We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 3-night Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Ranked #65 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Our 3-night Stay”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We chose this hotel for it's central location and value. The en-suite room was clean and met our needs. There was some noise in the early hours from street cleaning vehicles but this was minimal as long as the window was fully closed. There was an excellent breakfast selection but the quality of the hot buffet suffered due to prolonged heating. The staff were friendly and helpful. There was a large bar area with comfortable seating and floor to ceiling windows gave an excellent view over Piccadilly Gardens. On the down side, there was a £15 charge to park your car overnight which offset the excellent room value. Overall, my wife and I had a good 3 nights and we would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FCARMICH448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for posting your review on Tripadvisor following your stay. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you would consider staying with us again. We therefore look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    714
    1,132
    657
    271
    148
See reviews for
218
1,061
168
816
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (604)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

Good hotel, centrally located and staff at reception were very helpful when we needed directions. The room we had was well fitted and clean and the breakfast we had was good, although the restaurant was very busy so I would suggest getting down early for breakfast.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AtticusFinch14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Guest

I was pleased to read your review following your stay with us and that you would definitely recommend us to others. I hope that we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back again too very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel when it was the Ramada and vowed never to return, but having seen it had changed to Mecure we decided to give it another go.
On the positive side the rooms have had a lick of paint.
On the negative side the fixtures and fittings are those of the old Ramada right down to the stains in the carpets and the dust which looked to have been there for several years.
The problems with noise between rooms remain as bad as ever. In the room you can hear everything from the adjacent rooms, the corridor and the rooms opposite.
The bed was so uncomfortable as to make you feel you had developed pressure sores after a matter of a couple of hours. Let's not forget that this was in a superior room, for which we paid extra. Thinking about it now it seemed to be one of the standard rooms from its Ramada days.
Check in was a nightmare with a huge queue. (We know the hotel was fully booked but having only 3 staff on reception was always going to fail).
Sleepy Sunday whereby you can have breakfast up to 12 noon was cancelled and all guests were told to be out of the hotel by 11 am. Again the excuse was the hotel was fully booked.
All-in-all it was a most unpleasant experience which we wouldn't wish on anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterandKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Guest

I was saddened to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us recently; please allow me to express my apologies.

Following your feedback through another channel, I have been in touch, along with my Customer Services Manager and I trust from our intervention, you have been satisfied with how we have reacted and that you now feel reassured,

Many thanks for your review and we do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Swansea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the mecure manchester picadilly hotel, and in all honestly probably wont return. Check-in was relatively swift and hassle free, but when we arrived in our room we were welcomed with an overwhelming smell of damp. Reception staff were more than accommodating with a room change request, however, the 2nd room wasnt a great deal better! The rooms are not particularly spacious, but overall seemed clean. This was more like a budget hotel, except for the price! I have stayed in the Premier Inn for half the price of this hotel and would reccomend it over the Mecure everytime. The only plus is its location, and is conveniently located in manchester for easy access to most of the popular places to visit (we were there to see Coldplay in the Etihad Stadium). Due to the hotel being fully booked on the saturday night, a notice had been posted in the lift informing us that we had to vacate the hotel at 11am on sunday morning, instead of 12, which didnt cause us too much of a problem, however, on 4 occasions between 9am and 10.30am on the day of departure the maid service entered our room (after a very brief knock) enquiring whether they could clean our room!! I wouldnt recommend this hotel to friends, unless it was priced at half the amount we paid.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. It goes without saying that I was disappointed to hear that we failed to meet your expectations to the full.

Due to high occupancy levels last weekend and our knowledge that the Hotel was going to be full on both days, mainly due to Coldplay performing at the Etihad Stadium, we took the decision to respectfully ask guests to check out an hour earlier than normal on Sunday morning, in order to assist our Housekeeping Team to get bedrooms serviced and released back to Reception as quickly as possible for guests who we knew would be arriving early afternoon in order to check in and get prepared to make their way to Coldplay’s second concert at the Etihad. I was sorry to hear, however, that the Housekeeping team were a little too eager and knocked several times on your door. I shall certainly address this matter with my Head Housekeeper, along with your feedback regarding a damp smell coming from the bedroom allocated.

Although I appreciate that at this moment in time, you feel you wouldn’t return to us, it is hoped that sometime in the future you may reconsider and at that time, please feel free to contact me, when I’d be delighted to assist with your accommodation needs.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This hotel is ideally positioned within walking distance of everything in the centre of Manchester and next to transport options to travel outwards. Room while small was clean with a comfortable bed - city centre rooms are never going to be the biggest anyway. Food for breakfast looked a little tired but was edible - there was some confusion among breakfast staff as to whether gluten free bread was available or not. Would recommend hotel - we got excellent price for flight plus hotel. All staff were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irish85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you would recommend us to others. Your comment regarding the confusion over gluten free bread has been duly noted and shared with my Food & Beverage Manager, who will ensure his team are fully briefed and knowledgeable on the gluten free products we have to offer.

Many thanks once again and I trust that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stayed overnight recently and managed to book at bargain price. Really nice room, huge bed, lovely bathroom wih bath and lovely shower - much better than staying in a Travelodge where some of our friends booked in and were really disapointed! We were on a high floor so there was no noise but there was double glazing in the windows anyway. The staff on reception were really welcoming and helpful - we hadn't booked in for breakfast but the staff said we could just decide in the morning and informed us of the price (£7.50 each). We decided to go for it in the morning and it was a good decision as we were really impressed with the selection on the buffet - nice pot of tea for me and pot of coffee for my partner - all in all excellent value and the restaurance staff were really nice with great service. Highly recommended.... will defintiely stay again,

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor - great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CooperOldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review of our hotel following your recent stay. We are genuinely delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and you would choose the hotel again on a future visit to Manchester, as well as recommend us to others.

Many thanks once again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stayed here in May 2012 with my husband.
Reception area and staff- clean and friendly.
Unfortunately our first impressions when we got to our room were not good...despite obviously having just been cleaned (wet floors, cleaner outside) the smell when we walked in was just horrible. Filthy cleaning mops perhaps? I don't know but it was horrible. Needless to say we dumped our bags and headed out.
Breakfast also a let down. Luke warm coffee and poor attitude of a lady making eggs.
Wont be returning.

Room Tip: Take some air freshener
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atkibee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Guest

I was sorry to learn that you left disappointed with the hotel. I thank you, however, for sharing your experience with me, as customer feedback is a fantastic tool, which helps us to maintain our standards and focus on areas that we may need to improve upon. I will be addressing your feedback accordingly with the respective members of my management team to ensure such shortcomings are not repeated.

Although I appreciate that you may not wish to return at this moment in time, I do hope that sometime in the future you may reconsider and at that time, please feel free to contact me when I would be delighted to assist with your accommodation needs.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
14.9 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 118 in Manchester
2,481 reviews
0.2 mi away
ABode Manchester
ABode Manchester
#21 of 118 in Manchester
1,650 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Property: Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Address: Piccadilly Plaza Portland Street, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#40 Business Hotel in Manchester
#42 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#49 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME. The Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city centre, easily accessible from the M6 and the M60 motorways. Making it the perfect location to discover one of the livliest cities of the North. This vibrant city has a fantastic array of shops, theatres, clubs, bars and restaurants, guaranteed to meet all customers' needs. RELAX IN ONE OF OUR STYLISH ROOMS: Each of the 280 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press/iron, climate control as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Upgraded rooms are also available on request. The hotel offers a range of facilities for guests including accessible rooms. THE PLACE TO UNWIND: Enjoy a visit to ARTS Brasserie, serving modern food in stylish surroundings with a friendly atmosphere. Situated on the 3rd floor, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Brasserie Restaurant is the perfect location to unwind at the end of the day. For a lighter meal choice, room service is available 24 hours a day. THE PLACE TO MEET: The Conference Centre comprises 10 flexible conference rooms all with complimentary wi-fi access, suitable for hosting discreet boardroom meetings or conferences up to 700 delegates. With the added benefit of natural daylight, soundproofing and climate control.Of course, its not just conferences that we're renowned for. Whether you're booking a wedding, gala dinner, private party or a company award ceremony, the International Suite is the perfect choice. Complete with its own private reception area, bar and stage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS INCLUDE: Old Trafford - Manchester United's Stadium Manchester Central, The Palace and Opera House Theatres, Manchester City Etihad Stadium/Sportscity, Imperial War Museum, Trafford Shopping Centre, Manchester Art Gallery. By rail: Manchester Piccadilly Station 1/2 mile. By Air: Manchester Airport 10 miles. Parking: Chargeable parking. Limited spaces - subject to availability. Dry gym: Free use to residential guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manchester
Manchester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing