We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saturday night in Manchester”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Ranked #73 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Booked a superior room for a night after receiving a promotional message from the Accor group. Put the postcode in the sat-nav and it took us straight to the hotel carpark overlooking Piccadilly. A good reception area, unfortunately we arrived with many others so had to wait for around 15 minutes to check in. The staff were efficient and pleasant and worked good humouredly through the queue. The 12th floor room was of reasonable size, well decorated, smart and clean.
The bed was comfortable, the aircon was efficient and easily adjusted though it was a little noisy during the night - street noise was a little intrusive, but it was Saturday night. There is no leisure centre or gym - but there is an excellent branch of The Gym with day membership only 5 minutes walk away in the same block.
Good buffet style breakfast and very helpful staff.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenisWm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

It really is appreciated that you have taken the time to post your review of the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel following your recent stay with us.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,060)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,879 - 2,885 of 3,060 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2011

Rooms a little small and too warm. Breakfast fantastic and staff are superstars.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. I was delighted to read hat you had a fantastic breakfast and that the team were 'Superstars'. I will certainly share you kind comments with them.

Thanks again and I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Booked the hotel a day before through their website, and arrived late at night. Got there and they didn't have a room booked under my name but it wasn't a problem for them and they got me another room straight away. Excellent stay overall, everything was clean and tidy and very polite staff. Its in a very good location, but can be a bit loud at night. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ea_92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2011

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor, it really is appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We booked this hotel when it was called the Ramada Piccadilly, it has since become the Mercure Piccadilly. Our criteria were - disabled facilities (I am in a wheelchair), central location and a car park. The name changed to Mercure but no-one told us. Fortunately, a friend let us know the day before we arrived so we did not waste too much time although the sign to the car park was tiny and we missed it the first time.

The car park is up a spiral ramp and was very cramped but a member of staff put out cones for us after we arrived, to make sure we could get my wheelchair out in future. We never saw a disabled bay in the 5 days we were there! Perhaps there are none.

To get from the car park to reception required me to wait for a member of staff to activate a 'flying carpet' lift to get me down a small flight of stairs. Once we were in the hotel, a normal lift took us to our room and down to street level.

Our disabled room was adequate, but quite small as most of it had been converted to a roll in shower / toilet.

The first two days, we had no heating in our room. The first night we slept with clothes on under two duvets. There are only two disabled rooms and the other was occupied so we could not move. The 2nd night we were given a fan heater. The staff tried to get the heating sorted but it took 3 days.

The staff were great, very helpful and apologetic about the heating and for having to wait for the 'flying carpet' lift. Breakfast was very good. Plenty of choice and very tasty.

There was often a smell of cigarette smoke in the corridor, probably drifting up from a smoking area outside.

The location was great, within easy wheelchair rolling ditance of shops, cathedral and museums.

When we left, the hotel waived the car park fee in compensation for the heating problem.

Because of the inconvenient 'flying carpet', we will not use this hotel again. If this was replaced by a ramp, we would use it again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rochesterhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to place your review on Tripadvisor following your stay with us. I am sorry that you encountered a problem with the heating in your bedroom and that it took a 3 days for this issue to be resolved. I was pleased to hear, however, how the team reacted at the time but can still fully appreciate, that as we were unable to move you to another room, the inconvenience this matter caused.

I have taken on board your comment regarding the lift that allows wheelchair users access from our car park into Reception and I apologise if this caused inconvenience. We have in the past looked at installing a ramp but due to the gradient required and the length this ramp would have to be to comply with legislation, unfortunately it is not a feasible option. With regard to a disabled parking space, we are currently in negotiations with our Landlords in relation to marking out car park spaces which would include, going forward, a designated disabled parking bay.

I was sorry to read that due to the lift situation in Reception, you would not use again but if you do ever reconsider, please do make contact with me and at that time if you can give me an estimated time of arrival, I will personally arrange for the lift to be ready to ensure there are no delays and also to ensure your stay with us is to your complete satisfaction.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel whilst enjoying a weekend away to celebrate my 40th birthday in June. We loved our room overlooking Picadilly Gardens and enjoyed a wonderful meal in the hotel's restaurant. Looking forward to staying again on the 25th November.

Richard Morican, Blackpool, UK

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Picadilly gardens are recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coinslot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2011

Many thanks for positing your review, as well as taking time to attach photos too. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again on the 25th November.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

It located just opposite to the Piccadilly Garden Station and a less than 10 mintues walk to Manchester Piccadilly Station.
Also, It's near the shopping area such as Arnolde and Harvey Nicoles. Very Nice.

The room is just clean and tidy, with large window. Plenty of light in room.
Good Breakfast! And Free wifi at 3/F~

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2011

Many thanks for taking the time to place your review on Tripadvisor. One of the main benefits of our Hotel is our central location, so much so our guests are in easy walking distance of all the great facilities that we have on our doorstep,

I do hope that we will have the opporutnity of welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed for one night at the mecure hotel formally known as the ramada hotel. We booked & paid for the room in advance and requested an executive room at £155 for what we got was dis-appointed. As i could not tell you what we actually paid the extra for and what the difference is between an exec and standard room. Breakfast is pricey at £11.95. But hotel was quiet and great location to shops, train station, bars & resturants. Would stay again but in a standard room and not a highly priced one

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2011

Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor, which is greatly appreciated. Although I can see you were disappointed on this occasion with the room allocated to you, I was pleased to hear that due to our location, you would still be prepared to come back to us again, which I sincerely hope you do. Thanks again.

Kind regards
David Daly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.2 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#17 of 120 in Manchester
2,614 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#55 of 120 in Manchester
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Address: Piccadilly Plaza Portland Street, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#40 Business Hotel in Manchester
#42 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#49 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $88 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME. The Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city centre, easily accessible from the M6 and the M60 motorways. Making it the perfect location to discover one of the livliest cities of the North. This vibrant city has a fantastic array of shops, theatres, clubs, bars and restaurants, guaranteed to meet all customers' needs. RELAX IN ONE OF OUR STYLISH ROOMS: Each of the 280 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press/iron, climate control as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Upgraded rooms are also available on request. The hotel offers a range of facilities for guests including accessible rooms. THE PLACE TO UNWIND: Enjoy a visit to ARTS Brasserie, serving modern food in stylish surroundings with a friendly atmosphere. Situated on the 3rd floor, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Brasserie Restaurant is the perfect location to unwind at the end of the day. For a lighter meal choice, room service is available 24 hours a day. THE PLACE TO MEET: The Conference Centre comprises 10 flexible conference rooms all with complimentary wi-fi access, suitable for hosting discreet boardroom meetings or conferences up to 700 delegates. With the added benefit of natural daylight, soundproofing and climate control.Of course, its not just conferences that we're renowned for. Whether you're booking a wedding, gala dinner, private party or a company award ceremony, the International Suite is the perfect choice. Complete with its own private reception area, bar and stage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS INCLUDE: Old Trafford - Manchester United's Stadium Manchester Central, The Palace and Opera House Theatres, Manchester City Etihad Stadium/Sportscity, Imperial War Museum, Trafford Shopping Centre, Manchester Art Gallery. By rail: Manchester Piccadilly Station 1/2 mile. By Air: Manchester Airport 10 miles. Parking: Chargeable parking. Limited spaces - subject to availability. Dry gym: Free use to residential guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manchester
Manchester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing