We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing place”

Greater Manchester Police Museum
Ranked #9 of 182 things to do in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Come and explore our 1879 Police Station! Inside we have Uniform, Crime and Transport displays as well as the station itself in which you can see the original Charge Office, Cells and an 1895 Magistrates Courtroom from Denton. Our volunteers, many of whom are retired officers will be on hand to chat to and answer any of your questions about life on the beat. The museum is open to the public on Tuesdays, but tours by appointment can be made on Mondays, Wednesdays, Thursdays & Fridays. Free entry!
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“An amazing place”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Went to visit this museum with relatives from Bournemouth. It looked small on outside but it wasn't small on the inside. It's open to public only on Tuesdays, but accepts group bookings.

It's free entry, however donations are gratefully accepted. Volunteers ex-Police help run the place and they dress in the old uniforms etc.... They were all very welcoming and friendly and had a vast knowledge of the history of the place. It's definitely worth visiting, very entertaining and educational. Keep up the good work guys we will be back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilR477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    89
    19
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Exceeded my expectations”
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

I visited the museum with a group of work colleagues today and found it far more interesting than I'd expected. We had a whistle stop tour over 40 minutes by a charming ex-police officer who brought some of the exhibits to life with tales of crime on the streets of manchester. I would highly recommend a tour by one of the volunteers.

Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisdeburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very interesting museum, well worth a visit”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We visited the Greater Manchester Police Museum as part of our trip to the Northern Quarter today. The museum is only open on Tuesdays, which is a shame as there's lots to see in this old police station. There are displays on motor and mounted policing, a wide collection of uniforms and equipment and a "crime room" with exhibits from notorious cases from the past. You then go through the back of the building to the original custody suite complete with cells and sergeant's desk. Upstairs is a video presentation, re enacting cases from the past, and the original Denton magistrate's court, which has been moved from its original location. Throughout the museum, enthusiastic and knowledgeable volunteers, all of whom are retired police officers, are on hand to provide explanations of policing over the years. All this, and it's free entry! Well worth an hour or so of your time.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank footman1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Interesting museum with friendly and knowledgeable volunteers”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

My five-year-old son and I thoroughly enjoyed a recent visit to the museum. He was able to try on a selection of police hats/helmets, 'test out' the wooden sleeping arrangements for those who had done wrong and stand in the witness box in the courtroom! For us, what made this an excellent attraction was the friendly and knowledgeable volunteers (former police officers) who were happy to talk about their experiences as well as the items featured in the museum itself. Well done to all involved in creating and maintaining such a lovely experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TogetherTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Quite interesting little museum”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This former police station from the Victorian era now serves as a museum for the GMP authority, and is an interesting if brief trip on an otherwise uneventful mid week afternoon - the volunteer staff are knowledgeable and helpful, and the displays accessible to most, including tailored information for various age ranges.

If you're looking for very specialist information on the history of policing, you may find this attraction to be too general, but as an overview and free attraction it's really not too bad.

As the building is fairly tightly contained, open days during school holidays and similar will be busier with family and youth groups taking up a lot of space, but staff are adept at dealing with traffic flow through the exhibits.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank RedHillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greater Manchester Police Museum also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Greater Manchester Police Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing