We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Princess St. Hotel(Manchester)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Midland(Manchester)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
New Union Hotel(Manchester)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Le Ville Hotel(Manchester)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (2,905)
Filter reviews
2,905 results
Traveler rating
1,420
976
324
108
77
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,420
976
324
108
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalace theatrecity centreq parkmeal dealall you can eatcomfy bedbudget hotelgood nights sleepexcellent locationquiet roomold traffordnight's sleepexcellent stayfamily roomcar parkmin walktrain station
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,793 - 2,798 of 2,905 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2009

We stayed at this hotel, for its location as we were spending weekend shopping and seeing coldplay at old trafford cricket club.warm efficient welcome at check in, staff very friendly, rooms nice, bit basic but ideal for our needs, comfy bed, clean although very warm.....
everything was fine unitl we went to bed, loud noise from a very busy road outside, so we had to close windows, which wasnt ideal as room too hot, could still hear loud noise, sirens, music etc, and this did continue unitl 5a.m, also loud group in corridor, at 5, which just made things worse. was really looking forward to our stay, dont get me wrong the reception staff are great, breakfast was nice, but as there was no telephone numbers listed in rooms, wasnt sure how to call reception about noise, but guess all they could do was move us, which i ididnt want at 5!!! plus they were full....they offer good night sleep guarantee, but never offered this at check out.

dont be put off by my review, just ask for a room around the back, though I bet the noise can be heard there too, it was quite bad....

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaywhay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

Have stayed again at Portland Premier Inn hotel after staying for the 1st time last year. This year stay was an enjoyable one as the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, the breakfast and dinner food were both very good, the room was very spacious and stayed at the same room as last year which would like to thank the receptionists for addressing my request, the room and overall hotel cleanliness was spic and span.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gozoprestigeholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

From the moment my daughter and I stepped through the doors at Premier Inn we were greeted with friendly smiles. We were enquiring after the left luggage facility (which they do have here) but helpful staff checked us in early. The room was an adequate size and the beds lovely and comfortable. At breakfast we could choose from cooked, continental buffet, cereals, etc which was fantastic value as my daughter ate for free (children eat free with a paying adult). We both slept well with no disturbances. The centre of Manchester was easy to walk to from this hotel, as was Oxford train station. My daughter loved being so close to Chinatown. All in all a brilliant budget stay. We will most certainly stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happy-street
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2009

Hotel is located on Portland Street and was hard to spot from the car. The best way to find it is park in the NCP round the back of McDonalds and then walk over the road.

Check-in was quick and professional.

Walk to my room (no. 140) was about 2 miles! Might be worth asking for a room that is not too far from the lifts.

The room was clean, modern and the bed, as always was really comfortable. The aircon worked really well.

The restaurant was fantastic – both my evening meal and breakfast were top-notch. The evening meals was off the menu and cost £20 for a starter and steak. Breakfast was £7.49 for all-you-can-eat buffet.

All in all, a great hotel, typical of the Premier Inn chain.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kes_Jules_Jaik_Leo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

The hotel was perfect in every way and the staff were helpful. For example the receptionist helped all 8 of us check in online for our flight after checkout.

The hotel is in the city centre, is very clean, is exceptional value for money. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MICK4Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews