We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another superb stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Ranked #47 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Have visited this Hilton on a few occasions and have always enjoyed it. This time was no different. A warm welcome on arrival and we arrived on a Sunday morning midday but we were able to be allocated a choice of rooms on arrival. We opted for room 1109 which had great views over the city. Room very spacious and clean. We stayed two nights and breakfast was good each time with everything you expect from a Hilton breakfast. Our only grumbles and I've not had many on previous occassions that the mattress on the bed was pretty much past its best as you could feel the springs and it was not very firm, therefore I've had better sleeps. Also on the second day it took housekeeping until nearly 5pm to clean the room, no reason given and the shaving mirror was loose on the wall so couldn't really use it. We paid the equivalent of £200 for each night therefore there was certainly room for improvement. Would like to think that next time around these problems have been resolved.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Bordersgeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Hilton Manchester Deansgate, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for returning to stay with us time and time again, we really do appreciate your loyalty.

I am pleased that we were able to offer you a warm and efficient welcome to the hotel and that we were able to offer you an early check in to enhance your stay.

I am pleased that on the whole you had a great stay with us, however I would like to apologise that you encountered housekeeping issues during our stay. Our Housekeeping team have been given visibility of your comments to ensure that there is no repeat.

Thank you for highlighting that you enjoyed our breakfast offering on both morning, we are delighted to offer our guests a large variety.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we hope that you can welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Best wishes
John McLaughlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,155 - 3,161 of 4,639 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have stayed at the Hilton Deansgate around 10/12 times since it opened.
I stayed over the weekend with my partner. I paid and additional £25 to stay in a deluxe room which I must admit didn’t look any different than a normal room apart from a bottle of wine which I waited 4 hours to be delivered.
The room was ok but as I say no different from a standard room, still only a queen sized bed.
The change I noticed was breakfast. I normally really enjoy the breakfast, however on this occasion it was such a disappointment. The sausages were like pretend sausages the fried eggs were swimming in oil, the bacon was hardly cooked and was mainly fat, the scrambled eggs were like milk.
Very very disappointing, to say breakfast costs around £20 pp. If I ever stayed here again which I doubt, I would most defiantly NOT pay for breakfast.

Many other nice hotels within Manchester at a much cheaper rate and better quality.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19KS82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Hilton Manchester Deansgate, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for retuning to stay with and for taking the time to complete this review following your recent stay.

Please accept my apologies that you encountered a delay in the delivery of your wine to your guest room. I have shared your comment with my Food & beverage Manager and Room Service team to ensure that this does not happen again.

I am also sorry that you did not enjoy your breakfast experience. I can assure you that all food is prepared fresh each day and is replenished on a regular basis to ensure that our guests receive a high quality breakfast. I can only apologise that on this occasion that you did not enjoy your breakfast, this is certainly not the feedback we ordinarily receive. Our Restaurant Manager and Executive Head Chef have discussed your comments and improved their procedures to prevent this from happening again.

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us in the past and on this occasion as I do appreciate that Manchester has a large number of hotels for our visitors to choose. However I do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel when you will have a more positive experience.

Best wishes
John McLaughlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Located just off Deansgate this is the tallest building in Manchester, easily identifiable with its unique 'top heavy' look! The overhang on the 23rd floor is also the floor of the executive lounge, which has two oval shaped (thick!) glass floor plates which show you walking directly over the pavement 23 floors below! The 23rd floor also houses the Sky Bar which is two floors high and very impressive - amazing views over the city and well beyond into the Pennines and Lancashire.
There are many meeting rooms, the hotel rooms are great with floor to ceiling windows, and the breakfast at ground level is also very nice - standard Hilton restaurant but in a great central location.
One downside is the parking. For £25 you can have valet parking, otherwise you have to use the NCP car park over the road. Even after the hotel validated my ticket it cost £24 from 10am Monday to 12pm Tuesday. I'm glad that was on expenses!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sge31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Hilton Manchester Deansgate, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying with us recently, I am delighted that you had a great stay with us.

I am delighted that you had a great time in Cloud 23 and that you enjoyed the design features and the spectacular views of Manchester and beyond.

At the hotel we do have a limited number of car parking spaces that we offer for valet car parking for our guests however they do become taken quickly. When this is the case we are happy to offer our guests a discount when parking at the Great Northern car park, adjacent to the hotel entrance and our Front Office team are happy to validate the car parking tickets. I am sorry, however we have no control over their charges.

I hope that you are able to stay with us again soon.

Best wishes
John McLaughlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed for one night because I was in Manchester with my husband to celebrate my birthday. When we first got to the room it was like an oven so we switched the air con on and went out to do some shopping in the afternoon. On return to the hotel, the room was even hotter. Air con had switched itself off. Switched it on again but it kept switching off, even thought the thermostat was supposed to be at 16 degrees. Before going out for the evening, we reported the problem at reception and were told it would be sorted. We returned at around 11:00 and the room was still like an oven. Too hot to sleep in therefore we were forced to call reception again. The air con had been looked at while we were out but it appears that the person had merely switched it on. We could have done that. In fact, we had done that several times during the course of the day! We had to then start packing so that we could move to a room on another floor. Just what we didn't need at that time of day on sweltering heat. We had booked to go to Cloud 23 at 11:30 and we had to rush to move rooms and arrived hot and bothered so we didn't enjoy the birthday cocktails. I expected better service from this hotel.

Room Tip: We upgraded to an executive room. Don't bother - from what I could see, we merely paid to be sli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marge64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Hilton Manchester Deansgate, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at Hilton Manchester Deansgate.

Please accept my sincere apologies that you encountered an issue with the temperature in your room. I can confirm that since receiving your comments we have conducted a complete audit of all air conditioning units to ensure that they are all to standard. However, without a room number or the date of your stay, unfortunately we are unable to investigate this room specifically. Please accept my apologies.

My team and I hope that you return to the hotel in the future so that you can experience our usual high standards.


Best wishes
John McLaughlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have stayed in quite a few Hilton hotels due be being a Honors member but found my stay at the Hilton Deansgate to be a serious letdown. I booked two rooms and requested they be together, after arriving at 1.30 we were given the keys to one of our rooms on the 8th floor (room 810) and were told our other room (812) would be ready soon and the keys would be brought up as soon as it was ready, after waiting in the room and nobody coming we went to reception only to be told that it would be ready in 30 minutes, at 3.45 the room was still not ready and we were given an awful room on the 4th floor with no view, we had to plug the tv in, both rooms were dirty and had layers of dust, the shower head was not fixed properly on both rooms which resulted in water squirting everywhere causing a serious health hazard as to wet slippery floor, the minibar wouldn't open in the room on 4th floor. Needless to say I will not be returning to this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Hilton Manchester Deansgate, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to complete this review.

I was disappointed that you were unable to check in to one of your rooms at 15:00. It has been highlighted that the night prior to your stay was very busy and unfortunately Housekeeping were under pressure to service all of the rooms in preparation for check in and I am sorry that we failed you on this occasion.

I note your comment regarding requesting 2 rooms on the same floor. However requests of this nature are subject to availability at the time of check in. Whilst we do our utmost to honour our guest requests, it is not always possible to fulfil them all the time and I can only apologise that on this occasion we were unable to offer you a room on a high floor.

The team members on reception have no control over the availability of rooms at any one given time. They only have the capability to offer serviced rooms that are released on the system as ready for our guests to use. Therefore during the time of your check in and that of other guests later in the evening, the rooms and floors would vary.

I can assure you that our Housekeeping team has been made aware of your comments. I am disappointed to receive your comments as all areas of the hotel are ordinarily of a very high standard. This is certainly not the norm.

I do hope that you have a change of heart and that you are able to return to stay with us in the future when you can experience us at our best.


Best wishes
John McLaughlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on 27/7 with my husband for our 10th wedding anniversary, we got an executive room. From arrival till departure it was 5* all the way. Nice early check in, up to the executive lounge for tea and cakes, walked easily to the shops, then back to look at the amazing view from our room. Back to the executive lounge for FREE pre dinner drinks and canapés then down to the podium restaurant for
A great 3 course dinner, after dinner went back up to Cloud 23 for end of day drinks. Didn't have time to sample the spa but had peak and it looked great. after a lie in as breakfast available till 11am we had a filing breakfast with a choice of anything you required. All in all it was 5* all the way and will definitely be returning soon .

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diane_happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Hilton Manchester Deansgate, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Guest

We are delighted that you chose to stay with us to celebrate your 10th wedding anniversary; it was our pleasure to be able to look after you during your stay and form part of your celebrations.

I am pleased that we were able to offer you a warm and efficient welcome to the hotel and I am pleased that we were able to offer you an early check in to enhance your stay.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience in Podium Restaurant. We are very fortunate to have a great team of Chef’s lead by Executive Head Chef, David Gale, who create wonderful dishes for our guests to enjoy. Your kind words have been shared with the kitchen brigade.

I am delighted that you had a great time in Cloud 23 and that you enjoyed the variety of wonderful cocktails and again the spectacular views.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon, when you may have time to use our leisure facilities.

Best wishes
John McLaughlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Prior to our stay I sent a couple of emails asking if there were any complimentary upgrades available, no response or acknowledgment was given and no upgrade available
We arrived at 13.30 and one of the rooms was available, I was told that mine was just being cleaned. I then went back down to reception before going for a drink at 14.20 to be told that it would be another 30 minutes, after finishing my drink I went back to reception at 15.40 and the room was still not ready, I was given a room on floor 4 when we had asked for a room on a higher floor and my original room was on floor 8
The mini bar could not be opened, had to screw the tv aerial in myself and the room was not as clean as I would have hoped

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, General Manager at Hilton Manchester Deansgate, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to complete this review.

I am very sorry regarding the lack of follow up and contact you received prior to your arrival. Unfortunately without a delivery address I am unable to check our systems to ensure that we received your correspondence. I can only apologise as communication is a strong point within the hotel.

I was disappointed that you were unable to check in at 15:00. It has been highlighted that the night prior to your stay was very busy and unfortunately Housekeeping were under pressure to service all of the rooms in preparation for check in and I am sorry that we failed you on this occasion.

I note your comment regarding requesting a high floor room for your stay with us. However requests of this nature are subject to availability at the time of check in. Whilst we do our utmost to honour our guest requests, it is not always possible to fulfil them all the time and I can only apologise that on this occasion we were unable to offer you a room on a high floor.

The team members on reception have no control over the availability of rooms at any one given time. They only have the capability to offer serviced rooms that are released on the system as ready for our guests to use. Therefore during the time of your check in and that of other guests later in the evening, the rooms and floors would vary.

I am sorry again for your disappointment and I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future as you have certainly not experienced us at our best.

Best wishes
John McLaughlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.3 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#12 of 121 in Manchester
5,299 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#4 of 121 in Manchester
1,874 reviews
0.8 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#39 of 121 in Manchester
2,646 reviews
0.4 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Manchester Deansgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Manchester Deansgate

Address: 303 Deansgate, Manchester M3 4LQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Manchester
#25 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#36 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $144 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Manchester Deansgate 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Manchester Deansgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Manchester Deansgate Hotel Manchester
Manchester Hilton
Hilton Deansgate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing