We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveler rating
63
76
37
17
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
76
37
17
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ox science museum watch the football needed somewhere tea and coffee making facilities a lovely stay visiting manchester stayed one night deansgate mosi concert
Filter
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 220 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed at The Ox Manchester for a family night to watch the Football at OId Trafford, We booked a Family Room which had great views of the Science Museum and is a stepping stone away from Granada TV and Coronation Street. 10min slow walk to the Tram Greeted by a friendly man who was very accommodating. Got us some drinks while we waited to be show to our room. The Hotel is very clean modern and is in the bustling hearth of Castlefield Manchester. Lovely pub and restaurant and you may even get to see a few Coronation Street Cast Members like we did enjoying a quiet drink after work.

Really cant fault this hotel it is a little noisy on a night up to closing time but that is normally for a hotel with a bar under it. but i have to admit i had the best night sleep for ages. House Keeping Guy & Lady was very nice and seemed to be very happy at work. very friendly.

This will not be my chosen hotel every time i visit manchester. Rooms are very nice.

Room tip: There is only access via stairs so not recommended for anyone with pram or wheelchair but this is a 0ld Public House so your not going to get a modern lift in this pub.
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HullPartyServices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Very clean comfortable rooms, a little noisy but the rooms are above a busy pub!
Good central location.
Excellent food.
Very good value for money.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NedosJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Had lunch here with my mates and we all enjoyed it! Thought the food and service were great. Also came for a few pints and the bar really gets pumping at night! Will be back to get a pint at the Ox next time I'm in Manchester!

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Had a meal here during Christmas week. Absolutely terrible food, probably the worst pub meal ever experienced. Would never consider returning.
Shame, because the decor is OK and expectations were normal, but the food is diabolical.
Didn't eat it and the staff were uninterested when I explained why.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

You Dont have to be a local, walk in to the ox off and absorb the bustling atmosphere and friendliness from the manchester locals and bar staff.
I've been da regular ox visitor for over 2 years now, drinker in there, and also eaten from most of their menu...by far the best gastro pub in manchester.

Main meals range from £10-£19 with some very englishy type dishes. The range will appeal to anyone, and desserts are to die for.

They also have a 2 courses for £10, which is great when you are on a budget.

Sunday roast menu is also a MUST try! Beautiful!!

Overall, I would highly recommend this pub to anyone passing by or visiting Manchester.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smile4lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews