We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location to explore Manchester”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Ranked #64 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
BOSTON
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect location to explore Manchester”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

1. Room was immaculate.
2 Staff was really friendly and helpful
3. Centrally located, could look out window at Picadilly Gardens (without hearing it)
Breakfast is good with plenty of choices,
The Mercure chain of Hotels are usually quite good and this is no exception, for a first time visitor to Manchester it was perfect, 50mt to bus, shopping (Arndale) is only minutes away walking. Recommended

Room Tip: Rooms facing Picadilly have a great view of the top of Manchester.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRENDA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to hear that as a first time visitor to Manchester, you found the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel perfect in terms of getting out and about to explore Manchester. It was also pleasing to hear that your found your room immaculate, the team friendly and helpful and you enjoyed your breakfast experience too.

On a future visit to the City, I do hope that you will visit us again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    1,098
    623
    257
    122
See reviews for
210
1,023
163
759
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (578)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

This hotel is Ok for the business traveller but the car Park is a night mare to find.

The post codes just keep sending you around the centre of Manchester.

The staff though when i phoned for guidance were very helpful and directed me in from the phone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kieth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your review. I was sorry to hear that you had difficulty finding our car park. I can fully appreciate that when you are in an unfamiliar City and one-way systems are involved too, how daunting it can be finding trying to find your destination. We do out utmost to give as clear as directions as possible on our website, as well as third party websites we have control over. We have a recorded message on our switchboard and we have location maps with written directions, which we will be more than happy to forward to guests prior to travelling. It has become apparent however on occasions that a guest's sat nav system has not always picked up M1 4PH as the correct destination. Should this be the case, the team are more than happy to provide other postcodes from neighbouring roads close by the entrance to our car park, or alternatively talk through directions, which I was pleased to hear was the case on this occasion and that they got you to the hotel eventually.

Thanks again for your review and trust that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Fantastic location (just above the bus station), descrete hotel with wonderfully attentive staff. The food is excellent, and apart from a lack of bar snacks (there is some things to order from the menu) the bar area is wonderful with some very nice views due to the elevated floors and floor to ceiling windows.
Bedrooms were spotless and more than adequaltly facilitated. comfortable beds.
I had a brilliant stay, honestly faultless, and can't wait to stay there again. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Executive suits are well worth the upgrade, great power shower and comes with full internet and movi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrJ33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest

To read your headline 'Marvellous Mercure Manchester' was indeed a pleasure to read and I thank you for sharing your experience with your fellow Tripadvisor viewers. Your review will be shared with the whole team at the Hotel, who I know will be as delighted as I am to receive it.

Thank you for your recommendation too and I hope that it won't be too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We arrived at piccadilly train station from the airport and using google maps on my phone my phone it seemed we were less than a 5 minute walk to the hotel which was brilliant! We arrived at 10:45 and the concierge who was such a friendly man took our bags and said you don't have to wait until 2 o'clock for check in just come along after 12 and we will have your room ready. We found that the hotel was right in the centre so we went and had a bite to eat and checked in! It was right beside piccadilly gardens were all the buses to the trafford centre and old trafford set off to which was very convenient for us as we were going to a Man Utd game. The hotel room was nice and spacious not too warm or cold! We were able to get toothpaste at reception free of charge as we had forgotten it and the bathroom was very clean. I have stayed in many hotels and in the morning you can hear cleaners in the hallway from 8 in the morning. I did not hear a sound. All in all this was a great location and would definitely recommend. Staff really helpful, room really nice and comfortable and great location especially when you don't know the area

Room Tip: We chose a room overlooking piccadilly gardens thinking it would be a lovely view but the tram and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks indeed for your review. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found our location perfect in terms of easy access to get to all the places you wished to visit. Thank you too for your recommendation and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed here on business for 4 nights in January and my room was perfect. Not being one for going out on my own I ate in the restaurant every night and the food and service was fantastic. I cannot thank the staff enough for looking after me while I was there and have already booked again.

The room was clean and decor fresh and modern. The restaurant views over Piccadilly gardens were lovely (and great for people watching). I have many Manchester stays in the next six months and they will all be at the Mercure.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FishHath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest

I was delighted to read your most positive review following your stay with us in January; it really is appreciated that you have taken the time to share your experience and your kind feedback will be shared with the hotel team.

Great to hear that you have already booked to stay with us again and that on future vists to Manchester, the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly will be your first choice.

See you soon.

Regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed here the first weekend of February. Only stayed for one night as was going to a concert at the men. The service was amazing, the staff couldn't help you enough! Would definitely get the breakfast. All food is fresh and tasty. Would also recommend Jamie Oliver's restraunt near by. Amazing food and reasonably priced. All in all great hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abigail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel with Tripadvisor. I was delighted to read that you had a great stay and do hope on a future visit to Manchester, we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

The hotel is very central and in a great location. The rooms are clean, fresh looking and very comfortable. The staff are very friendly and I enjoyed my stay. I will definitely stay there again and would definitely recomend the hotel..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zimbie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor following your recent stay. It goes without saying that I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

I hope it won't be too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#26 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Property: Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Address: Piccadilly Plaza Portland Street, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#40 Business Hotel in Manchester
#42 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#49 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME. The Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city centre, easily accessible from the M6 and the M60 motorways. Making it the perfect location to discover one of the livliest cities of the North. This vibrant city has a fantastic array of shops, theatres, clubs, bars and restaurants, guaranteed to meet all customers' needs. RELAX IN ONE OF OUR STYLISH ROOMS: Each of the 280 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press/iron, climate control as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Upgraded rooms are also available on request. The hotel offers a range of facilities for guests including accessible rooms. THE PLACE TO UNWIND: Enjoy a visit to ARTS Brasserie, serving modern food in stylish surroundings with a friendly atmosphere. Situated on the 3rd floor, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Brasserie Restaurant is the perfect location to unwind at the end of the day. For a lighter meal choice, room service is available 24 hours a day. THE PLACE TO MEET: The Conference Centre comprises 10 flexible conference rooms all with complimentary wi-fi access, suitable for hosting discreet boardroom meetings or conferences up to 700 delegates. With the added benefit of natural daylight, soundproofing and climate control.Of course, its not just conferences that we're renowned for. Whether you're booking a wedding, gala dinner, private party or a company award ceremony, the International Suite is the perfect choice. Complete with its own private reception area, bar and stage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS INCLUDE: Old Trafford - Manchester United's Stadium Manchester Central, The Palace and Opera House Theatres, Manchester City Etihad Stadium/Sportscity, Imperial War Museum, Trafford Shopping Centre, Manchester Art Gallery. By rail: Manchester Piccadilly Station 1/2 mile. By Air: Manchester Airport 10 miles. Parking: Chargeable parking. Limited spaces - subject to availability. Dry gym: Free use to residential guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, ACCOR, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manchester
Manchester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing