable and everywhere was interesting. Eveyone was helpful and the facilities were excellent. The inside tour was very good only slight negative is that we would have liked longer to go round the inside as there is so much to see and take in. The photos on the walls of the characters were great and it was like walking down memory lane looking at the photos. Then we went onto the Street!!!!!!!!!!!! I had my picture taken outside every single house, back street, walking on cobbles!! We all had our photo taken inside the Rovers Return (that was my highlight). I would thoroughly recommend to any Corornation Street fans it is a must and I am hoping to go back again before it closes in October.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marcia1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Tour booked on bank holiday sunday at 5.40pm. Friendly tour guide who really knew his stuff. All facilities top rate. The little cafe does lovely sausage rolls :-)
Photos were not allowed to be taken when touring the sets so please be aware but photos are allowed on the cobbles. Following the tour and all the photo's we left the street at about 7.15 so well worth the money. Definitely recommend the attraction for corrie fans!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JenaGerrard8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coronation Street The Tour also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing