We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveler rating
61
73
37
17
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
73
37
17
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoxscience museumcentral manchesterstayed one nightcar parkdeansgatemosi
Filter
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 215 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Arrived in our car rather than by train as the website stated 'off-road parking available' only to be told there wasn't any such parking available.......only in the various NCP car parks around town! Forced to trudge luggage through the streets back to the Ox.
The 'manager' was uninterested and tried to speak to us on the telephone in full view of all the pub and restaurant customers as if it was our fault for not knowing.
Taken to a room which looked nothing like the ones in the photos. Very tired entrance, corridors and the room, which although described as having just been refurbished looked very tired. And what on earth are the tacky pictures about on the walls??
We were given no welcome information at all.
The shower dial was stuck at a level that was liable to render burns and so effectively there was no shower facilities! No complimentary bathroom products. No hairdryer available.
Bed was not comfortable and only 1 very flat pillow each!
No breakfast offered. No contact on leaving.....we merely had the key taken by the guy that maintains the rooms.
GREAT spot for exploring or nights out.....but this hotel is making a very sad hash of what could be a brilliant little hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clowie_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

I can't comment on the rooms but this pub is great to meet up and have a few drinks before moving on to one of the nearby restaurants. I met up with friends before doing just that. Good atmosphere with good beers.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank CorneliusfudgeGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

This is a pub at the heart of Manchester, we had a room probably the furthest from the bar, downstairs. It was clean, tidy with a double room with enough space to feel comfortable. Ensuite facilities clean and spacious.
Would I recommend it as a place to stay? Yes. It is basic but you are not paying hotel prices, I would be happy to stay there again. There was no problem with noise downstairs.
People, lets be fair to those working in the B&B/hotel industry. Many working in the industry provide a good service for what we pay. Tripadviser has been abused by those paying B&B prices and expecting services you would expect from the Hilton or the Savoy, come on keep it real.
The Ox is a convenient place to stay in the centre of Manchester, it is clean tidy and the staff are helpful and polite.
So to anyone from The Ox reading this, well done and thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmeraldGeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

we were recommended this pub for accomodation and food and it lived up to it's reputation!!
on arrival, the staff were fantastic. taking bags to rooms, speeding up cleaning and, as we decided to eat and were travelling without kids, seated us away from other children in the restaurant.
food was really tasty and great value.
rooms are basic but clean and well maintained.
the pub is in a great location and fantastic value.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margatemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

stayed here for 2 nights wed/thur as we were going to see Peter Kay ( who was fantastic). the place is clean and tidy and the rooms spacious. We ate in the Ox and the food was lovely and the 2 course special is a good deal. good idea to book as it gets very busy. the staff were friendly and polite. it is ideal for the MEN arena as it is just off deansgate and the arena is about 15mins walk away. There are plenty of drinking and eating places within the vacinity, especially down Deansgate. Just be aware that the Ox is a room only ( no Breakfast) establishment. Also parking is a real problem. The car park that is talked about in other reviews was full, parking on the roads is an absolute fortune and when we went to the other car park for all day parking at the bottom of the road the man looked at me and had probably worked out that we could not find anywhere to park and said that it would be £25!!! ( welcome to Manchester!!) even though the signs outside were a lot cheaper, not really a good start to our stay and certainly not encouraging us to come back!! overall the ox very nice to stay in but the people who are in charge of parking need to try and help the business's out!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews