We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hatters Hilton Chambers
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, good value”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This was my first experience in a hostel. It was a good value for the money. It's a bit like staying in a college dorm, but then that's kinda what I expected.

I booked a 4-person dormitory room. To my surprise, two of the occupants were men. They were very well behaved, but it was just a surprise. Be sure to confirm at check-in just what the configuration will be in the room.

It rained every day I was in Manchester. One night I watched movies borrowed from the front desk with a few other people. It was a comfortable atmosphere, and very convenient to the train station and the in-town location of my meeting.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyce g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatters111, Manager at Hatters Hilton Chambers, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, we're glad you opened your heart to hostels! We're a cheap place to stay, plus a great atmosphere - we're lucky to have such wonderful guests.

Our rooms are mixed but we do have female dorms too, which is noted on booking sites. Some websites may only include this in their 'fine print', so if you're not sure you can just give us a call to confirm before arrival. If we don't have female dorms left we are always happy to have a look on the system and do what we can, for example, find you a different room that isn't necessarily female, but for which we are only expecting female arrivals.

Your night in with a film sounds lovely and cosy, we want our guests to experience nothing less :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    129
    90
    35
    47
See reviews for
11
37
138
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

A group of 6 of us stayed here for two nights. To sum the hostel up it is in the perfect location, only a 5 minute walk from Piccadilly Gardens and right in the middle of the Northern Quarter (which is full of fantastic bars and clubs). The room we had was basic, but clean and ideal for what we needed. The staff were helpful and friendly.

The ideal place if you're looking for a cheap, well located base for sampling the Manchester nightlife.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidHarkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatters111, Manager at Hatters Hilton Chambers, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thanks very much for leaving a review :) We're located in the Northern Quarter so there's dozens of bars and restaurants on your doorstep while you're staying with us!!

Our dorm rooms consist of bunk beds (4,6,8 or 10 beds) and are quite basic but we do have adaptors, hairdryers, towels and shampoo/conditioner at the desk which is manned 24/7 for anything you might need!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

On a recent extremely rainy night in Manchester, I used Laterooms.com to book accommodation at this hostel. Despite requesting a private room with en-suite facilities, and this being shown up on Laterooms.com, when I arrived at the Hilton Chambers, I found they only had dormitory accommodation in a 6-bed dorm with shared facilities. Clearly not what I had requested, booked and paid for. Despite my complaint I was left in the rain having to try to source alternative suitable accommodation which I did not thanks to either Laterooms.com or the Hilton Chambers.

In short, despite a written complaint showing the email which stated what I had booked, I was left out of pocket and extremely wet.

Not a great show by either of these companies.

Room Tip: As I did not stay there I can't comment, but if the lack of cleanliness of the public areas is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank springbokrugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatters111, Manager at Hatters Hilton Chambers, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We are so sorry for what you experienced - unfortunately, laterooms does advertise our rooms as single en suites until you get down to the fine print where it states that you are booking a bed in a 4/6 bed en suite dormitory. Please trust us when we say that this is possibly as frustrating for us as it is for our customers - our aim is to keep our guests happy and this clearly doesn't help! In the case that we do have private rooms available we are happy to modify your reservation, but being a hostel, our rooms consist mostly of dormitory-style rooms. We will be getting in contact with the booking site to try to change the way our beds are advertised, but for now we can only beg, as painstaking as it is, that our guests read any fine print when not booking directly with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed in late August 2013 with a friend as we were attending a convention in town. The hostel is a short walk from Manchester Picadilly which is extremely convenient with several shops nearby to grab some food, including plenty of late-night ones for convenience. We were checked in very promptly on the Friday with extremely courteous service and the staff were fantastic with explaining the hostel's features to us.

We were staying in a private room with an en-suite bathroom. The room was extremely clean and surprisingly spacious with the largest bathroom I have ever seen in a hostel or even a hotel - I was very impressed! Like many other guests we had to keep the windows open so there was quite a bit of noise but it IS possible to get used to it - if you are a light sleeper, however, DO remember your ear plugs. With the windows shut the majority of the noise is blocked, fortunately.

The breakfast is basic but filling but we were struggling to find somewhere to sit as the other guests (going to the same con) were eating all at the same time in the limited space. If you are fussy with your food then I recommend making other arrangements for food in the mornings. The first morning we were there they were running out of orange juice which was a shame but there is always water...

I recommend this hostel to anyone who needs somwhere to stay in Manchester for a short time. The location is fantastic and the facilities are basic for the explorer in Manchester. Features such as free Wifi, extremely friendly and helpful staff and extremely clean and bright surroundings made this a very pleasant stay for a great weekend. Thank you, Hatters!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LifesEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Really good hostel: central position, good price, very clean and ordered (in the kitchen everything is in his place and labeled) , nice breakfast, very kind and helpful staff, 24/7.
Everything's good, the only negative point is that due the central position during the night you can hear confusion of young people in the street and out of the night clubs.
(Wifi not really good in all the rooms)

I recommend it and if I need I'll return there with pleasure!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigiu92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatters111, Manager at Hatters Hilton Chambers, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thanks so much, great title :p Our central location does mean that it can get a little noisy, but we do have earplugs at the front desk! Our tech guys that supply the internet are just a phone call away, 24/7 just like us so always come up if you have issues :)

We look forward to your return!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Check in was quick and staff were friendly. Stayed in a private double en-suite which had a very big bed and flatscreen tv on the wall. Bathroom was big and the shower was a shower/bath with good pressure (unlike many hostels where you get a trickle of water). Room was basic but very comfortable and I would definitely go again, cheapest place to stay in Manchester and very decent for the price. My only complaint was that it was a little bit noisy at night as we left the window open!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanS222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatters111, Manager at Hatters Hilton Chambers, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Yaay! We are very cheap and cheerful too! While we obviously get paid to do this work, we also do it because we enjoy it and reviews like this make us very happy - so thank you :D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I went to Manchester for a workshop and stayed at the Hatters Hilton chambers on the recommendation of the workshop organisers because they had a 3 for 2 nights offer for June. On their website Hatters instructed the public to call to take advantage of the 3 for 2 nights offer. So I called and spoke to a very kind and helpful young woman who took my details and my bank card details so that I could pay a one night deposit. They gave me a quote for the week - at £19.50 per night for 7 nights, minus the one night free through their offer.

I received no email confirming this. So a couple of days before I went to Manchester I called to confirm everything was ok. This time I spoke to a less helpful woman with a possibly french accent who had to check with 'the manager' about the offer - even though they still had it advertised on their website. She called back having spoken to the manager and confirmed that yes I could take advantage of the website. I asked her to email me a confirmation of this, she said she would but did not send any email.

When I got to the hostel, there was another young woman who was very confused by my booking - she first said that on the computer system it said I had paid everything. Then I obviously told her I hadn't - I had only paid a one night deposit. She then went on to charge my for 6 nights. I double checked the price and realised that this did not include the one night off through their offer and explained for the third time that I had been told that their offer (still advertised on their website) had been offered to me. We worked it out together and so I paid the price for 5 nights at £19.50 (1 night already paid over the phone, 1 night free through their offer).

I spent a whole week, 7 full nights and days at the hostel and no one mentioned anything to me. When I came to check out I was told, by a rather grumpy and unhelpful young woman that I still owed £17.50. By this time I had had enough of this lack of transparency and I lost my patience explaining in writing on a paper how I had paid what I owed on my first night. In fact if I owed any more money it would be £19.50 not £17.50. So this random figure was very strange.

Instead of understanding my frustration at having had to go through this now for the fourth time, she simply cut me off, would not talk to me saying she would simply talk to 'the manager' and asking me why I had not left... "why are you still here, I will take this to the manager" she said.

So I left. I now see that Hatters Hilton Chambers used my card details to withdraw £17 on the 6th of August - this was without my permission and of course since they never sent me any emails as they promised I am stuck without any paper work.

This is just to let other potential clients of Hatters Hilton Chambers know that you must get written confirmation of any offers they promise you because this was a nightmare and it is a great abuse of their position to have taken out the £17 without my permission!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LalGatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatters111, Manager at Hatters Hilton Chambers, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
After having read this review, I would like to first off express my deepest apologies and also my empathy for the exasperating situation in which you found yourself at our hostel. I have tracked down your booking and been through our records of charges and payments etc., and I would like to offer you some explanation as to what happened.

It seems first of all that there was some misunderstanding with rates/down payments, as the total of your accommodation stay excluding the discount was £153.50 (£19.50 for the weekdays, £28 for the weekends), and NO deposit was taken (we only take advance payments for bookings over 7 people). Upon booking, a discount of £19.50 was applied, taking the total down to £134.

The girl who then checked you in is our newest member of staff, the date of your arrival being her second day on shift. After going through your booking history, I noticed a further discount of £19.50, understanding that she had seen the ‘3 for 2 offer’ note and was under the impression that she was to apply the discount herself. The outstanding balance on the system was now £114.50, however of course only £97.50 was taken.

As you and our member of staff were satisfied that the correct amount had been paid, there would have been no warning signs to suggest any need to look further into your booking. However (without frustrating you further with explanations of system logistics), I need to add that while we can add charges and discounts to an account balance, a discrepancy between a paid amount and an outstanding amount is not visible until we try to check guests out – and are unable to.

I hope by now I have not lost your interest with the abundance of numbers and calculations. On the 4th August, the staff member who tried to check you out will have been presented with the payment of £97.50, and the actual bill - standing at £114.50. This was the reason for the seemingly random charge of £17.

I would like to stress my awareness that this is a situation inexcusable by system flaws or new staff members - I explain this only for you to understand better what happened. Please get in touch if you would like us to send any copies of receipts, or if you feel that my calculations are incorrect. As a final note, I would like to sincerely apologise for any customer service that you did not feel was 100%.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.1 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#68 of 116 in Manchester
1,058 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatters Hilton Chambers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatters Hilton Chambers

Property: Hatters Hilton Chambers
Address: Hilton Chambers 15 Hilton Street | The Northern Quarter, Manchester M1 1JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hatters Hilton Chambers 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hatters Hilton Chambers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chambers Hotel Manchester
Hilton Hotel Manchester
Hilton Manchester
Manchester Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing