We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveler rating
61
74
36
17
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
74
36
17
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ox science museum central manchester stayed one night car park deansgate mosi
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 215 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2017 via mobile

Overpriced and tatty. Paid £90 so expected a reasonable room. Chipped paint all the way up to rooms, Bedroom was ok but smelt musty. Bathroom was awful. Stained grout, mouldy in places, tepid shower and floor looked dirty. Literally somewhere to crash for the night so should have been £50 given the quality.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank Hazel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2017 via mobile

We visited today for Sunday lunch, four of us. Sat at a filthy table, ordered at the bar, no beef left, no fish and chips left. Waited an age for starters, one of which never arrived. Tomato and Basil Soup was A small bowl of Heinz served with Margarine and 2 bits of bread - £3.25. After waiting a further 30 mins for the mains, 2 of them arrived then a further 20 minute wait for other 2. The veg was dry and cremated in he microwave. No apology for delay in half the tables meals. Had to ask for Cutlery and napkins and table still not wiped. Had to ask for side order of mac and cheese as this was also forgotten and was presented with a third of a tin of tinned mac and cheese microwaved in a bowl with skin on. For £3.75. Red wine was also off. Unsurprisingly we weren't asked when out plates were cleared if everything was ok.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017 via mobile

We stayed one night. Great location for the city centre. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. We had lunch and breakfast there and it was good old fashioned pub grub, fresh and hot. The rooms could do with modernising but overall a great experience. I would definitely use it again.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Vicki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017 via mobile

The Ox is very close to the Manchester central convention centre which was great for us who were attending an event that weekend, it's close to the science museum. Food is lovely and well presented. Staff friendly and welcome catering to guest needs well. Can be a little loud at the weekend but aren't most pubs? I'd recommend the Ox both for staying and eating/ drinking. Will be staying again in the future.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Bárbaraa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2017

We arrived a little early..but booked in,took a seat in the bar until we got our key..it was very busy,with live music all day..We were shown to our room by Nick.think he was the manager..very friendly and welcoming..our room was at the top of the building,which needed a little lick of paint..our room was comfortable and extremely clean..there's a lovely menu for food..it's a central location,near to lots of things including a museum across the road,lots more restaurants and bars..

Room Tip: I would go for a low number room..
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank chris185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews