We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just for football fans”

National Football Museum
Ranked #10 of 188 things to do in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The world's biggest and best football museum is open 7 days a week in Manchester city centre. The museum is free to enter, and tells the story of the beautiful game through the eyes of everyone from the players, the law-makers, and most importantly the fans.Exploring how football has impacted on and reflected English culture and society over 150 years, it brings stories to life with a range of interactive and hands-on displays. There are world-famous iconic objects including the ball from the 1966 World Cup final, Diego Maradona's famous 'Hand of God' shirt, and even the game's very first hand-written rule book. On top of that there are lots of chances to show off your skills from the penalty box to the commentary box, with a range of Football Plus+ experiences (charges apply - see website for details). The National Football Museum Hall of Fame, on the ground floors, is the official tribute to the game’s greatest players, teams and managers. Upstairs, you’ll find stories from inventing, expanding, following and playing the game. There’s also a Discovery Zone for under 5s, and Level 3 is dedicated to changing exhibitions exploring how art and culture exist alongside the beautiful game.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not just for football fans”
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Visited recently with my wife who only has a passing interest in football. Thoroughly entertaining place to visit, lots and lots of exhibits, interactivity and more info than you could ever take in. Memorabilia, media, games, the museum has it all and best of all, it's free to enter! The building is all glass and pretty cool and the museum is really well laid out. Staff were friendly and helpful when we got stuck on some of the interactive media. My wife really enjoyed it and wasn't bored at all. Definitely a place to visit.

Helpful?
Thank SumoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FootballMusem, Marketing & Communications Officer at National Football Museum, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hi Sumo!

Just a quick reply to say thanks for the glowing review, really glad you both enjoyed your visit.

Thanks,
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,306
    903
    352
    75
    38
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Well worth a vist”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Knowing we were visiting Manchester we looked for things to do and as my wife and i are both footie fans we decided to check the museum out and and came away really glad we did !so not wanting to spoil the expierence for anyone thinking about going we would say make the effort to go and you will have a great couple of hours looking around the 4 floors of everything to do with football over many decades..loads to see and interact with so young and not so young should,nt get bored !!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gerard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FootballMusem, Marketing & Communications Officer at National Football Museum, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hi Gerard,

Just a quick reply to say thanks for adding your review and giving us full marks. Really glad you both enjoyed it!

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Langley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great subject: poor curation”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Great location at Urbis in Central Manchester but the curation has gone the way of many museums with an emphasis on interaction, games and children-friendly exhibits. Nothing wrong with that but it is aimed at the general public rather than anyone truly interested in football. The collection of artefacts is interesting but too much from recent history and very little about the origins of the game and the socio-economic factors that made the game popular and worldwide.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FootballMusem, Marketing & Communications Officer at National Football Museum, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hi Jeremy,

Thanks for your review. You're right to say that much of the interpretation in the museum is designed to be accessible for as wide a range of people as possible, including younger visitors and those who arrive at the museum without a specialist knowledge of the game.

Fans and experts of course have their own strongly held views on the game, so we aim to trigger memories and discussion and allow visitors to find the content most interesting to them in their own time.

Like football itself, what we include in the museum can be subject to much debate. From the origins of the game you'll have seen the very first hand-written rules, a shirt from the first international game in 1872, and a medal from the first FA Cup final in 1871. Some visitors would like to see more material from the Premier League era on display, but we strive to get the balance right: sorry to hear it didn't match your area of interest. If you have specific research enquiries you can contact us via the website and we'll be happy to help.

Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Good place to visit”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I visited here with my father who is getting on (sorry Dad). we both really enjoyed it, there's a good mix of old memorabilia and shirts and new techniques that are mixed really well. As a freebie you can't really complain at all, although if you wanted to go on all the interactive things it could get costly.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank HintonC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Interesting venue and something different to see”
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

This is free so saves on the pennies. Really interesting even for a girl. Central location and something different. Any football fan would love it.

Helpful?
Thank KimHarris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FootballMusem, Marketing & Communications Officer at National Football Museum, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hi Kim - thanks for giving us the full 5 stars! Football fans and girls always welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Football Museum also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to National Football Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing