We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

National Football Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.24*
and up
Manchester Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #27 of 196 things to do in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The world's biggest and best football museum is open 7 days a week in Manchester city centre. The museum is free to enter, and tells the story of the beautiful game through the eyes of everyone from the players, the law-makers, and most importantly the fans.Exploring how football has impacted on and reflected English culture and society over 150 years, it brings stories to life with a range of interactive and hands-on displays. There are world-famous iconic objects including the ball from the 1966 World Cup final, Diego Maradona's famous 'Hand of God' shirt, and even the game's very first hand-written rule book. On top of that there are lots of chances to show off your skills from the penalty box to the commentary box, with a range of Football Plus+ experiences (charges apply - see website for details). The National Football Museum Hall of Fame, on the ground floors, is the official tribute to the game’s greatest players, teams and managers. Upstairs, you’ll find stories from inventing, expanding, following and playing the game. There’s also a Discovery Zone for under 5s, and Level 3 is dedicated to changing exhibitions exploring how art and culture exist alongside the beautiful game.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Stroller parking, Stairs / elevator
Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you like Football or not and whoever you support, this is a great experience for the whole Family

Thank Glen_Gill_Lockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FootballMusem, Marketing & Communications Officer at National Football Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thanks very much for the great review, really happy you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,083)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"fa cup"
in 166 reviews
"world cup"
in 141 reviews
"penalty shoot"
in 138 reviews
"interactive games"
in 133 reviews
"premier league trophy"
in 102 reviews
"free entry"
in 164 reviews
"four floors"
in 26 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 116 reviews
"suggested donation"
in 41 reviews
"all ages"
in 131 reviews
"modern building"
in 30 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 112 reviews
"few hours"
in 87 reviews
"on display"
in 67 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 56 reviews
"the ground floor"
in 47 reviews
"victoria station"
in 30 reviews
Filter

2,298 - 2,302 of 3,085 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

I had been to the museum previously when it was located in Preston and so was interested to see how it had changed this time. I went with my husband so figured I would get more time to appreciate it than when I'd visited Preston with young sons!
The museum is still split into 2 'halves' - the first half being the real museum bit, with the history aspect, and the second half being more interactive.
I had loved the first half before as it presented football in a timeline fashion. That has now gone and replaced with areas grouped more by themes, which at first I found a bit more distracting, but soon got used to.
There is a huge array of exhibits and information, and lots of video and audio presentations. My husband got bored long before I did - I could easily have stayed longer listening to and watching these. There are some fantastic pieces of memorabilia, a lot fo what you would expect and some real quirky items too. Obvious topics like the history of the FA cup sit alongside areas with social comment such as Hillsborough and Bradford, and then more light hearted sections such as those dealing with football magazines and toys. I enjoyed spotting old Panini stickers I'd chased as a teenager!
On the next floor there's a lot more interactive items which we didn't really pay much attention to but would undoubtedly extend your journey if you have a young player with you.
Finally there was an addiitional exhibition which is temproary all about football and fashion. Some highly amusing exhibits there with clothes worn by fans and players alike, from the 60s clothing worn by George Best, to Mottie's sheepskin coat. And also the awful cream Armani suits that Liverpool wore in the 1996 cup final, one of my worst memories in over 40 years supporting them!
We spent a couple of hours here, I could easily have spent more and there is no entrance charge. There are points to make donations and £4 is suggested but there was no pressure form anybody to make you feel you had to do this so it really is entirely voluntary. An excellent place to visit and one that I will go back to

Thank lynds64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FootballMusem, Marketing & Communications Officer at National Football Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Hi Lynds,

Thanks very much for your full review. You're right that the idea of splitting the museum into themed sections, rather than a traditional timeline, can be a bit surprising for some, but we're glad you agree that it works (and it will allow us to incorporate new stories and objects as our collection grows).
Sounds like you really found plenty to enjoy! If you get chance to visit again then Robbie's suit may have gone (the Strike A Pose exhibition runs until August 27) so maybe that's a positive! (for the record, we think it actually looks rather good on the mannequin, just not on the team...)

Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Well worth a visit, me and the husband and the two children had a fun day (aged 4 and 9) x we would go again

Thank KeatH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Definitely worth visiting for both football and non football fans. Good displays and lots of information about the game itself and some of the characters who have taken part in it over the years. Didn't purchase a ticket for the interactive attractions, maybe will if i return when my chidren are older.

Thank Nettle72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FootballMusem, Marketing & Communications Officer at National Football Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thanks for the great review - much appreciated. We suggest the Football Plus+ 'interactives' are best for children aged over 7, but it's entirely down to parents to know when they'll be able to make the most of it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We spent the afternoon there, it was a great place to visit for free. Lots to see and lots of interactive stuff which kept us all entertained.
Only criticism the toilets are on the ground floor and there are 3 floors to see, one escalator going up to 1st floor only and lift is for disabled and people with pushchairs. remember to go to the loo before you set off upstairs.

Thank boot98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FootballMusem, Marketing & Communications Officer at National Football Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thanks for the review, glad you enjoyed your visit. For future reference, there are male and female toilets on levels 1 and 4 as well as the Ground floor, and accessible facilities on level 2: they're near the top of the stairs as you arrive on each floor (so hopefully not too much advance planning required for toilet breaks next time!).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Football Museum also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to National Football Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing