We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveler rating
61
73
37
17
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
73
37
17
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoxscience museumcentral manchesterstayed one nightcar parkdeansgatemosi
Filter
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 215 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Had a meal here during Christmas week. Absolutely terrible food, probably the worst pub meal ever experienced. Would never consider returning.
Shame, because the decor is OK and expectations were normal, but the food is diabolical.
Didn't eat it and the staff were uninterested when I explained why.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

You Dont have to be a local, walk in to the ox off and absorb the bustling atmosphere and friendliness from the manchester locals and bar staff.
I've been da regular ox visitor for over 2 years now, drinker in there, and also eaten from most of their menu...by far the best gastro pub in manchester.

Main meals range from £10-£19 with some very englishy type dishes. The range will appeal to anyone, and desserts are to die for.

They also have a 2 courses for £10, which is great when you are on a budget.

Sunday roast menu is also a MUST try! Beautiful!!

Overall, I would highly recommend this pub to anyone passing by or visiting Manchester.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smile4lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

We stayed in a three single bed room for a night after the football. All I can say is at £20 per person you cant go wrong. Clean, fresh and modern rooms, friendly staff and nice boozer downstairs! Definatley worth a visit!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Arrived in our car rather than by train as the website stated 'off-road parking available' only to be told there wasn't any such parking available.......only in the various NCP car parks around town! Forced to trudge luggage through the streets back to the Ox.
The 'manager' was uninterested and tried to speak to us on the telephone in full view of all the pub and restaurant customers as if it was our fault for not knowing.
Taken to a room which looked nothing like the ones in the photos. Very tired entrance, corridors and the room, which although described as having just been refurbished looked very tired. And what on earth are the tacky pictures about on the walls??
We were given no welcome information at all.
The shower dial was stuck at a level that was liable to render burns and so effectively there was no shower facilities! No complimentary bathroom products. No hairdryer available.
Bed was not comfortable and only 1 very flat pillow each!
No breakfast offered. No contact on leaving.....we merely had the key taken by the guy that maintains the rooms.
GREAT spot for exploring or nights out.....but this hotel is making a very sad hash of what could be a brilliant little hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clowie_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

I can't comment on the rooms but this pub is great to meet up and have a few drinks before moving on to one of the nearby restaurants. I met up with friends before doing just that. Good atmosphere with good beers.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank CorneliusfudgeGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews