We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub accommodation in Manchester!”
Review of The Oxnoble

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Oxnoble
Ranked #6 of 29 Manchester B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We stayed in Feb 2012 for one night and found very convenient for the price and our need. It's located on Liverpool St next to several scientific museums and Deansgate Rd. 50 pounds for a room which is basic and has a decent bathroom which did the job.

The rooms are located on top of the pub and you have your own key to the door which separates the accommodation from the public area. The accommodation area was pretty well secured.

The staff was helpful with storing our luggage in the storeroom for the day after checkout.

The pub itself is a great English pub with a plenty of history. The inside has that good old English country welcoming feel. The food and beers are also very good.

It's not far from the tram and city centre where there is plenty of restaurants and pubs. There is also several good pubs and restaurant near the intersection of Liverpool and Deansgate.

We stayed a Sunday night which was not noisy at night, not too sure what it is like on Friday/Saturday night but the pub was full of people on Sunday which gave it a great atmosphere.

Overall, great pub with basic room which for the price was good. Would definitely stay again just for the food, beer and location.

Room Tip: If you have lots of luggage with you, it could be a bit of a walk from the tram. The room we stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dclarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 194 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed at The Ox Manchester for a family night to watch the Football at OId Trafford, We booked a Family Room which had great views of the Science Museum and is a stepping stone away from Granada TV and Coronation Street. 10min slow walk to the Tram Greeted by a friendly man who was very accommodating. Got us some drinks while we waited to be show to our room. The Hotel is very clean modern and is in the bustling hearth of Castlefield Manchester. Lovely pub and restaurant and you may even get to see a few Coronation Street Cast Members like we did enjoying a quiet drink after work.

Really cant fault this hotel it is a little noisy on a night up to closing time but that is normally for a hotel with a bar under it. but i have to admit i had the best night sleep for ages. House Keeping Guy & Lady was very nice and seemed to be very happy at work. very friendly.

This will not be my chosen hotel every time i visit manchester. Rooms are very nice.

Room Tip: There is only access via stairs so not recommended for anyone with pram or wheelchair but this is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HullPartyServices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Very clean comfortable rooms, a little noisy but the rooms are above a busy pub!
Good central location.
Excellent food.
Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NedosJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Had lunch here with my mates and we all enjoyed it! Thought the food and service were great. Also came for a few pints and the bar really gets pumping at night! Will be back to get a pint at the Ox next time I'm in Manchester!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

I love the ox, great location to meet up with friends. Classic pub feel yet in city centre. Good for a bit of celeb spotting for the Corrie fans.

I ate a few weeks ago and it was OK, but don't expect the best food.

Rooms are well priced and it serves super sandwiches at lunch. in fact, the lunch menu is always a little more for your money,

I would recommend a drink first and check out the menu - I am normally disappointed with portion size.

Not a bad place at all though.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimitwoshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Had a meal here during Christmas week. Absolutely terrible food, probably the worst pub meal ever experienced. Would never consider returning.
Shame, because the decor is OK and expectations were normal, but the food is diabolical.
Didn't eat it and the staff were uninterested when I explained why.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

You Dont have to be a local, walk in to the ox off and absorb the bustling atmosphere and friendliness from the manchester locals and bar staff.
I've been da regular ox visitor for over 2 years now, drinker in there, and also eaten from most of their menu...by far the best gastro pub in manchester.

Main meals range from £10-£19 with some very englishy type dishes. The range will appeal to anyone, and desserts are to die for.

They also have a 2 courses for £10, which is great when you are on a budget.

Sunday roast menu is also a MUST try! Beautiful!!

Overall, I would highly recommend this pub to anyone passing by or visiting Manchester.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smile4lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#55 of 120 in Manchester
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#44 of 120 in Manchester
4,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
2.3 mi away
Luther King House
Luther King House
#1 of 29 in Manchester
374 reviews
1.6 mi away
Verdene Hotel B&B
Verdene Hotel B&B
#3 of 29 in Manchester
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxnoble? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxnoble

Address: 71 Liverpool Road | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range: $79 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oxnoble 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1804, the pub derives it's name from the Georgian variety of potato, The Oxnoble. Boasting 10 en suite bedrooms, The Oxnoble is a traditional gastro pub/hotel serving excellent, modern English food sourced from the finest local ingredients. Food is served in the historic pub where you can enjoy a pint of traditional cask ale or whisky from our excellent menu, or choose from our hand-picked wine list. We are located in the Castlefield area of Manchester opposite the Museum of Science and Industry, within walking distance of the Manchester International Convention Centre and in close proximity to the MEN Area and Old Trafford - Manchester United Football Club and Lancashire Cricket ground ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Oxnoble reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ox Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing