We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Nearby Hotels
$134
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$87
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$71
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$108
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$95
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$103
$95
Hilton
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Midland(Manchester)
$130
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$118
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,742)
Filter reviews
4,742 results
Traveler rating
1,911
1,456
714
361
300
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,911
1,456
714
361
300
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungecloud barpodium restaurantfloor to ceiling windowscocktail barafternoon teahigh floorbirthday treatstandard roomcity centremodern hotelsaturday nightcooked breakfastfull englishfollowing morningstayed for one nightclouds
Filter
Updating list...
4,564 - 4,569 of 4,742 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2007

A contender for one of the best hotels in the country! I have stayed in many and the Deansgate Hilton was superb! The rooms are stunning, the staff are down-to-earth and friendly and there is a really nice atmosphere everywhere you go.
You have to come and try this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ssd1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2007

Quick summary - this hotel seems more focussed on serving the customers who come to hang out in the so-called trendy Cloud 23 bar, located...er... on the 23rd floor than those who choose to pay well in excess of £120 per night to stay in the hotel itself.

Service was shocking but there were some nice things about the hotel. 1) Nice furnishings, 2) Nice swimming pool/spa, 3) Nice views of Manchester. However, breakfast was a nightmare on both days. The serving staff were quite surly and once the food had gone, it took an age for them to replace it. For instance, one poor looking nearly empty bottle of mineral water was on show and when I asked for more, it took a good 10 minutes before they would put extra water out. They wanted to charge us £18 each for the breakfast until I baulked and had reception comp us the breakfast.

This bar thing on the 23rd floor is a major selling point for the hotel but when residents want to access it, you have to go all the way down to the lobby and try and get ahead of the queue of regulars that have lined up off the street to get into the only lift that whizzes you up to the 23rd floor. You'd think that residents could get in a different lift from the floor they are staying on that, by using a key card, would take you to the bar. Oh no. That would be too easy. We wanted to see what all the fuss was about but when we saw the bouncers at the Cloud 23 lift in the lobby along with the hoards of people, who obviously have way too much money, we decided to go elsewhere. No bar can be that good.

There was a bit of humour in it all however what with the fire alarm going off. Cue the mass panic of people and the hanging around outside in the freezing cold waiting for the fire engines to arrive. One Hilton employee was fantastic; donning his high visibility vest and grabbing a megaphone, he kept us all informed of the situation. False alarm, and we were all back in the hotel within the half hour.

Anyway, good location and well appointed rooms. Shame about the service, the breakfast and Cloud 23.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Ascottowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2007

Hilton Manchester Deansgate has only recently opened its doors. It takes up the bottom 23 floors in one of the tallest buildings in the UK and is part of what is really the only genuine skyscraper in the city. So the views from the higher floors are superb. No other tall buildings around to block the vistas.

The hotel corridors are a bit on the dark side. Just one long thin passageway with bed rooms on both sides. We were in an executive room on floor 17 with king bed and gleaming bathroom with walk in shower. Just right for one businessman or woman. . Everything he or she needs is to hand. But it is all shoehorned into a pretty small space. All designer style, clinical really rather than just clean .Flat screen TV, floor to ceiling windows and mirrors everywhere to give you the impression of space. But put two people in the room and it really begins to feel a little cramped .Good air conditioning but no opening windows. Adequate lap pool and exercise room on second floor.

The Executive Lounge is well worth the extra money. It serves an excellent breakfast and then stays open all day for soft drinks tea and coffee until, around 1700 , interesting hot and cold canapés arrive to accompany the good range of alcoholic beverages which then appear. On the same floor is the hotels main bar/nightclub which has impressive looking “heavies” with shaven heads on guard duty at the special lift in the Reception area..

The hotel is easy to reach by car from the airport, and is right next to the new developments around the GMex conference centre , and old Midland station rebuilding areas . But its location is a bit off centre and it is quite a walk to the City Hall , BBC, or Arndale shopping area. The Radisson and the Midland are much closer to the action.

Parking is across the road in a separate NCP car park where hotel guests thankfully get a 40% discount on the breathtaking normal price.

The restaurant and ground floor bar area are disappointing for such a stylish hotel. They are both barn like with little intimacy or warmth. And the food served leaves the impression and taste of coming out of very elaborate packaging and a super hot microwave.

Why competition for the Hualapai? The Hualapai are of course the Indian tribe who have just opened a glass skywalk jutting 40 feet out over the Grand Canyon. It is expensive, But as yet it has no well laid road to get there, no accompanying restaurant, toilets, hotels and general infrastructure. Take the express lift to the 23rd floor in the Hilton. Enter the Executive Lounge. All the walls along one side are floor to ceiling glass. Walk to the far end of the room. And there you will find what seems to be a large hole in the floor. Since the Executive Lounge is built jutting out from the side of the hotel, look down and you look straight down 23 floors, or some 400 feet , to the ground below. Awesome when you are not expecting it. And then try and walk over the glass without a slightly raised heart rate..!

And the 23rd floor in the Hilton Deansgate has all the needed infrastructure; good beds, good bathrooms, as much food and drink as you could wish for. And you can get there on good roads and walk on its glass floor - for free..

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank roger39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2007

On arrival the first dissapointment was that there was nobody to meet and greet, parked in the small drop off area which seemed to be in geat demand by locals using it as a way to avoid the traffic lights. The reception area is large and un welcoming a little bit like the headquarters of a major bank, there weren't enough staff on reception although the booking in went reasonably well. First evening and we decided to take a look at the bar on the 23 floor there was as huge queue in the recpetion although residents get to go right the front. The view in the bar is spectacular but we bought 4 drinks costing 32 quid and service was very slow.Later that evening we arrived back at the hotel, the door is manned by what can only be described as Grant Mitchell look a likes, they were friendly enough but it really felt like going into a night club. Next morning we hurried down for breakfast after our wake up call and news paper were forgotten (two calls to reception eventually got us our paper, no apology). We had to queue for breakfast despite there being numerous uncleaned tables available.During breakfast we had to contend with a large group of middle aged middle class people who stood behind us chatting and saying there fare wells, we were not the only guests annoyed by this lack of manners. A compliant to the manager brought no joy who remarked that they were guests just like us, he wouldnt ask them to move but did ask us if we wanted to?. We left the hotel at 11 the next day returning at 5 only to find our room hadnt been cleaned, we put the do not disturb on sign up and went for a sleep only to be woken by a telephone call 30 mins later asking us if we wanted the room cleaning!!. We went out and came back later to the usual queue in the reception. Last night so one last visit to the trendy 23 floor bar it took 30 mins for two cocktails to arrive. Next morining we wondered what breakfast would hold and surprise surprise the woman cooking the omletes had no idea how to make any thing else on her menu she even directed some one wanting French Toast to the toaster, my wife explained what French Toast was but it just drew a blank look. Overall this is a trendy well located hotel but its under staffed, over priced and seemed more focused on its cocktail bar than on its guests.

Stayed: May 2007
4  Thank cumbriancouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2007

Stayed for one night this month to see Peter Kay in "The Producers" (brilliant!!).

We had been recommended to stay at this hotel because of the bar on the 23rd floor. Apparently it's got a glass floor and just out over the city, with amazing views.

There is a seperate entry line for hotel guests to get you "express" entry into this bar. The first time we joined the line we were told 30 minute wait, we left and got a drink elsewhere. After the show and dinner we came back and were told it was 20 minutes wait again (even for hotel guests). We gave up and went to bed.

There is no real dress code for the nightclub and they were letting anyone in. I've since been told that it's gone down hill dramatically since opening and most people who want a nice night out now go somewhere else.

The beds were only queen sized, not king as I would expect from such a hotel.

The bathroom door was very squeaky which meant that if you got up in the night to go to the toilet, the other person was woken up by the squeaking.

On the whole, the hotel was fine and the view from the full length windows was great. The toiletries were Crabtree & Evelyn and they were gorgeous - not what you'd usually see in a hotel.

Stayed: April 2007
4  Thank livingitlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews