We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HENDHAM HOUSE OF HE'LL!!!!!!!”
Review of Hendam House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hendam House Hotel
Ranked #22 of 28 Manchester B&B and Inns
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“HENDHAM HOUSE OF HE'LL!!!!!!!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

leafy suburb!! more like the Bronx! stayed here New year's eve, the photos are very deceiving. seemed more like a hostel full of gypsies! bathrooms were tiny, dirty, drains barely worked. loads of banging and noise all night, kids screaming and women shouting, they didn't have a hair dryer, room was bare and Windows were dangerous with pigeons trying to fly in the room. beds were very uncomfortable.something not right about the hotel that's for sure, didn't take the breakfast thank God. came down the stairs the next morning to find sick all over them, couldn't find Dominic who checked us in. then a gypsies approached us saying Dominic was asleep, he will take the key and was we happy with the stay. we left a few minutes later to see Dominic walking up the street! don't stay here unless you really have to, but on the other hand Dominic was helpfully!

Room Tip: go to travel lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic s, Owner at Hendam House Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
hendham house hotel caters for all people and all races from all over the world there are many wonderful guests with irish accents and to refer to them as gypsys in a tone that would even insult the ethnic group of people that go by that name wasnt very nice . also there are many wonderful and beautiful places in the bronx in newyork and again i can imagine some one who comes from there would be upset after reading your reveiw which should be aimed at the hotel standards and not at women and children and other guests who maybe staying at the hotel i apologise to any future guest who were offended by the remarks in this review and i have asked trip adviser to remove it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    42
    23
    21
    157
See reviews for
40
41
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Absolutley disgusting hotel! Me and my partner stayed last night, the room looked ok at first although it had a shared bathroom. When getting into bed you notice the mould growing on the walls which isnt visible when you first walk in. The bed was the most uncomfortable bed i have ever experienced, their was constant banging and noise all night long so we didnt get any sleep what so ever. I woke up this morning and visited the bathroom, to find poo everywhere! it was beyond disgusting it made me sick! I went to another bathroom to find their was no toilet roll and dirty towels just dumped in the shower and on the floor. We left immediatley, not risking breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xXjessicaXx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic s, Owner at Hendam House Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
hi read your reveiw and i sent a building contractor into your room to inspect the damp patch he said we had a loose roof tile and fixed it and painted the wall lucky for us you saved us a lot of money in water damage i gave the cleaner a ticking of for the bathroom her response was it all got messed up before her shift ,SORRY about that we placed signs up to ask our good customers to try to leave the bathrooms as they found them espicially in the late hours hendham house staff work hard to maintain high standards for our guests hope you enjoyed manchester and everything else about your visit Dom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Staff very helpful on arrival, given number for taxi and hotel for any queries.
Also helped us out when locked out of room in hotel during early hours of morning.
Shared bathroom was slightly inconvenient but was always free when needed.
Overall stay was a great and would use
again if staying in area.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEC1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2012

A Gem of a hotel. From are arrival to when we departed the staff were very friendly and helpful especially a guy called Dominic. The rooms are very spacious with a modern feel. The rooms are all very well priced., even at the weekends ( i stayed the Friday and Saturday Nights ) The next time i am back in Manchester i will be staying here. Keep up the good work. Antony B

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2012

a good little hotel to stay if you don't mind the short travel into manchester centre by taxi , watch out as the fares vary from £4.50 to £10.00 for the same journey !!! rooms are large , unfortunately no en-suite but plenty of bathrooms . dom and his team are quite friendly , i would definately stay again

Will Elgee

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic s, Owner at Hendam House Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Hi thankyou for your positive feedback Hendham house and all my team enjoyed the time you stayed with us hope to see you again Dom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

im shocked to see that this place has lots of bad reviews as i thought it was a lovely hotel, i stayed there the weekend as i was visiting family in the area i was greeted by a young lady who was very polite and courteous and made me feel very welcome, i was checked in and shown my room and the shared bathroom i must admit i wasnt keen on a shared bathroom but it was very clean and up to standard, i also had the full english which was very nice i would indeed stay again.....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steven s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Firstly, let me say that it is nothing at all like the photos.
We arrived today in a very rough looking, broken down area. The man that greeted us did seem very nice, though. So we walked upstairs to be greeted by very cheap looking grey painted doors, with number stickers covering old plaques or something similar. The room was supposedly a deluxe room. It was freezing cold, and had no heating. It was a very, very plain room. We had a bed with broken springs which was as hard as rocks. The bedside table had some kind of cigarette burns on, and the other cabinet with a tiny tv on had pen marks and scratches all over.
The view from the room was a beautiful derelict building with boarded up windows and barbed wire fencing.

We didn't even spend the night (ended up spending ridiculous amounts of money elsewhere after this ordeal!) as it was so bad.

Do NOT stay here. Avoid.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sprogget22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.3 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#73 of 116 in Manchester
72 reviews
4.2 mi away
Elton Bank Hotel
Elton Bank Hotel
#11 of 28 in Manchester
11 reviews
4.2 mi away
Luther King House
Luther King House
#2 of 28 in Manchester
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Rampant Lion Hotel
Rampant Lion Hotel
#4 of 28 in Manchester
33 reviews
1.0 mi away
New Central Guest House
New Central Guest House
#19 of 28 in Manchester
49 reviews
3.7 mi away
Verdene Hotel B&B
Verdene Hotel B&B
#3 of 28 in Manchester
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hendam House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hendam House Hotel

Property: Hendam House Hotel
Address: 3-4 Beech Mount | Lancashire, Manchester M9 5XS, England (Formerly Citi Mansions)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hendam House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hendam House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citi Mansions Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing