We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Greater Manchester Police Museum
Open today: Closed
Review Highlights
Davetherave

Great place to visit lots to see and a great history piece. We owe so much to our people who serve... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
davehughes1964
,
Newbury, United Kingdom
Wonderful place

Great museum, full of interesting police history and crime cases, with tips from retired policemen... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
ReneeS2157
via mobile
Read all 578 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Manchester
from $44.34
More Info
from $15.20
More Info
from $0.03
More Info
from $12.67
More Info
Reviews (578)
Filter reviews
578 results
Traveler rating
438
111
22
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
438
111
22
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews court room ex police police station police uniforms police force magistrates court newton street original cells knowledgeable volunteers school holidays victorian era couple of hours a small gift shop all ages half term answer questions greater manchester
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
453 - 458 of 578 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2014

On entering the museum we were met by very friendly staff who were eager to help. Our guide Ron Flowers was absolutely brilliant and kept us entertained and enlightened with his knowledge and anecdotes. The rooms were full of interesting artefacts and equipment from the past and present day. This museum is an absolute must for a visit for all ages and its free admission too. Well done all at the museum we really enjoyed it.

Date of experience: January 2014
1  Thank giddybiddy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

If this is your first trip to Manchester and have limited time, in all honesty I have to say this is not worth missing some of the 'A' list attractions (MOSI, People's History)for, but it is well deserving of a visit.
Yes, there are the 'not so interesting unless you are a specialist' cases - uniforms etc.. but the crime room is stuffed with displays on 'interesting crimes. There is mock up of a DI's office which will be immediately recognisable to any follower of 60s / 70's crime police films/TV serials.

Staffed by volunteers who are informed and helpful, (and deserve a big thank you) it is only a short distance from Piccadilly.
Be aware it is only occasionally open.. Tuesdays I think, so check beforehand, but certainly include it on your 'second seep' of visitor attractions.
And don't forget it is free! (but I'm sure leavingsome donation would be nice)

Date of experience: January 2014
Thank ray m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I am a childminder and decided to take the children on a day out to the Police Museum with other childminders. When we got there we had a very friendly greeting.

There was children aged 6 months - 6 years and all the staff entertained all of them.

The children enjoyed looking around the rooms filled with different scenes and especially trying on the uniforms.

I had a fun time also. I was educated and was told about famous crimes that happened.

thank you for a brilliant day out

Date of experience: March 2013
Thank Gemmadx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

good this trip is good to see and i really enjoy maybe later i will going again and after that i think other people they shuold go

Date of experience: December 2013
Thank Mahamoud S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Just called in to this old police station whilst passing and spent a good hour and a half in the museum. The staff were very friendly and took time to talk to us about the history and artefacts in the museum and also told personal stories of when they were in the force. There is a video showing of a documentary filmed in 1979 on the M62 in the snow and the traffic accidents the police had to deal with. You can try on some of the uniform and helmets. The old charge room and cells are still there to look at and there is also a courtroom upstairs. Plenty of artefacts and photos to see. Occasionally the police horses and sniffer dogs pay a visit but not whilst we were there. Pity it's open generally only on a Tuesday, however if you are passing and it's open it is definitely worth a visit - it's free.

Thank Slugger64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews