We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is great”
Review of Cornerhouse Gallery - CLOSED

Cornerhouse Gallery
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This place is great”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

my boyfriend and i were going up to manchester for a wedding and had some spare time to fill in. we googled what was on that weekend and found "cornerhouse" which was holding a david shrigley exhibition. so along we went and it was free! excellent! stayed and had dinner in the restaurant which was good and the service was nice - would definitely return

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnjnaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    13
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great films, poor facilities”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The cornerhouse has been the best place to see independent and foreign language films for many years, and it remains so. It is essential to film and arts culture in our great city.

The ground floor bar is a great place to meet and 1st floor restaurant is also good for quality quick eats before the film. It has a good selection of beers - very important to us Mancunians.

On the downside - and this stuff is the reason they are moving next year - the loos are too small, and screens 2 and 3 are not so good.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank hungry_lurcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“a gem”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The place to go to see foreign-language films in Manchester and the food is not bad either.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank b56c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Ate in the restaurant before going to see a film...food great...staff excellent...gallery upstairs very welcoming, free drinks, performance of famous chess game...hey a great night

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank JBAMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OK for a short time”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

The word 'gallery' is a bit loose here, its a few floors of modern art, didn't seem that impressive to me. We got through the whole thing in 10 minutes. I know its free and it is fine but I was expecting a bit more from cornerhouse with such a good cinema and cafe.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cornerhouse Gallery also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing