We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Visit not to Miss”

Greater Manchester Police Museum
Ranked #9 of 181 things to do in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Come and explore our 1879 Police Station! Inside we have Uniform, Crime and Transport displays as well as the station itself in which you can see the original Charge Office, Cells and an 1895 Magistrates Courtroom from Denton. Our volunteers, many of whom are retired officers will be on hand to chat to and answer any of your questions about life on the beat. The museum is open to the public on Tuesdays, but tours by appointment can be made on Mondays, Wednesdays, Thursdays & Fridays. Free entry!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Visit not to Miss”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were lucky enough to have the opportunity to visit the Police Museum and it was a trip well worth making.
The guides will talk you through the old and new styles of Policing and there are some great stories to go with it. The Museum itself is amazing and a great opportunity to see how things were done in Victorian times.
There are very few Police Museums left and this is a must for anybody visiting Manchester.
As a serving Police Officer i myself was mesmerized by the museum

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gizmo910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    89
    19
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What have we here then ?”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Just behind the Northern Quarter and Piccadilly, you could easily pass this fantastic little museum without realising. Look out for the "Blue Lantern Light" above the front door!
A retired Chief Inspector escorted us around the museum, which had been a working station for almost a 100 years. The museum comprises of several areas - the old charge room and cell block, an original court taken from the station in Denton and plenty of display areas. The staff are so helpful and knowledgeable. A really good afternoon out.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 187069Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Really interesting a valuable experience”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This museum is run by volunteers all of whom are former police officers. There are a wide range of exhibits within this Victorian police station. The sargents room and actual police cells are a must to see. We visited during half term and the venue was very popular with families. If possible I would suggest visiting outside school holidays. Some really gruesome exhibits relating to true crimes. Excellent guides with a great deal of knowledge. I have visited 3 times now and on each occassion have learned more. Check opening times on the website.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank suirtean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
323 reviews
199 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Crime, it seems is nothing new!”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The museum is just of Piccadilly in central Manchester. Upon arrival we had a very friendly greeting. The staff are retired police officers who work there voluntary and they were all very helpful - telling us (with much humour) tales from their own experiences and describing how policing has changed over the years. There are various settings and exhibits over 2 floors. The best ones were the old charge room and cells which was very interesting. The is a reconstruction of a Magistrates Court, lots of exhibits relating to equipment, confiscated weapons (some did look evil) and famous old cases. There is also a small gift shop but the ex police officers made the visit a memorable one. Admission free but a donation is welcome.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank angelaofcastleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Only 5 mins walk from apartment. Not open every day but glad we went. Still some Victorian poilce cells in basement! Staff v knowlegeable & friendly.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank JKMon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greater Manchester Police Museum also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Greater Manchester Police Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing