We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, especially for a free attraction”

National Football Museum
Ranked #12 of 190 things to do in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The world's biggest and best football museum is open 7 days a week in Manchester city centre. The museum is free to enter, and tells the story of the beautiful game through the eyes of everyone from the players, the law-makers, and most importantly the fans.Exploring how football has impacted on and reflected English culture and society over 150 years, it brings stories to life with a range of interactive and hands-on displays. There are world-famous iconic objects including the ball from the 1966 World Cup final, Diego Maradona's famous 'Hand of God' shirt, and even the game's very first hand-written rule book. On top of that there are lots of chances to show off your skills from the penalty box to the commentary box, with a range of Football Plus+ experiences (charges apply - see website for details). The National Football Museum Hall of Fame, on the ground floors, is the official tribute to the game’s greatest players, teams and managers. Upstairs, you’ll find stories from inventing, expanding, following and playing the game. There’s also a Discovery Zone for under 5s, and Level 3 is dedicated to changing exhibitions exploring how art and culture exist alongside the beautiful game.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Stroller parking, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Firstly, I would say they could easily charge for entry and still be popular and busy. The fact that this is free is pretty amazing to be honest; how many other places like this would not charge entry?

We only spent an hour or so in the museum but took in each of the floors, including the art hall. There are a lot of interactive stations dotted around, and plenty of old footballing artifacts and memorabilia dating back to the very roots of the beautiful game.

I particularly enjoyed the old Wembley seating from the original stadium. I was slightly disappointed by the film they were showing in the cinema, it didn't really have much to it and I didn't feel it captured the spirit of the game as much as it claimed to.

Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FootballMusem, Marketing & Communications Officer at National Football Museum, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Hi John,

Just a quick response to say thanks for giving us top marks! Glad you found plenty to enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,824)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,243 - 2,247 of 2,825 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2013

There is no entrance fee although we did feel a little pressured to purchase the booklet/guide. However still excellent VFM and very informative.

Thank joan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Visited the football museum on Sunday 3rd Feb for my dads birthday (UTD fan!). The family went together including my young son. We had a great time, great location. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the staff were excellent, lots of staff around to ask questions to and direct you to differnet places, theres even a tour if you wanted. The museum is a must for all football fans. Lots of things to do and see and the fact that it was free to get in was a bonus. The cafe downstairs was also very good, excellent very friendly staff, very reasonably priced food, good quality, the sausage rolls are to die for.

1  Thank 350SimL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FootballMusem, Marketing & Communications Officer at National Football Museum, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Hi there,

Just a quick note to say thanks for giving us full marks - great to hear it was enjoyed by all ages and it sounds like you really made the most of it by chatting with the staff (we all love the sausage rolls too).

Thanks,
Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Went with my son on a wet Tuesday afternoon just to pass some time away. free entry which is fantastic as you would expect a entrance fee for this ...we spent over 2 hours just looking at all exhibitions about the great game of football well worth it we will be back again to see the rest we we did not have time to do

1  Thank si2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FootballMusem, Public Relations Manager at National Football Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thanks for the top marks Si, really glad you enjoyed it and hope you get to see the rest soon. Our new exhibition Strike A Pose, about Football and Fashion, opens on the 3rd floor on 1 Feb, so there'll be even more to see.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

absolutely brilliant museum, really interactive, and whatsmore, absolutely free. We had a great afternoon in there

Thank carolyn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FootballMusem, Public Relations Manager at National Football Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Hi Carolyn - thanks very much for the excellent review, really glad you enjoyed your afternoon here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Football Museum also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to National Football Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing