We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget accommodation but lacked atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hatters Hilton Chambers
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Budget accommodation but lacked atmosphere”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Positives - budget accommodation in location close to night life in Manchester. Facilities in the room were average.

Negatives - not many people staying in hostel so the place lacked atmosphere. No walking tours or other activities made known, apart from a pub crawl with the neighboring hostel. People were yelling and screaming in the streets until early hours of the morning making it difficult to sleep.

I would suggest people visit another city with more to do and more of a positive atmosphere, like Liverpool.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    132
    96
    38
    47
See reviews for
12
40
144
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malta, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2012

a great time we had at this hostel. Very clean and spacious rooms. Excellent location from train station, metro and city centre. A self service breakfast including cereal and bread is offered. tea, coffee and hot choco offered 24/7 free of charge. kitchenette also available 24/7.the cheapest I could find and still very very satisfied.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

This place is a must if your on a budget. Perfectly situated for rail links and nightlife. I have stayed in much worse places than this at 4 times the price.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigers2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

I stayed in a single room which was basic but very clean and cosy. There was an unspecified stain on the couch but it didn't bite. My only complaint with the room was the duvet which was a little worn out, and I was initially very unhappy with it. However I slept like a log so it was obviously sufficient!
The location was not absolutely ideal for me in the end. It's well situated in a very trendy part of town, and convenient for all amenities, transport etc. however I was attending a conference at the Uni so needed a taxi home after the pub a few nights as I didn't think it wise to walk that full distance alone. NOTE this is not because of the area surrounding the hostel. It's alternative, but I felt safe.
There was hot water at most times. But not Sunday morning at 1030am (lukewarm) for obvious reasons. There's an endless supply of free bread and access to kitchen, the staff are warm and welcoming, and the overall vibe is great. I needed earplugs one night: they were £1 from reception. Once in I slept like a log. Would recommend for basic but clean budget accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roe007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Has now been taken over by the same people who run the Hatter's chain in Manchester, Liverpool and Birmingham.

We had a double room with own bathroom, and it was completely lovely. Bathroom was great, room clean and spacious. Room was on 3rd floor so a bit of noise with the windows open, but not too bad.

We had access to a private kitchenette on the same corridor which was lovely - unlimited tea and toast in a clean kitchen.

Would highly recommend and will use again, at £70 a night in very central Manchester.

Room Tip: Pick a private/smaller room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taxxigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

This i place is good property. It is clean and friendly. They are in the city centre and is very cheap as the prices are low. There are many people who use this for un expensive living. The beds are clean. Kitchen is all time open and breakfast is included. Feels homely.
But their night bar crawlers trip is a little tricky. So ask for terms and conditions before taking that 10 pound ticket.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, null, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

about my stay at the Hilton Chambers in Manchester.

I stayed from the 21st till 23rd october and this was the worst Hotel/Hostel EVER!!

Soon as i walked in to check in there was an issue - My resevation was not down on the system,then the staff found it and told me i had to pay up front,when i booked i was told i pay day of leaving the staff had no idea what they was doing.Hardly knew what one member of staff said to another.

I get to my room to find it a mess! if there was a hoover i would of done the hoovering myself!The sinks were filthy. The soap holder was broken and empty!

We was in a private room with our own kitchen facility but the lock number was wrong the member of staff didt even know we had our own kitchen! When we finally got into the kitchette i was appouled! There was Bleach open where the cerel was! the bread was mouldy!

Then i went to have a bath! There was no HOT water and the Taps didt even work on the bath! I went to complain and the member of staff told me the manager will contact me the day after or i can go down saturday at 9am. I went saturday to speak to the manager who was still not there! a female member of staff told me she would get the manager to call me! needless to say he never did and im still waiting.

I go back to my room to find someone had been in my room without consenting me!

There was a £10 fee to even watch tv!! £10 for hair dryer,£10 for a kettle.

There was no soap or bath wash in the room. the beds where made totally wrong,there was dirt on the sheets.

There was cleaning products over the floor on the hallways! and i am on crutches this is a serious health hazard.
The hostel was/is terrible and i shall never be coming back staff are very rude and not helpful!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mahala C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Gardens Hotel
Gardens Hotel
#69 of 118 in Manchester
1,138 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
3.0 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#71 of 118 in Manchester
820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hatter's Hostel
Hatter's Hostel
#40 of 79 in Manchester
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatters Hilton Chambers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatters Hilton Chambers

Property: Hatters Hilton Chambers
Address: Hilton Chambers 15 Hilton Street | The Northern Quarter, Manchester M1 1JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hatters Hilton Chambers 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hatters Hilton Chambers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chambers Hotel Manchester
Hilton Hotel Manchester
Hilton Manchester
Manchester Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing