We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manchester Christmas markets”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Ranked #73 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Good central location and not noisy, considering it was a Friday night. Ample onsite parking @ £12 for 1 night stay. Booked executive room but compared to other City hotels it was more of a standard room. Room was clean, bed comfortable although on the small side. Staff were very efficient and friendly. We didnt eat in the hotel but the menu looked good.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kazjim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2011

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor. It really is appreciated. Thank you again and I do hope that sometime in the future we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,059)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,865 - 2,871 of 3,060 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2011

I booked a room here on a Friday night – we needed a room for the night and our only criteria was that it was cheap and central. I booked this hotel because of the very low price and we were not expecting great things. In fact when I was driving to the hotel I was dreading it – but it was great! The reception staff were very helpful and friendly, check-in was so fast I couldn’t believe it, room had everything you could want or need and the whole experience was just brilliant. I called down to ask for extra pillows and they arrived within 5 minutes, and with a smile.

There was a special offer on breakfast - £6.50 per person – which included everything you would expect plus the option of ordering from the menu at no extra charge things like eggs benedict or smoked haddock (you have to pay extra for these things at some of the poshest hotels in Manchester, and that’s after paying £20 for breakfast!). I asked if they had gluten free bread (I’m coeliac) and they didn’t – but they did say that they would have ordered me some if I had mentioned it on check in, and they very kindly toasted some gluten free bread that I had with me (I know it might seem strange to take bread with me for a weekend away, but if you know a coeliac you’ll understand!)

Easy walk to all of the shops, bars, restaurants and cinemas. On the Saturday night we stayed at a well known highly rated Manchester hotel which was three times the price (for a family event) and it was hard to see how they justified the price when the Mercure was so good.

I booked on laterooms and got the room for £59 a month in advance.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayheaven22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2011

I was thrilled to read your very positive comments about your recent stay and sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

we stayed at the hotel on saturday 3rd december as we were in Manchester to do some christmas shopping and a night out, the location is great and easy to find, the hotel itself is clean and well presented although the room was a little small and expensive comapared to others we have stayed in based on room size,
we stayed on the 12th floor overlooking picadilly gardens, the room was very noisy as there are the christmas celebrations taking place in the gardens opposite the hotel we didnt really mind this as we didnt get back to the hotel until around 1am, then around 2am the couple in the next room got back started fighting and screaming unitl around 3am.

breakfast was the worst part, you are showed to a table and tea/coffee are brought to you, we got up to go to the buffet and when we came back somebody else had been seated at our table and were drinking our coffee, we were showed to another table and as we sat down another couple came back with there food and we where then at there table, we were then moved to a third table.
i think that the seating staff and servers could work together a little better and possibly a reserved card on the table could have resolved us having to have 3 tables in 5 mins.

we may try this hotel again based upon the location aspect unless we can find something else around piccadilly

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2011

Thank you for taking the time post your review on Tripadvisor.

It was pleasing to hear that you found our location to be a great advantage, albeit I was disappointed to hear of your experience at breakfast, which I will addrsss accordingly.

I am sorry that you were disturbed by other guests during your stay. Unfortunately on occasions such situations can occur whereby other guests can cause a disturbance. Should, however, an issue be highlighted to us, my team at the hotel are well briefed to bring any situations to a satifactory conclusion for all concerned.

Thank you for your honest feedback and I do hope that sometime in the future you may consider returning to us.

Many thanks again .
Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Was a very friendly hotel,food was of a very high standard,staff couldn't be more helpfully, rooms were a very good standard

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2011

I was delighted to read your very positive comments about your stay and in particular the level of customer care you received, as well as the high standards of food that you enjoyed.

So glad that you had a great weekend with us and I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Great hotel, reasonable priced and ideal central location. Room was a bit on the small side, but very clean and comfortable

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMS73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to place your review on Tripadvisor. Great to hear that we suited your needs well in terms of our central location and you feel also that we are a great base for business travel. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel in the future.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

whe have stayed at the Mercure hotel a on a number of occasions and have always found the staff to very helpful and friendly ,accommodation and food was excellent ,while the hotel is in a great location .we will most definitely stay in this hotel again

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAINTPATS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2011

So pleased that you have taken the time to place your review on Tripadvisor and to hear also that you will definitely return. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Faultless, great location, excellent accommodation, not much else you can say.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshleyVaughanWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to place your glowing review on Tripadvisor, it really is appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#17 of 120 in Manchester
2,614 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#55 of 120 in Manchester
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Address: Piccadilly Plaza Portland Street, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#40 Business Hotel in Manchester
#42 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#49 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $88 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME. The Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city centre, easily accessible from the M6 and the M60 motorways. Making it the perfect location to discover one of the livliest cities of the North. This vibrant city has a fantastic array of shops, theatres, clubs, bars and restaurants, guaranteed to meet all customers' needs. RELAX IN ONE OF OUR STYLISH ROOMS: Each of the 280 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press/iron, climate control as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Upgraded rooms are also available on request. The hotel offers a range of facilities for guests including accessible rooms. THE PLACE TO UNWIND: Enjoy a visit to ARTS Brasserie, serving modern food in stylish surroundings with a friendly atmosphere. Situated on the 3rd floor, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Brasserie Restaurant is the perfect location to unwind at the end of the day. For a lighter meal choice, room service is available 24 hours a day. THE PLACE TO MEET: The Conference Centre comprises 10 flexible conference rooms all with complimentary wi-fi access, suitable for hosting discreet boardroom meetings or conferences up to 700 delegates. With the added benefit of natural daylight, soundproofing and climate control.Of course, its not just conferences that we're renowned for. Whether you're booking a wedding, gala dinner, private party or a company award ceremony, the International Suite is the perfect choice. Complete with its own private reception area, bar and stage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS INCLUDE: Old Trafford - Manchester United's Stadium Manchester Central, The Palace and Opera House Theatres, Manchester City Etihad Stadium/Sportscity, Imperial War Museum, Trafford Shopping Centre, Manchester Art Gallery. By rail: Manchester Piccadilly Station 1/2 mile. By Air: Manchester Airport 10 miles. Parking: Chargeable parking. Limited spaces - subject to availability. Dry gym: Free use to residential guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manchester
Manchester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing