We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got what I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
Ranked #54 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Since this is a newly refurbished hotel and opened just a month ago I had high expectation prior to arrival. Well...this hotel didnt disappoint me. Staff was extremely friendly, very attentive and made sure we felt ourselves like home. Breakfast is basic, but is served in a nice way. Room was clean, big and couldnt hear any noise. I highly recommend it. Its not just an other HIEX or an airport hotel. All in all truly impressive. Well done!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Istvan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise1922, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Hello

Thank you for leaving such great feedback on your stay with us. I will be sure to let the staff know how they made you feel.

Once again thank you for using your own time to leave this review.

Kind regards

Denise Jennings
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

947 - 953 of 1,124 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014

The work to convert this hotel from a Travelodge to a Holiday Inn Express is not yet complete so the hotel is largely empty and feels pretty soul-less at the moment. Staff are friendly enough, probably outnumber the guests, but not otherwise especially competent. I had a meal here which was a pretty lonely experience but I stayed away from the empty bar. Everything else is 100% average HIE (except the unusually large showers which I suppose are what you get if you convert a bath space to a shower space.) Any parking charge is a bit steep for a hotel that is quite so far from the airport terminal - it's definitely not walking distance. Noise-wise it is very, very quiet which is not bad for a hotel that calls itself an airport hotel. If I had a car I would stay here again, if not I probably wouldn't. BTW there is a huge Premier Inn next door that was packed out when I stayed - what do they know that I didn't?

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Meon_Meerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is a newly refurbished former travelodge. Rooms are of the typical high standard for HIE and the breakfast was fairly standard for this chain also.

The staff were excellent and welcoming and could not have done more to be helpful, including creating wi-fi user accounts on our behalf as the hotel's wi-fi has to be about the most complex to log in to I have experienced. If using an iPhone or iPad forget it as the connection will drop long before you get through the semi-auto-biographical log in procedure. on pc it is probably ok but I have filed shorter credit card applications than it takes to gain wi-fi access here. Shame as it et down an otherwise near perfect experience.

Room Tip: Forget the wi-fi if using a mobile device or tablet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Having had to pay £10 to get the hotel by taxi from Manchester airport Terminal 3, didn't put me in the best mood. The best advice is to get the bus 200 from the airport bus station and ask to be dropped off outside. I actually stayed in this same building years ago when it was a Travelodge. Its changed quiet recently to a HI Exp. In fact they haven't finished tiling the floor !. Overall the room was large, clean & quiet. There was no air conditioning /room heater control, or that just in the main Holiday Inns ? . On arrival there were three people at reception, and they seems confused as to what they were doing. Also being a rewards member, normally you're greeted as such, but not this time. There was nothing really wrong with the hotel it just wasn't quite right in some way.

Room Tip: The car park & nearby street light were bright out the front, maybe the rear of the hotel would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharla82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

former Travelodge recently rebranded holiday inn only ground floor open while being refurbished apparently rooms fine but slightly cold and radiator slightly inadequate food in evening good but rather expensive like other airport hotels ive stayed at. parking 5 pounds a day breakfast usual grossly diluted juice and disgusting reconstituted egg and greasy sausages however staff couldn't be more helpful and make it a 4 star rating

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank CleethorpesGtfcfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Recently refurbished (although not quite finished) the staff more than made up for any odds and ends not finished. Made to feel extremely welcome and well looked after from sorting food to taxi for five at silly o'clock in the morning. Nothing was too much trouble. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The staff were very friendly and helpful but we had requested two single beds in a twin room through Booking.com. However ended up with double bed and an uncomfortable sofa bed that my mother slept on. Hoping to enjoy an evening room, ordered salmon which didn't appear with it's sauce and the vegetables were cold. Sent it back and it had been warmed up again so now things were quite dry. This cost £14 each but we were only offered a free drink whilst we waited.

Room Tip: You may want to check room availability with the hotel if you need/want certain preferences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise1922, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Hi

We are sorry that the incorrect bed choice was available to be booked via booking.com, as you know from the hotel we are still under going the renovation of the other floors which will have twin rooms.

We apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay and thank you for the feedback.

Kind regards

Denise Jennings
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
1.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
1.0 mi away
Hilton Manchester Airport
Hilton Manchester Airport
#60 of 120 in Manchester
3,126 reviews
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport

Address: Runger Lane, Manchester M90 5DL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: $77 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a newly refurbished hotel located within 2 miles of Manchester International Airport. Your stay includes Free Breakfast and Free Wifi. We provide a shuttle bus between 4am and noon at a cost of £3 per person. Outside these times transport can also be arranged. All our rooms come with a flat screen TV, large walkin power shower, tea & coffee making facilities and a nice large comfortable bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing