We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Man UTD”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Ranked #65 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Man UTD”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Perfect location for Old Trafford. The tram stops on the main square behind hotel, and on a weekend is only GBP1.00 return. Location also great for restaurants and bars. Staff at the hotel are polite and knowledgable and will help with anything. The breakfast is also ample, and swift coffee and toast service is with you before you have a go at the full English buffet service. Continental also available.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank griffinexecutive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience of the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel following your stay with us; it is appreciated.

On a future visit to the City, I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    1,121
    648
    267
    142
See reviews for
216
1,052
165
798
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The room was quite spacious and the bed was comfortable. However, the walls are thin and even on the 12th floor I could hear banging outside at half five in the morning. Wifi is £8 per 24 hours however it is not just the price that is shameful - the internet connection was poor which meant I couldn't do my work. There was a large window which could have presented a good view however they were grubby. The bathroom was clean but so many tiles were cracked. I don't think I would have been so picky if it was in the budget category but it bills itself as more. Disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandSonja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I was sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay, please accept my apologies. All feedback from whatever means is always used constructively, so I thank you for sharing your experience with me.

Just to clarify our WIFI charges. We are delighted to be able to offer our guests full Free WIFI in all areas of the hotel including guest bedrooms and this free useage is available upto 256mg. For those guests wishing to upgrade to high speed then a cost does apply. Mercure Hotels are transparent with regard to all their charges and we are unable to alter these at hotel level, however, I can assure you that we are competitively priced again other hotels in the city.

Thanks again for your review and do hope sometime in the future you may give us another opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 13 nights in February as I was on business in Manchester. There was a big group of us yet Martin, Rick and Gabi took the time to get to know us all by name and were always willing to go the extra mile to help us with anything we needed during our stay... Unfortunately 1 memember of staff managed to let the hotel down on more than one occasion but simply for the way the three of them dealt with everyone of these situations I would definately stay at the hotel again. I have to I promised Martin I would be back for afternoon tea soon!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest

It was an absolute delight to receive such positive feedback regarding the high level of customer service, care and delivery that was afforded to you by Martin, Rick & Gabi in The Brasserie during your time with us in February. It will certainly give me great pleasure to share your kind feedback with them and I know they will be equally as delighted as I was to receive it. On the downside, it was disappointing to hear that one member of the team managed to let the side down and I would be interested to receive your feedback on why this was the case. Please feel free to contact me personally if you wish to share this experience with me.

I am sure that Martin would like you to keep your promise that you'll be back to experience our Afternoon tea (!) and with this in mind, hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Durham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed one night Saturday to Sunday as we were attending the theatre.
Check in was fast and efficient and all of the staff I encountered on my trip were friendly and more than happy to help. Short walk away from Picadilly train station so we just walked there and back - no need for a taxi, 5 min walk to arndale and shops.
We didn't eat in the hotel so I can't comment on that.
Room wasn't huge but big enough for the 2 of us and our luggage. Bathroom was clean and tea and coffee facilities provided. The room was facing the busy street so there was noise when we came back from the theatre at around 11pm. This didn't stop us from sleeping and was expected due to the location of the hotel. The only other thing is you couldn't see out of the window which was a shame.
Would definitely return though.
And again would just like to highlight the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff I encountered.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blondie-traveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review following your stay with us. It was pleasing to read your feedback and your comments regarding the helpfulness and friendlines of the team are much appreciated and will be shared accordingly with them all. On a future visit to Manchester, I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I was staying at this hotel for an overnight stay with some friends. It is in the city center with the trams and buses just outside.

The double room we had was a bit small but for 1 night was OK. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and the staff very helpful. Parking is a good price only £10 for the day and £15 overnight, the NCP charges £24 for the day.

The breakfast has a good choice with a chef on hand to make fresh omelets.

If I had one negative comment was the noise from outside even though the rooms are double glazed there was lot of noise from the trams and people below.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel following your recent stay. I was pleased to hear that on the whole you enjoyed your time with us. As a City Centre Hotel, located next to Piccadilly bus and tram station, noise transfer on occasions from outside the building can be of a disturbance to some guests who may not be used to such an environment. If a guest does have a preference for a quieter room, then we would recommend rooms at the back of the hotel.

Many thanks once again for taking the time to share your experience and I do hope on a future visit to the City, we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Booked this on corporate rate for business.
Needed to be central Manchester & this hit the price point & location.
Massive plus points are on site parking & central location – negative points – didn't really find any apart from a bit of a wait to be seated for breakfast.
Room on the 11th floor so nice view spoiled a bit by condensation on outer window glass.
Initially a bit cold but easy to use temperature control soon raised warmth level.
Not a massive room but more than adequate with comfy bed, decent TV, tea & coffee facilities and en suite bath/shower etc.
Unusually ate in the hotel as would normally go to China Town but too tired. Restaurant has a lovely view over Piccadilly gardens. It was almost empty at 8:00 pm so I had my pick of tables next to big window with a great view. I was served by a nice, tall Czech waitress who as well as taking my order, offered a newspaper – nice thought for a lone diner. She was also knowledgeable about some of the buildings we were overlooking.as well as helping the guy behind me set up his wifi.
Beefburger & wedges very nice although pre advised tomato relish had run out.
Breakfast was a very good buffet selection but had to wait in a queue or quite a while prior to being seated.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0ff_Line
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks indeed for posting your review of the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly. I was pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and found our central location & car parking in particular a great positive. Glad to hear that you would stay with us again and with this in mind, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Good location except not closing to train station, but easily connect to everywhere u wanna go. Room is a bit old, esp toilet, but still acceptable.
Was there for Manchester United, and hotel staff are so helpful to indicate how to go there, easy and good!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuiMuiChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following your stay. Our central location is indeed extremely popular for guests wishing to get out and about to explore all that Manchester has to offer. Although we are not directly by the main Railway Stations, we are only a 5 min walk from Piccadilly Railway Station and a 15 minute walk from Victoria Station. There is also a tram that you can jump on from Victoria Station, that drops you directly outside the hotel.

Many thanks for your kind comment regarding the helpfulness of the team. I trust that sometime in the future we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 116 in Manchester
2,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#21 of 116 in Manchester
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Property: Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Address: Piccadilly Plaza Portland Street, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#40 Business Hotel in Manchester
#42 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#49 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME. The Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city centre, easily accessible from the M6 and the M60 motorways. Making it the perfect location to discover one of the livliest cities of the North. This vibrant city has a fantastic array of shops, theatres, clubs, bars and restaurants, guaranteed to meet all customers' needs. RELAX IN ONE OF OUR STYLISH ROOMS: Each of the 280 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press/iron, climate control as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Upgraded rooms are also available on request. The hotel offers a range of facilities for guests including accessible rooms. THE PLACE TO UNWIND: Enjoy a visit to ARTS Brasserie, serving modern food in stylish surroundings with a friendly atmosphere. Situated on the 3rd floor, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Brasserie Restaurant is the perfect location to unwind at the end of the day. For a lighter meal choice, room service is available 24 hours a day. THE PLACE TO MEET: The Conference Centre comprises 10 flexible conference rooms all with complimentary wi-fi access, suitable for hosting discreet boardroom meetings or conferences up to 700 delegates. With the added benefit of natural daylight, soundproofing and climate control.Of course, its not just conferences that we're renowned for. Whether you're booking a wedding, gala dinner, private party or a company award ceremony, the International Suite is the perfect choice. Complete with its own private reception area, bar and stage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS INCLUDE: Old Trafford - Manchester United's Stadium Manchester Central, The Palace and Opera House Theatres, Manchester City Etihad Stadium/Sportscity, Imperial War Museum, Trafford Shopping Centre, Manchester Art Gallery. By rail: Manchester Piccadilly Station 1/2 mile. By Air: Manchester Airport 10 miles. Parking: Chargeable parking. Limited spaces - subject to availability. Dry gym: Free use to residential guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manchester
Manchester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing