We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great nite out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Ranked #66 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great nite out”
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend enjoy his stay and slept well and love the breakfast and great breakfast and reception service.he had a great nite out with his girl and taking me a great meal in China town what near the hotel and going the pubs and clubs what near the hotel aswell.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curryann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review of the Hotel following your recent stay with us; it really is appreciated.

I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    1,145
    666
    280
    151
See reviews for
220
1,073
173
828
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is the perfect city centre hotel, with on-site parking (although you're charged extra per night) and a perfectly adequate buffet breakfast. The Piccadilly view rooms have a wonderful panorama of the city centre, while the rear view ones look over buildings but are quieter.
Comments made by previous reviewers about the "noise transfer" between rooms are absolutely spot on. The walls are paper thin and if you are unlucky enough to get noisy neighbours, you will hear every word, every argument, pretty much every whisper, and I don't see how you can avoid that as all rooms are the same.
But this hotel is ideal if you want a city centre location, just don't expect a perfect night's sleep if you have neighbours with loud voices.

Room Tip: As said before, get one with no neighbours!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I was pleased to hear that you found our location perfect and our car park of great benefit. As mentioned in my previously responses we have been conducting internal works to help reduce internal noise transfer; my apologies if you were disturbed on this occasion.

On a future visit to Manchester, I do hope that you will consider staying with us again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

we took a break from our busy shop in Scotland and fancied a break in Manchester and stayed at the mercure we were met with a friendly reception staff and the room was bright and airy and had all the facilities you would need all the areas were clean and well staffed and pleasant we enjoyed sitting in the brassiere with a drink and watching the world go by, the meals were well worth the money . The only downfall was the parking charge which was a shock as it put another £75 on the bill , this is an area that needs to be addressed as we extended or break by two days and £30 pound parking charge, surely there can be a rate for extended stay and not £15 a day

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neil b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel for your break in Manchester. I was pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay. As you say, The Brasserie on our 3rd floor does offer great views of the City below allowing you indeed to sit and watch the world go by.

One of the main benefits of the Hotel is our central location together with the fact that we are extremly lucky as a city centre hotel to have our own on site car park, which many guests do see as a huge benefit as it is secure and only steps away from our front door. A car park charge has always been in operation at the Hotel and when you compare our charge of £15.00 per overnight stay compared with other city centre car parks, who charge £24.00 per overnight stay, then our charge does compare very favourably. I am sorry if this was not communicated to you at booking stage. We do, however, publicise this charge on the hotel's website, as well as third party websites that we have control over.

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to share your experience with us and I do hope on a future visit to Manchester, we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I've stayed here a number of times and I've always left satisfied. This is a high-turnover business hotel, everything runs like clockwork and the rooms are always clean and well presented. The shower could strip skin and the buffet breakfast is always of good quality. The service is always prompt and reliable.

Sometimes the hotel makes the trip, that's not the case here, there's nothing special but it is always consistent. When travelling for business that's the most important factor to me.

Room Tip: The higher the better for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewtayloruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest

As a regular guest to the Hotel, I was delighted to hear that you are consistently pleased with the level of service that you receive and that you always leave extremely satisfied.

I would like to thank you for taking time out of your schedule to post your review, which is very much appreciated, and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My fiancé and I have stayed here on a few occasions now and each time we find it superb value for money with style and great service. The rooms are as spacious as you would expect from a city centre hotel and the views are refreshingly pleasant from the higher floors, in particular the restaurant overlooks the bustling city centre - a superb compliment to the courteous staff and the bright and contemporary space in which the eatery is situated. The hotel overall is modern but typical of the early 2000s and could do with a facelift. Location wise it's superb - literally 5 minutes walk from almost every popular store, bar and restaurant in the centre of town! I'd recommend it and we'll definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottWigglesworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks indeed for your extremely kind review; it really is appreciated.

It goes without saying that I was delighted to hear that on each of your previous visits you have enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for sharing your experience with your fellow Tripadvisor viewers and thank you too for your recommendation.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night. Great location right in the centre of Manchester. Hotel is above a shop and office arcade so great views from all rooms. Very clean rooms. Good service from friendly staff. Bar and restaurant are excellent.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Luigi_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us. Our central location couldn't be better for exploring Manchester. Great to hear your feedback regarding friendly staff and also you found the Restaurant & Bar to be excellent.

Thanks again for sharing your experience and I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The Mercure Piccadilly is hardly the most beautiful building, but it is in a fantastic location in Manchester City and Centre, and useful if you've had a cosmo too many in that it can be seen for quite some way.

Billing itself as a business hotel, however, probably sets expectations a little high. We had to queue for check-in, we weren't offered the option of leaving a card (the rooms were settled by work ahead of the stay), resulting in a late night flit to the bar to pay off room service, which kind of missed the point. Wifi is extortionately expensive (£11 for 24 hours) and again, can't be set up in room if you've not given a card for extras, which is fine, if we'd been told, and the wired connection in my room came with a broken plug. Wifi in the bar is free and fast, but it's not the most salubrious location.

The rooms themselves were fine - a little small, but mine was clean and functional. The bed was extremely comfortable and on the twelfth floor the views of the city were pretty spectacular. But I awoke unable to see the beautiful sunrise, due to the small lake which had formed on the inside of my window and the walls are like rice paper - every word of every conversation could be heard by pretty much everyone. Had a very angry man next to me who found the level of noise untolerable from a conversation at 10pm and was quite active in showing his displeasure. It was also nice to get a 6am alarm call every morning, courtesy of the room on the other side of mine.

All in all, if you get quiet neighbours and you just need a city centre crash pad, the hotel does the job, but for the kind of price you're paying, I'd upgrade a little bit to somewhere like the Abode, Mint, or even the MacDonald Townhouse, all of which offer better business facilities and significantly more privacy.

Room Tip: Go as high as you can and request a room with no neighbours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FluffyViv78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to complete this review. I was sorry to read that other than our fantastic location that on this occasion you were not fully satisfied with your stay.

Your feedback has been taken on board and as per my previous responses to guest reviews, we have been conducting a programme of works within our bedrooms to help reduce noise transfer. I am sorry that you were disturbed on this occasion.

My apologies for the delay that you experienced at check in. We do rota our team according to business levels, however, as I am sure you can appreciated as 280 bedroomed hotel, when the hotel is busy and a number of guests arrive at the same time, on occasions queues can occur . I will however take forward with my Reception Manager your comment that a swipe of your credit card was not taken on arrival, to allow you to charge items to your room.

Whilst I appreciate your disappointment on this occasion and that Manchester does have a large number of hotels to choose from, I really do hope that sometime in the future you may give us another try and with this mind, at that time, please feel free to contact me personally.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
14.9 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#18 of 118 in Manchester
2,517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.2 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#22 of 118 in Manchester
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Property: Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Address: Piccadilly Plaza Portland Street, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#40 Business Hotel in Manchester
#42 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#49 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME. The Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city centre, easily accessible from the M6 and the M60 motorways. Making it the perfect location to discover one of the livliest cities of the North. This vibrant city has a fantastic array of shops, theatres, clubs, bars and restaurants, guaranteed to meet all customers' needs. RELAX IN ONE OF OUR STYLISH ROOMS: Each of the 280 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press/iron, climate control as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Upgraded rooms are also available on request. The hotel offers a range of facilities for guests including accessible rooms. THE PLACE TO UNWIND: Enjoy a visit to ARTS Brasserie, serving modern food in stylish surroundings with a friendly atmosphere. Situated on the 3rd floor, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Brasserie Restaurant is the perfect location to unwind at the end of the day. For a lighter meal choice, room service is available 24 hours a day. THE PLACE TO MEET: The Conference Centre comprises 10 flexible conference rooms all with complimentary wi-fi access, suitable for hosting discreet boardroom meetings or conferences up to 700 delegates. With the added benefit of natural daylight, soundproofing and climate control.Of course, its not just conferences that we're renowned for. Whether you're booking a wedding, gala dinner, private party or a company award ceremony, the International Suite is the perfect choice. Complete with its own private reception area, bar and stage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS INCLUDE: Old Trafford - Manchester United's Stadium Manchester Central, The Palace and Opera House Theatres, Manchester City Etihad Stadium/Sportscity, Imperial War Museum, Trafford Shopping Centre, Manchester Art Gallery. By rail: Manchester Piccadilly Station 1/2 mile. By Air: Manchester Airport 10 miles. Parking: Chargeable parking. Limited spaces - subject to availability. Dry gym: Free use to residential guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manchester
Manchester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing