We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little things could make big difference at £76.00 a night”
Review of The Ox

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ox
Ranked #5 of 27 Manchester B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Little things could make big difference at £76.00 a night”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed at The Ox last Saturday night; there were 4 of us, so we booked 2 rooms. They advertise "Rooms from £35.00 a night" - We were charged £76.50 per room per night, regardless of advanced booking... Not sure if this is just at weekends that the cost more than doubles?
So what did we get for our money?
SERVICE:
On arrival the pub was quite busy, and there seemed to be only one person behind the bar, and one waiting the tables. We stood with our bags for a few minutes before the girl behind the bar became free. I stated we wanted to check in, to be told "It's payment on arrival, is that ok?" Not a problem at all, this is often standard practice BUT when I asked if one of us could take the stuff up to the room as we were waiting for my Dad to arrive (he'd gone to park the car) and he would be paying; we were not allowed the keys until we had paid. So we had to stand in a busy pub with all our bags for a good 10 minutes or so... Given that they had my name, address and card details from when I made the booking, I don't really see what the issue was?

Anyway, Dad arrived and paid and the girl behind the bar came over, handed us the keys for room 1 and 2 and started back to the bar when I had to shout after her "Excuse me but how do we get to the rooms?" -Not the service level you expect at £76 a night....

On the evening, I requested a glass of water to take to my room; I was about to be given a plastic cup until the bar manager told the other staff member that i should be given a glass

ROOM:
Went up to the rooms, bed seemed to be one of those "just a bit smaller than a double" but was comfy enough and the duvets were nice. Would have preferred the option of 2 pillows...
Not the cleanest; people's receipts etc under bed, in drawers...
Light was quite dim; awful for putting on make-up! Neither of our lamps worked; swapped a bulb with one from parents room and it was fine. Again, something easy to check.
Neither radiator had been turned on so it was quite chilly; perfectly fine after we turned them on though.
Road noise was a problem.. Single glazed windows; really could do with getting double glazed or secondary glazing. The latter would be the most effective for the noise! Need to invest in a window refurb specialist!!!
Also noise from the staff dragging outdoor furniture in on a night and out on a morning.

There's also no breakfast; for £35 a night this is exactly what I'd expect, but not for £76!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April2891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    66
    31
    13
    19
See reviews for
19
74
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This review relates to food at The Ox as I haven't stayted there. Turned up on spec before a family trip to MOSI. Really helpful staff including the provision of a high chair, good deal on 2 courses for around £13, with excellent food. Slow cooked ox cheeks were outstanding, as were ham hock terrines and moules. Kids portions were huge- mine shared one between two. Their beef was a little overdone, but some other snippy reviewers have whinged about underdone (ie correctly cooked) beef, so I guess the chef just can't win sometimes...
I will be returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BiltongBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This place is pretty good. Okay, the rooms are not really hotel class - the decor needs some attention and the heating could do with a boost, but the beds are comfy and the hot water good, and it is only a few minutes walk delights(!) of central Manchester, and more importantly the food and drink in the pub/restaurant downstairs is excellent. Parking is a bit of an issue: they don't have their own so you are reliant on the local car-park (which charges 24hrs/day), or on-road parking (in the bays or on _single_ yellow lines) which is free between 8pm and 8am - just don't sleep in! Oh, and they don't do breakfast either.
I didn't have any problem with noise from the pub downstairs, but is was a mon/tue night and I was two floors up.

Room Tip: 8, 9 and 10 are on the second floor, so further away from any pub noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robwks7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013

stayed one night in january.
so close to deansgate station, short taxi ride to northern quarter- staff really friendly, perfect for us girlies staying to celebrate a birthday
food was really good value-huge fish and chips and beautiful starter for ten pounds, and very nice
we will definitely stay again
splitting the room between the three of us it really was a bargain
only tiny grouse is bathroom could have been a little cleaner and the paint work doesn't look quite finished!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank makehungyhistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We phoned up for a late reservation on Sunday afternoon and fair enough they accommodated us which we were pleased about as we had eaten there before and really liked it so were expecting a similar experience. How wrong we were!
After ordering drinks at the bar and letting the staff know we had arrived we were left standing around for 10 minutes before I had to ask if certain tables were ours as we were all just stood in the middle of a busy bar. We were eventually seated and all ordered the beef roast dinner along with a starter, which I wasn't made aware of over the phone, as it was a set menu. We were served the meal, in good time, all looking forward to it after last time we were there and all tucked in to the beef with disgust. The beef was almost impossible to cut due to it being so undercooked and pouring with blood, we all sent it back and complained with which their reply was that the menu does say medium rare beef which we were unaware of as we all just ordered the beef without looking. They did provide us with a chicken dinner to be fair which wasn't much better and when served to us the waiter said that he had served 170 of these, referring to the beef dinner, and no-one had complained which isn't what I would call excellent customer relations. So it safe to say I won't be calling again for Sunday lunch but will maybe go again on another day.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Danny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Sayed one night warm welcome, taken to room, full instructions on getting in and out of hotel for after hours.
Room decorated to good standard nothing spectacular but CLEAN TIDY and nice clean bedding. Small TV but great picture shower room and toilet clean and all facilities worked
I was in Room One noisy outside till Midnight local "character" stood outside singing etc
So if you are planning an early night think about it
I was on Business trip so not a problem.
Excellent value for Manchester 5 mins walk to Castlefields Canal area and City Centre

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just stayed in The Ox for 3 nights over the bank holiday weekend to go to Manchester Pride. This was the second time we had stayed at The Ox and noted that the rooms had been updated and decorated to a good standard. We had a problem with the shower on the first day and this was dealt with promptly and efficiently. Fresh towels and room cleaned daily. The only thing I could suggest would be some hand soap to be available in the bathroom as we had to use shower gel initially, other than this we had another comfortable stay in The Ox. We ate in the bar on one occasion, there is not a huge selection for vegetarians and the option we selected was not available but they were accommodating in making sure that we got something we enjoyed within a limited choice, the food was wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaJ3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#43 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,215 reviews
0.3 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#8 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,806 reviews
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 117 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ox

Property: The Ox
Address: 71 Liverpool Road | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ox 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ox Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing