We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Park”
Review of Platt Fields Park

Platt Fields Park
Ranked #71 of 177 things to do in Manchester
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Platt Fields Park is set in 90 acres and is classed as one of Manchester Leisure’s major outdoor sites.
manchester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Park”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

It is a lovely park to walk around and nice to just have a few hours in the sun. Nice lake and many different walks to take

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank glitterpenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    22
    13
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely but needs policing”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I used to love walking my dog on this park when I lived in the area. It is large enough that I could vary the route I took a few times a week to keep it interesting for the pup.

As a dog-walking park, it does need more dog waste bins, and it would be a perfect space for dog walking if they cordoned off a fully enclosed off-lead area for dogs who can be trusted off the lead, or pups in training.

One unfortunate effect of this park not being tucked into a little bit of the country side is the tendency to attract drunks, druggies and thugs, specifically near the pond area. If I hadn't been walking around with a very large dog on the end of the lead, I wouldn't have been comfortable walking past the large groups that do tend to form. There needs to be some form of policing to deter this (which they do occasionally send - mainly when the weather is very warm).

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JodiLeighLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
126 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“used to be fantastic”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I agree with Vicky and Kaveh.
Now it seems to be just your average park. It is brilliant to see such an open green space about 3 miles from Manchester City Centre and also close to student housing but considering this is near 2 private secondary schools and students from a red brick uni you would think it would be better kept with better facilities.
At present it attracts drunks and like Vicky,I would not feel too safe here alone.
Nice large lake but the things I remember as a child- boat trips,pets corner and ice cream in the cafe. There is nothing here to attract families.
The Flower Show used to be well attended .
Not been in Platt Hall but this used to house period costumes and was well kept.
We all need fresh air and decent open spaces and it is a shame that a lot of Manchesters Parks seem to be going to rack and ruin as Heaton Park in North Manchester is similar now.
Lets hope the council are not planning to sell some of the land.
They need to look at nearby Stockport. Vernon ,Bruntwood and Bramhall Parks are more family friendly

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank babyhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“platt fields”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

its an average park to me thers a big pond thats nice to feed the ducks at but a lot of the time you get pissheads there and thats not a nice atmosphere i wouldnt go to thispark on my own lets put it that way

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank vicky b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Calmer Corner of the City”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

If you happen to live in the city centre, Platt Fields Park is a good place to find a calmer section of the city. The leafy surroundings, lake and birds make for relaxing surroundings, especially on a rare sunny day. If you enjoy an active lifestyle, it's also a great place to go running and you'll often find some British Military Fitness training going on there.

The lake area is even more beautiful in the darkness of night when the moon and the stars are visible. If you find fast flying creatures darting around you at night, these are bats! Don't be alarmed though, as they are generally harmless. Due to the fact that's it's usually near pitch black after dark, for safety reasons I would only recommend that you visit at such times with at least one other person.

The Friends of Platt Fields Group http://www.plattfields.org/ also hold some interesting events every now and then at the park, so make sure to visit their website to find out if there's anything on.

All in all, while it's not perfect and there are sections of the park that can be quite muddy, it's nice to have a serene environment like this right next to the usual hustle and bustle of city life.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaveh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Platt Fields Park also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Platt Fields Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing