We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks all the boxes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Ranked #64 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ticks all the boxes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed in Mercure hotel in Manchester (UK) Piccadilly 13th & 14th Dec 2012. Big, stlyish room with ensuite bath/shower, flatscreen tv and enough storage space. Great view across the city - I was on 14th floor, Excellent dining area with quality food and good, fast service from friendly staff, Very close to main shopping area and not far from Picadilly train station. Overall, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graeme2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks indeed for posting your review of the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel following your stay with us earlier this month; it really is appreciated.

On a future visit to Manchester, I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    1,099
    626
    257
    122
See reviews for
210
1,025
163
761
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Great value Christmas party which included dinner, bed & breakfast and DJ party, all for £30 per person! Excellent value for money, food good and hot, don't expect your plate piled high. Bedroom on the 11th floor opposite lifts, however, this did not disturb our stay. Room clean and large. Great atmosphere in the hotel, they are clearly geared up for large events. Staff all friendly. Breakfast hot, regularly topped up and plentiful. Looking forward to next year. Well worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest

It was great to hear that you enjoyed your Christmas celebration with us. Many thanks indeed for posting your experience on Tripadvisor and I look forward to welcoming you back next Xmas, if not before.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

A very nice hotel. Comfortable rooms right in the centre of the city with tea & coffee making facilities and decent bathrooms. The bar was open until late in the evening and not too expensive either. You can't really go wrong.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pollyanna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to post your review of the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel; it really is appreciated.

I do hope that on a future visit to Manchester, we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

This hotel provides a great location centrally overlooking Picadilly gardens and is perfect for a long weekend stay. My girlfriend and I have just spent the last weekend before Christmas at the Mercure Picadilly and we enjoyed it immensly. All the staff were extremely helpful to the extent of wanting to do that little extra without even being asked to do so. That in my book goes a long way and is always appreciated. We stayed in a double room on the 14th floor with the view over looking the gardens and the Arndale shopping complex. The room was a little simple but perfectly adequeate for our needs. We thouroughly enjoyed breakfast which was always copius and freshly made. We also got the chance to sit while eating near the large windows situated high above the main tram station and Picadilly gardens which was very cool indeed. I already confirmed to the lady in the breakfast area yesterday morning that we would be coming back. But maybe earlier rather than later next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and relatively high as the weekends in central Manchester can be a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alun3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your weekend break with us. Manchester does indeed attract many visitors from far and wide now, as the City has so much to offer. Being so central, many guests do comment on our location as being of great benefit, as it allows them to get out and about easily to explore all that Manchester has to offer. In particular. at this time of year, Christmas shopping and the world famous Christmas markets are a great attraction.

Glad to hear that you will definitely return and with this in mind, we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

The trip was to arrive by train which was only a short walk. We were booked to see Lion King at the Palace theatre, again a short walk away. The room was really good. We had a bottle of wine in the bar which at £19 was pricey. The lifts were slow so it took so long we used the stairs. The breakfast was included and up to standard.

The room was spacious and included a range of toiletries. There was a limited amount of tea and coffee. The bed was very soft but large for the two of us.

I would certainly stay here again if visiting Manchester and recommend it to other tripadvisors

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Crawford49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to post your review of our hotel following your visit to Manchester to see Lion King; it really is appreciated.

Thank you too for your recommendation and I do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile



The Mercure Manchester is your typical business hotel. I.e - perfect for those one-night stays associated with work meetings. The standard room is SMALL. Bed is definitely made for one person only. Breakfast is your run-of-the-mill buffet. Though the eggs were (on both days) lukewarm at best.

The location though is the best in Manchester. If you want to get around the city, just get this. Everything's within a 10 min walk.

Now for the negatives. We had two poor experiences with staff:

The room had your typical kettle/tea coffee sachets. But only two small sachets of sugar. So we rang room service for some more. Someone from housekeeping did come with extras, but not before she gave an "we're only allowed to give 2 sugars per room. It's ok this time, but that's policy" speech. What? 2 sugars, in all, for two guests? And why kick up a fuss?

Second: checkout is at 12 (bonus, btw) and we were having a lie in. Room service came in asking if they could clean the room (around 10 am). We said no, we were checking out at 12, could he come back then. Answer (surprisingly) was 'no. We need to clean this floor at this time'. He only went away after we told him he could come back in half an hour (and then put a do not disturb on the door).

Small incidents - but someone is obviously not training housekeeping staff well. Doesn't leave a good impression of the stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shriansh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Guest

As General Manager of the Hotel I welcome all feeback from whatever means as it will always be used constructively, so I thank you for taking the time to post your review, bringing various matters to my attention.

Thank you once again for your feedback and I do hope that on a future trip to Manchester, you may consider staying with us again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel was booked for its proximity to the heart of Manchester and we were very pleased that we chose this one, just five minutes walk from Piccadilly Railway Station. The staff were welcoming and friendly at all times; the room was adequate and reasonably quiet (we stayed on the 11th floor) although the windows were covered in condensation so we couldn't enjoy the view. The breakfast was good, with a range of dishes to chose from, however the 'hot' food was only luke warm, so would chose from the menu or an omelette if we stayed again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for posting your review following your stay with us. Guest feedback is extremely important to us, so I thank you for taking the time to do so.

On a future visiit to the City, I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#26 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Property: Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Address: Piccadilly Plaza Portland Street, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#40 Business Hotel in Manchester
#42 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#49 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME. The Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city centre, easily accessible from the M6 and the M60 motorways. Making it the perfect location to discover one of the livliest cities of the North. This vibrant city has a fantastic array of shops, theatres, clubs, bars and restaurants, guaranteed to meet all customers' needs. RELAX IN ONE OF OUR STYLISH ROOMS: Each of the 280 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press/iron, climate control as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Upgraded rooms are also available on request. The hotel offers a range of facilities for guests including accessible rooms. THE PLACE TO UNWIND: Enjoy a visit to ARTS Brasserie, serving modern food in stylish surroundings with a friendly atmosphere. Situated on the 3rd floor, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Brasserie Restaurant is the perfect location to unwind at the end of the day. For a lighter meal choice, room service is available 24 hours a day. THE PLACE TO MEET: The Conference Centre comprises 10 flexible conference rooms all with complimentary wi-fi access, suitable for hosting discreet boardroom meetings or conferences up to 700 delegates. With the added benefit of natural daylight, soundproofing and climate control.Of course, its not just conferences that we're renowned for. Whether you're booking a wedding, gala dinner, private party or a company award ceremony, the International Suite is the perfect choice. Complete with its own private reception area, bar and stage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS INCLUDE: Old Trafford - Manchester United's Stadium Manchester Central, The Palace and Opera House Theatres, Manchester City Etihad Stadium/Sportscity, Imperial War Museum, Trafford Shopping Centre, Manchester Art Gallery. By rail: Manchester Piccadilly Station 1/2 mile. By Air: Manchester Airport 10 miles. Parking: Chargeable parking. Limited spaces - subject to availability. Dry gym: Free use to residential guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, ACCOR, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manchester
Manchester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing