We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Ranked #42 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Atlanta18
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Great experience”
Reviewed January 28, 2009

Having read the many bad reviews of this hotel I was slightly put off booking it, but I'm glad I did. The service was excellent: I was allowed to check in a couple of hours early, with no extra charge, I had a problem with my heater, which was sorted within 5 minutes of notifying them, and the room service was very good and efficient (if a little pricy, but that goes without saying...). In fact all the staff I came across were very helpful.

Location wise there isn't much in the way of shops/ newsagents directly around the hotel, which is disappointing, however the Comedy Store is 2 mins away, and the central shopping area is very close.

And finally... the view was fabulous!

  • Liked — The views and high standard of the rooms
  • Disliked — Pricey
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atlanta18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,743
    1,341
    652
    325
    261
See reviews for
360
1,929
162
1,010
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (803)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2009

we stayed her so that my husband could go to watch a bolton match. the hotel was very easy to find and only 10/15 mins walk from the centre of town.
we were on the 10th floor in a very nice modern room, but it was beginning to show signs of use. it was very clean and th bed was comfortable.

the breakfast was the usual fayre but the staff were not very good. the tables were left dirty so long that we had to sit in the bar area the 1st day. and this is just not as comfortable. there were not enough hot sausages or bacon for everyone and so you had to wait for them and your other food got cold.

overall, not a bad hilton, but not up to what i expect. the 23rd fllor bar is overrated as the views are just as good in your room and the drinks are very overpriced £8 for a cocktail.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2009

We stayed on the 8th floor for one night. The room was very well appointed and clean. We liked the bathroom and the beds were so very comfortable. The breakfast buffet had a large selection and was tasty. The 23rd floor bar serves a good selection of cocktails while the view is stunning. We also enjoyed the leisure facilities including the gym, sauna and 20 metre pool.

  • Liked — Clean room with comfortable beds
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AberdeenGlenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire/Staffordshire border
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2009

We stayed at Manchester Deansgate Hilton on Friday Jan 9th as we were going to see the cycling in the Velodrome on the Saturday evening. We had booked through Hiltons own web site and got an amazing deal in their 'January Sale' which included breakfast.
On booking I had requested a high floor, with views over Manchester Centre and not near the lifts. Lovely room, however backing onto three lifts so we went back down to reception to see if we could be moved. Sara who had originally checked us in, sorted us out very promptly and professionally and even upgraded us to an executive room! There are several reviews complaining about the miserable front desk staff on Tripadvisor, but she was brilliant, couldnt fault her.
Being in an executive room meant we had access to the Exec lounge on the 23rd floor. We went in for a pre dinner drink and nibbles before walking up Deansgate to Carluccio's restaurant for our evening meal.
On our return we went and had a drink in the Cloud 23 bar, which was expensive (Avg £8 per cocktail) but worth it for the view and the buzzy atmosphere.
We ate breakfast in the main restaurant which had an excellent choice of hot and cold food. Shops are only a 10/15 minute walk away and the Great Northern Car park is just next door, where you get a 25% discount (The concierge will stamp your ticket).
All in all, an excellent stay for the money and look forward to visiting again!

  • Liked — Use of the Executive Lounge
  • Disliked — Bathroom light shines into main bedroom due to opaque feature panel.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyclist62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2009

2nd January – 1 night

We only stayed one night at this hotel but had a nice stay. Check in was very good due to light sleepers we asked for a room with no interconnecting door and away from the lifts and we given a room on a corner and we only had one next door neighbour which was very good.

The rooms are quite large with a comfy bed, flat screen TV and an excellent bathroom – it’s all very modern as we expected and very clean.

The hotel reception is modern, clean and the staff were very pleasant.

We went to Cloud 23 in the evening which was very expensive with the same view as our room on the 7th floor but it was nice to see once we managed to get a seat that is.
They don’t serve hot drinks when they are busy which was a shame.

Breakfast was the only time we had any problems when the waiter tried to charge us for breakfast which was included with our room rate but he called reception and that was corrected. We both love Hilton’s breakfast, we are very healthy eaters and it has a fast arrangement of foods to choose from which are healthy along with green tea and fruit juices to drink.

Overall the our stay was very good and we would go again, last time we stayed at the City Inn for the same price of £99 – the rooms are much bigger at the Hilton and much better appointed than the City Inn (however we would go back to the City Inn if it was cheaper than the Hilton).

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — Breakfast problem
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmAstley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2009

The Hilton is a very good choice for staying in Manchester, great location on Deansgate, if your travelling by train get off at Deansgate station just across the road from the hotel, car parking is right next door at the multi storey, we paid £12 for 24 hours parking once the hotel discount was included, great value.

Ask for high room, the views over the city are spectacular, the rooms have floor to ceiling windows, comfy beds, flat screen TV's and broadband internet access, nice decor and a decent sized bathroom. Each floor has ice machines.

Have a pre dinner cocktail in their signature bar Cloud 23 on the 23rd floor, a romantic trendy spot, although the drinks prices are outrageous.

The breakfast was very good, choice of everything you want and eat as much as you want, with a good choice of fresh fruits.

All in all, highly recommended.

  • Liked — View from the room
  • Disliked — Prices in Cloud 23
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank markpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2009

Booked an executive plus room to celebrate my Daughter's birthday. Arrived at 11:30 and were going to leave our bags whilst we went into the city to do some shopping.
Pleasantly surprised to find our room was available - checked in at the executive lounge and were in our room before 12:00.
Room was comfortable and had all that we needed - view of the city was great.
Best thing about the stay was the executive lounge where refreshments are free all day - we made very good use of this facility and certainly got our moneys worth! It is housed on 23rd floor next to Cloud 23 - amazing views of the city.
Cloud 23 is worth a visit but drinks as you would imagine are expensive.
We found all the staff very friendly and helpful.
It's a pleasant 10 minute walk into the city centre - lots of bars and restaurants nearby too.
Breakfast was good, although we asked for pancakes and were told that they only had waffles - waited 15 minutes and they did not arrive so gave up.
All in all, a really enjoyable stay - though I would not have been willing to pay the full rate (got 50% rate in the January sale).
Would never book a non-exec room though as the lounge was the best thing about the stay.

  • Liked — Executive lounge and the views
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JulieDCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.3 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 118 in Manchester
4,959 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 118 in Manchester
615 reviews
0.2 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#7 of 118 in Manchester
1,583 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#5 of 118 in Manchester
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Manchester Deansgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Manchester Deansgate

Property: Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Address: 303 Deansgate, Manchester M3 4LQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Manchester
#24 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#33 Family Hotel in Manchester
#36 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Manchester Deansgate 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Manchester Deansgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manchester Deansgate Hotel Manchester
Manchester Hilton
Hilton Deansgate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing