We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Ranked #44 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
brussels
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very good hotel”
Reviewed October 7, 2010

This hotel is fantastic. the rooms are great, the views are breath taking ! it is clean, staff is very nice, the breakfast choice is huge, the location is perfect, the swimming pool is nice and the Cloud 23 bar is worth paying a visit (BTW as a hotel guest you don't have to book, don't ahve to queue and can take one person with you :) The bar and the restaurant are a bit cold, this is the only weak point I can find.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirleykouassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,712
    1,323
    646
    318
    259
See reviews for
350
1,908
158
988
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (799)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

The service was excellent and the hotel had everything you would expect from a top hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and the location spot on and I would thoroughly recommend visiting for a special occasion.
The views were breathtaking as we were on the 21st floor and the Cloud 23 lounge was well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich0939810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex,Egypt
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

I've been there on business, spent 4 nights, only went back there to crash on bed or get soaked in the hot tub, however life was easy, everything clean, everything easy, nice breakfast, not a big assortment, but more than enough. and did I mention the view from the 15th floor? I mean staying at the highest (ugliest) building in Manchester has its perks.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chechire
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Stayed here on Friday, 17/09/2010 Room was spotless.
well done the housekeeping staff.
We have stay at a lot of Hotels in Manchester and this one is far the best.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveChechire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

I booked two separate nights as it was cheaper to do it that way - emailed the hotel with the email address on the confirmation email to list the confirmation numbers and a request that we get the same room for both nights. I did not get a reply from the email.

Landed at check in and was told we had a 1 night booking - explained that we were staying for 2 nights on two separate reservations. Got upgraded on the first night to an exec plus but then as the hotel was busy we would have to go back to a standard room. Was quite annoyed that my email had not been read. Next time I have separate bookings I will know to phone the hotel and not rely on the email address they provide.

Exec plus room was nice - huge bed and a nice bath and separate shower. Left a message in the comments box on the booking that we were celebrating my husbands birthday, so he got a happy birthday chocolate message with 3 chocolates which were yum.

Standard room was just okay - had a very stale smell when we entered and bed looked tiny in comparison. Got a turn down service on the 2nd night in the standard room but not for the 1st night in exec room.

Visited the exec lounge on the first night. Wine was nice and they had archers which other Hilton lounges do not normally have. Last orders was at 7.30 but the lounge shut at 8.00. We were sitting next to the drinks area so managed to get another round in before we left for the restaurant.

Found an offer on Manchester confidential for 2 courses, 1 cocktail in cloud 23 and a glass of wine with the meal for £20 each. Headed off to the restaurant to get a voucher for the cocktail and then headed up for cloud 23. Luckily there wasn't a queue - the member of staff at the lift said we would have to pay £2 each but we just ordered the cocktail and gave the vouchers so didn't have to pay the extra. Headed back down for the meal which was lovely. The member of staff who served us was very nice and friendly also - Irish girl didn't get her name.

We were told at check in that we could either have breakfast in the lounge or in the restaurant. We choose the restaurant as I wanted a good old fry up. Not the rest selection I've seen at a Hilton but it was very good all the same.

We tried to book into our next room straight after breakfast but was told that the hotel was full and we would have to wait for our next room. Luckily we didn't have anything planned and just chilled out in the room. Went back down for 12.00 and managed to get the next room with no problems.

The queen bed made the room look bigger than the exec room but as mentioned had a stale smell. We were 4 floors down and that really made a difference with the noise. We could hear the trams and trains and the cars going past. There was also a lot of noise from next door and also people in the corridors. Had a really poor nights sleep and felt rubbish from it the next day.

The tram stop is right outside the hotel - we used it to get the LCC to see Muse. We walked into town twice and it was just a nice distance to walk.

Would definitely stop again here - would maybe think about bringing ear plugs for a Saturday night though!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona_Thompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

I have just returned from taking my mother to afternoon tea at Cloud 23 and whilst she managed to enjoy the experience or at least she said she had, the whole process was an abomination starting with trying to book it this morning: phone lines, via recorded message, request e-mail contact which when done generates a response that your request will be dealt with in 48 hours! Not useful for a same-day booking. I persevered ringing the front desk and via pressing 0 for the operator, discovered Sunday was 'walk-in' only. We duly walked in and were met by a charmless waitress who announced it was 'Reservations' only! She allowed us in although a party immediately behind were turned away - lucky them! Everything we had was far below my expectation and not remotely, value for money. The room, as charmless as everything else, does provide a view and has seats which are more comfortable than they look but I would NEVER return or recommend anyone else to go.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C15Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

Despite booking a non-smoking room weeks in advance, upon checking in I was forced to accept a smoking room. Not ideal as I don't smoke, but didn't think it would be a problem. I was wrong, the lift doors open on level 5 and the whole floor stinks. I entered my room and their was a grey haze accross the bed. Staff were utterly unhelpful, inconsiderate and generally didn't care. It was like sleeping in an astray, horrible place will avoid in future.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dutchy24a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.3 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 116 in Manchester
4,874 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#6 of 116 in Manchester
1,255 reviews
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
584 reviews
0.2 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#8 of 116 in Manchester
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Manchester Deansgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Manchester Deansgate

Property: Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Address: 303 Deansgate, Manchester M3 4LQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Manchester
#26 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#33 Family Hotel in Manchester
#36 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Manchester Deansgate 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Manchester Deansgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manchester Deansgate Hotel Manchester
Manchester Hilton
Hilton Deansgate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing