We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again!”
Review of Hendam House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hendam House Hotel
Ranked #21 of 27 Manchester B&B and Inns
Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never Again!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I booked this Dungheap via the internet, where they claim to be a "three star" hotel.

Lets see... No en-suite, no Internet, stained sheets and pillowcase, stained mattress, no facilities in the room at all, no way of getting back in when you leave, and they have the gall to charge £59 for this?

That is before I cover the guests walking around in the nude, the complete lack of secure parking, hearing the couple next door having sex, and the public hairs in the bed.

NEVER EVER staying here again. Please, for your own sanity, avoid it like the plague, because if you stayed you'd likely come away with it.

Room Tip: Don't book here at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tramlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    42
    23
    21
    153
See reviews for
40
39
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

Location being irrelevant, the place seems clean and tidy. There is absolutely no sound proofing within the house which makes for a very noisy house. As I said in the title, this is a hostel. My stay incorporated a bunch of socially inadequate teenagers (or thats what they seemed) who were having a party and cared nothing of the other occupants. I dont even think dome of them were guests but rather local people. Regardless, they still were missing the basic social skills to live on this planet. barring the noise which made for two very uncomfortable nights the hostel was clean, tidy and reasonably modern. Will I stay again though, absolutely not. There is the youth hostel two mile down the road offering exactly the same for £13 a night if you dont mind sharing.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theodp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

On arrival we were shocked to see the location and surroundings all boarded up with glass all on the road. We were told there was a car park, which was basically a very unsecure road outside the hotel with the likelihood of a break in. The owner didn't have a glue what was going on as we were taken all the way to the 3rd floor for him to say that he had the wrong key, which meant we had to go all the way back down. on first glances the room looked okay, but the sheets were all stained and marked, pillows were covered in makeup, the towels were unclean and the furniture had black marks all over cushions. There was drink stains on the best side cabinet and very large holes in the walls. We also found some empty cans in the room meaning that the room hadnt been cleaned. Shared bathrooms were a big no no, hairs in the shower, wee on the floor and no toilet roll!!! YUCK! We were also woken up very early in the morning by a women wanting us the order breakfast when we didn't want any. The hotel always stunk of smoke and the bed was the hardest bed I have ever slept in!!! dogs were continuosuly barking during the night- AVOID AT ALL COSTS it's not what it looks like in the photos!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank siloz12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This is a new review based on the new management. We were booked in for the Stone Roses gig at Heaton Park. 29th June 2012.

We arrived at about 9pm at the hotel which is situated in a terrible area. (opposite a boarded up Physchiatric building) Had to park car on roadside where there was broken glass on the road. Someone had clearly had their car broken into. I had phoned the hotel the day before to confirm the booking, but were told on arrival by the manager Dominic (who was smoking inside) that we were "late" and that our room had been given to someone else. We were not happy, as had just a 4.5 hour journey. After much rustling of paperwork and clearly not that bothered, he then told "it's ok" and that they own another hotel down the road and that the best he could do: City Park Hotel. So we had no choice that to go there.

This was the worst "hotel" ever!!! . Thanks a lot Hendham House! It was: Unclean, Smelly. TV does not work, NO DOOR TO BATHROOM between bedroom and bathroom. No Toilet roll. No handsoap. Blinds on window do not work, People smoking everywhere. Lights switches broken, shower does not work.

Having been there 10 minutes we seriously considered driving straight home again. Instead after being moved to another room that actually had a window, all be it of the back of next door's building with bars up against the window. We manged to sleep due to being so tired, (in all our clothes, using our own towels from home as a duvet, and thankfully had our own pillows), due to fear of catching something in the bed, and without brushing our teeth as bathroom was DISGUSTING and falling to pieces. Bathroom floor felt like it was going to fall through. As soon as it was light we searched like mad manged to find an alternative, ACTUAL HOTEL, no where near this run down area, with a bathroom door and everything!

Now we are home we have actually thrown away our pillows and thoroughly washed everything we took with us.

More of a drop in centre for the homeless. If all you need is 4 walls and a roof, then great.

I am disappointed that this was booked through Booking.com. They should be ashamed and remove this hotel immediately.

This was one of the worst nights of our lives and we will not be returning to Manchester again. At least Stone Roses were good. Glad you didn't ruin that for me.

Room Tip: Don't bother. Wouldn't book here again for £1 for the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed at Hendam House hotel for one night as we were at a Stone Roses concert at Heaton Park.

After reading some of the earlier reviews on here I was a bit dubious about our stay, but was very pleasantly surprised.

The hotel staff were very friendly and incredibly helpful, and made us feel welcome from start to finish.

The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the communal bathrooms were fine - plenty to choose from and very clean.

Parking was on site and secure, and the location was just a short taxi journey from Heaton Park (although we didn't need a taxi on the way back as the owner was kind enough to come and pick us up at 1am!!).

This hotel has recently changed owners so don't believe the earlier reviews. This hotel is a perfect budget hotel. Thanks.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugster25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We were in Manchester this weekend to see the Stone Roses at Heaton Park. All. the main hotels were fully booked (no surprise) so we decided to look at b&b's outside of the city centre.

In my work I travel all around the UK and over the years I've stayed in many a dive. So staying at the Hedam House Hotel was a pleasant surprise.

As soon as we arrived at the hotel we were made to feel very welcome. Dominic (nice fella) quickly showed us around before showing us to our room. Room was spot on (very clean,spacious,big wall mounted flat screen tv, freeview etc). No en suite, but we knew that when we booked.
We had no problem getting into hotel in the early hours as Dominic had written down the front door code and his mobile number incase. Bed was comfartable and slept like a baby all night. In the morning Dominic phoned a taxi for us.
Would definitely stay again, many thanks.

Room Tip: Ask for the big double room on the ground floor, incase you want to play basketball (as quoted by Do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supremestacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Checked in 27th June 2012 as we had a night out the friday night then a concert the night after.
All the staff in the hotel bent over backwards to ensure our stay was a good one and we were not dissappionted.Very reasonably priced and safe carparking, they also suppied a shuttle service in to the city centre and back for our friday night out and the same for the concert the following night.Beware that not all rooms are en suite but to be fair this is reflected in the price.
The hotel is under new management so may pay to ignore any old reviews and concentrate on the newer ones.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.4 mi away
Westlynne Hotel/Apartments
Westlynne Hotel/Apartments
#62 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
1.3 mi away
Park View Residence
Park View Residence
#73 of 117 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Elton Bank Hotel
Elton Bank Hotel
#11 of 27 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
4.2 mi away
Luther King House
Luther King House
#3 of 27 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
3.7 mi away
Rampant Lion Hotel
Rampant Lion Hotel
#4 of 27 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hendam House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hendam House Hotel

Property: Hendam House Hotel
Address: 3-4 Beech Mount | Lancashire, Manchester M9 5XS, England (Formerly Citi Mansions)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hendam House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hendam House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citi Mansions Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing