We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second to naan ?”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sai Spice Chorlton

Sai Spice Chorlton
Ranked #441 of 2,242 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $39
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Stunning and fresh Indian restaurant that specializes in all the cuisines available from the vast sub-continent with a focus on friendly, family orientated service. Stunning dishes from fresh to order chicken tikka straight from the tandoor oven to authentic and unique South Indian dosas. The 120 cover restaurant is serviced by two kitchens (one strictly vegetarian kitchen and one standard kitchen) and includes two separate function rooms (with capacities of 120 and 50 people respectively). The restaurant is also equipped with a fully licensed bar which stocks a vast array of beers, spirits, wines and champagnes that compliment the cuisines perfectly.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Second to naan ?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

A funny one. The restaurant is relatively new and decorated to a reasonable standard. On a Friday night it had a good buzz to it. Expectations were high as we sat down.
Food was average with portions definitely on the smaller side. Waiting staff were smart with their ties, but not particularly knowledgeable (even when it came to the drinks).
Having had 3 courses didn't leave feeling full. Didn't feel desperate to revisit. Plenty of better Indian places to visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    36
    17
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
71 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food, but pricey in this new restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

I actually went twice, once for lunch to check it out and once for dinner with a group of friends. The food was mostly very good, in particular the lamb shank (one of their flagship dishes). There is an associated vegetarian restuarant (their USP) and a separate [noisy bar]. In both cases the lamb was slightly over-cooked, but on the other hand this meant it was tender and in the case of the shank fell off the bone and its sauce was superb. Main course portions were good, but the starters rather small. The large restaurant was busy (for a wet Wednesday night!), but the service was still pretty good and friendly, although this might have been because the manager recognised me from another establishment.

The main let down was the high prices for both food and drink (£1 for a small glass of tap water!). Food, drinks and service at least as good as this are available for less at award winning curry houses in West Didsbury and the fairly isolated location of this one means you are either in for long walk or are going to have drive or get a taxi (£5 from Withington in my case).

If you do go here you will not be disappointed by the food nor the service, but you may need a stiff drink to prepare yourself for the bill!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Average food, overpriced with very small portions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

It is overpriced, serve very small portions so no value for money. Ambience is good with new refurbishment but on the other hand service was poor for having ask for things many times before we have it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jindersinghnagpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretentious service - poor food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Last Saturday I took my family to Sai Spice, a new restaurant, recently opened in Chorlton. The building looked nice, but on entering the car park I saw that minimal effort had been put into the maintenance of the car park - with broken fences all around. But, I thought not a problem, we are here to eat. On entering the restaurant we waited for a little while before being seated. Once seated, we had to wait for someone to notice that we hadn't been given the menu's - people arriving after we did, were seated and given the menus before us and also were engaged in full conversation about what they would like to eat - it seemed that they knew someone at the restaurant. Again i thought not a problem, we are here for the food. Once our order was placed - Aloo Palak, Malai Kofta Curry, Kadi Lamb, pilu rice, and 2 naan's. We waited for a while, when the food arrived and I was disappointed. The rice was undercooked, the Palak (spinach) tasted like it was out of a tin. The Lamb was okay, but lacked taste, according to my husband. Being a vegetarian I did not taste it. We also ordered and received 2 popadums, but were charged for 3.. this was corrected, but no one said sorry or asked if we enjoyed our meal. Yet the waiters were trying to behave like they were serving in a high class restaurant - my advice - you need to keep it real and also pay more attention to the quality of the food you are serving. It was not worth the money we paid. I have eaten better takeaway food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“new but disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

My husband and i gave sai spice a try today, we went early evening, and there were a few people in their.My impression of it was it was clean and upmarket, but it only been open for 7 weeks. Their were two bits in there a main restaurant with it own kitchen, and a vegetarin bit with it own kitchen, we eat in the main bit, we started with poddums and pickles, and a aloo tikka to share, our main course was a chicken curry, 2 side vegtarian curries and 3 chappatis, since these were really small, compared to chapptis in other restaurants.all the food from the starter to the main came out too spicy and hot, my husband was disappointed with his chicken curry, because it had alot more veg in it than chicken, even though he had just ordered just a chicken curry and it was a tad more expense then other places,so we properly woulnt go their again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sejal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sai Spice Chorlton also viewed

Farnworth, Bolton
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Sai Spice Chorlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing