We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location, Best Premier Inn I Have Stayed In!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Ranked #19 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Perfect Location, Best Premier Inn I Have Stayed In!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2009

I stayed at the Premier Inn, Portland Street, Manchester, for 4 nights in April 2009, 3 of which were by myself as I was attending a course in the city centre for 3 days. I was joined by my husband for the 4th night as we thought it would be nice to stay over, go out for a meal and a few drinks and drive home the following day.

The hotel is located centrally in Manchester, just on the corner of the Portland Street–Oxford Street junction so it is on a busy main road, however, I requested a room to the rear of the hotel as I knew that I would need somewhere quiet to do some homework from my course. This was not a problem and I was given a room to the back of the hotel, away from the main road.

Check-in was fine, the staff on reception were extremely friendly and very polite. I was given a room on the third floor. Premier Inn have a policy that they will never allocate lone females a room on either the ground floor (but there are no rooms on the ground floor at Portland Street, just reception) and also they will not give you a room which is at the end of the corridor. It’s great to know that they value the safety of their customers.

There are 3 lifts, each only accessible from reception by using your key-card. After 11pm, the main door is locked and you have to use your key-card to get into the hotel. Security at the hotel is great so lone travellers need not worry.

The hotel has a bar and restaurant on the 1st floor, overlooking the Portland Street-Oxford Street junction, nicely decorated and well laid out. I had breakfast at the hotel each morning. Monday to Friday breakfast is served from 6.30am until 10am and on Saturday and Sunday it is 7.00am until 12 noon – great if you want a lie-in! I see that some previous reviewers have said that they thought the breakfasts to be over-priced at £7.95 each (kids under 16 have breakfast free!), however, you have a wealth of choice as it is help-yourself. There are croissants, jams and marmalade, you can make your own toast, various cereals, tea, coffee, fruit juice , yoghurts and then a hot breakfast selection – all help-yourself and as much as you want. There are also vegetarian options and you can order porridge if that takes your fancy! I found it terrific value for money and well-worth the £7.95. The breakfasts were delicious and of a higher standard than I would expect from a Premier Inn. On one evening, I had a meal in the restaurant there. Even though I was on my own, I didn’t feel out of place dining by myself and the staff (Paolo and Felipe) were very helpful and looked after me. I found the prices for the meals there very good value – I had garlic and herb mushrooms for a starter and then a gammon steak with a fried egg, chips and grilled tomato. I also had half a Stella Artois and a regular diet coke – the total came to just short of £15 which I thought was excellent – and the food was of a very high standard indeed!! The hotel bar was also nice and the price of drinks quite reasonable for a hotel - £1.45 for half a Stella. Bar is open until 3am at weekends!

My room was quite large with a big double bed, dressing table with flat screen TV (Freeview channels), a hairdryer, air conditioning, tea and coffee making facilities and plenty of space for hanging up clothes. The bathroom was a nice size and had a ‘shower in bath’ – the shower was very powerful and there was always plenty of hot water. They even provide you with shower gel/shampoo and plenty of towels. They do warn you to have your bathroom door closed when having a bath or shower as the steam can set of their sensitive fire alarms. Room was cleaned and bed made every day and tea/coffee supplies replenished.

Rooms have wi-fi internet access to the Swisscom network. I took my laptop as I needed it for my course. Internet access is quite expensive though and that is about the only gripe I have in this review. It was £12 if paying online by debit/credit card for 24 hours access BUT the 24 hours counts down from when you first log in regardless of how much (or how little) you use it.

The location of the hotel is perfect for the city centre – 10 minutes walk to the Arndale, about 3 minutes to Chinatown. It was perfect for me walking to my course each day on King Street. There is an abundance of restaurants and bars close by. We went to the Pacific (George Street) for a Thai meal on the Friday night, just 5 minutes walk away. There is a bus stop directly outside the hotel and the Metro is about 5 minutes away at St Peters Square.

The hotel does not have a car park but if you use the NCP on Bridgewater Street (literally across the road from the hotel), the hotel will stamp your car park ticket when you check-out giving you a 25% discount. We were parked in the car park from around 6pm on a Friday to 10.30am on the Saturday and with the discount it cost £11.00.

Check-in at the hotel is after 3pm and check-out is midday but they have a secure luggage room in reception if you need to leave your luggage and go back later. The reception itself is manned 24 hours. As usual you can book a wake-up call by ringing reception. They don’t have room-service but you can order a pizza from the hotel bar, they will ring you when it is ready and they can box it up for you to take to your room – a nice touch.

You can pay for breakfast when you book or you can just go to the restaurant in the morning without booking and pay for it there and then. You can also book a table at the restaurant for the evening by contacting reception.

I would highly recommend this hotel – great location, great staff, nice rooms and no problems at all. In fact, my husband and I have booked with some friends and their little boy for 2 nights in June for a weekend break. It is ideal for business and leisure and lone travellers can feel safe staying here. Well done Premier Inn, I am looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rowdy_angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,246
    816
    249
    81
    55
See reviews for
524
781
182
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2009

we stayed here during pride 2008! very pleasant stay... close to gay village about a 5/10 minute walk away! clean room! excellent breakfast! no complaints at all! tried to book again for pride 2009 but fully booked already lol x

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melaniextwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2008

I stayed here overnight to watch a football match. The staff are excellent, friendly and helpful. They give great advice on how to travel out to Old Trafford and also use a very efficent taxi service. Piccadilly bus centre is five minutes walk and the Arndale centre about 10 - 15 minutes walk from the hotel. Dinner and breakfast excellent value for money!

Overall - delighted with stay and service at Premier Travel Inn!

If you are staying here Man Utd, the us back from Old Trafford stops directly outside the hotel. When coming out of Old Trafford after a match, walk straight down Sir Matt Busby Way to the traffic lights and turn left all buses to Piccadilly are parked here!

  • Liked — Great Location
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bajp23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2008

Wanted a City Centre hotel in Manchester for easy access to the various amenities, and Christmas markets. Attended a football match the following day.

The hotel is easly to locate, though the car park is not so obvious and is NCP.

Very central, with east access to all shopping, restaurants, and museums (apart from the Lowry).

Staff very friendly.

  • Liked — Central Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cleavers1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshie,england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2008

Very friendly staff. Noisy but very close to xmas and pretty sure many hotels would have been the same. Basic but clean. Decent breakfast at reasonable price.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — basic
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iloveengland_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2008

Very nice and friendly staff. Nice and clean rooms. Excellent price/quality. 5 minutes walk to the city centre. If you're looking for a not too expensive hotel where everything's arranged properly, this one's the place to go. The rooms were tidy and not noisy at all. Very quiet rooms.

  • Liked — The very friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tokkie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2008

i stayed here one and off for 4 months i used the good night gurantee 4 times but i did not ask i was offered a refund.
however on checking in today i was given a letter banning me from the hotel for complaing 4 times please bear in mind when reading this i stayed here for 4 months at least 5 nights a week so i do not feel i complained many times at all.
Also they were things such as having no electric one night all night may i add but they were full and could not move me.
Ive spent a few thousand staying here during reloacting and im so upset i cannot get over the fact ive been banned plus its ruined my weekend away

  • Liked — some staff
  • Disliked — management
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leekm78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,674 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Property: Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Address: The Circus 112-114 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4WB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#9 Best Value Hotel in Manchester
#12 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Manchester, Piccadilly train station is just a 10 minute walk and there are tram links to Manchester Old Trafford stadium, Manchester City stadium, and Media City Uk. Attractions nearby include Canal Street, Oxford Road, Palace and Opera House theatres and lots of bars and restaurants. Passes for nearby gym facilities are available please enquire at reception. Parking is available at a discounted rate (approx £14.50 per over night stay) at the Q Park on St James St - M1 4LX. Voucher is available from hotel reception upon departure. Our Manchester (Portland Street) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Portland Street) Hotel Manchester
Premier Inn Portland Street
Travel Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing