We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went for a school project but was a fantastic day out!!!”

Museum of Transport
Ranked #27 of 188 things to do in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Discover Greater Manchester's public road transport history with the Museum of Transport, approximately one mile north of Manchester City Centre near Manchester Fort Shopping Park. Open every Wednesday, Saturday, Sunday and bank holiday (and every day in August) from 10am until 4.30pm. Adults £4.00, students / over 60s £2.00, accompanied children under 16 visit free. Take a trip back in time with one of Britain’s biggest collections of restored buses, coaches and trams. From a Victorian horse drawn bus to the prototype Metrolink tram, see and sit in fascinating vehicles that took Greater Manchester folk to work, shops and outings to the coast and countryside.Leaving a review?: Please note we have no planes, cars or motorbikes, nor a planetarium! If you saw these it is likely you visited the Museum of Science and Industry on Liverpool Rd Manchester City Centre and not us!
UK
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Went for a school project but was a fantastic day out!!!”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I was really surprised - was a brilliant day & the kids loved it. Excellent value for money loads to see & really lovely staff who could not do enough to help. They helped the kids with their project & gave them postcards to take into school.
I cant say enough good things about here!!!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank herefroggyfroggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    72
    25
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Like a walk in the past.”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Recommended. I spent a sunday afternoon in museum, it is worthy.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank ThomasB09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good day out”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

A museum run by volunteers ideal for anyone with an interest in transport.

Helpful?
2 Thank Smartmart1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A gem of a visit which should really not be missed.”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

My relatives from the USA and I visited this fabulous museum yesterday. The staff were ever so knowledgeable and helpful. It was certainly a trip back to my father's and grandfather's roots as employees of Manchester City Transport Department.

More than that it was an excellent display of the history of public transport of Manchester and surrounding areas, plus many other modes of transport including vehicles for disabled persons, which people born after the 1970's would not be familiar with. A fabulous display of buses, coaches and various paraphernalia relating to the transport history of this great city region.

A gem of a visit which should really not be missed.

Gerard Lodge

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Went a bit reluctantly, came away delighted”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I was visiting family near to Manchester for a few days and they recommended this place. I was a bit sceptical, especially with two hard-to-please kids, and we expected to stay for maybe 15 minutes on the way into Manchester. Entry was £4 each fro me and my husband, although our 12 and 14 year olds were free, so overall we thought that £8 for a quarter of an hour was borderline value. But we were wrong! We finally dragged ourselves away two hours later, the place was really good. On the basis of the actual facilities it probably deserves a four, as it doesn't have all the posh interactive displays that you'd expect from a 'professional' museum. But they make up for that by being very friendly, letting you actually go on lots of the buses, and not getting all uppity about taking photos - one of the volunteers actually saw my husband taking a photo and asked if we'd like then to move the caption board in front to get a better shot.

The cafe was a bit basic in what it offered, it wasn't National Trust standards but thankfully it wasn't National Trust prices either. But the tea room oozed atmosphere, in fact the whole place did - not overdone. The buses and trams looked fantastic, they really are beautiful. I think in summary I'd say "if you think a bus museum sounds boring, overcome your prejudice and give it a go - it's worth a detour."

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Transport also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Museum of Transport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing