We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, good staff, good stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Ranked #22 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good hotel, good staff, good stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Not too much to say really other than we had a very good experience, staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel was clean and the room spacious. The area of Manchester its in is rather busy but we had a restful sleep and were not disturbed during our stay! No complaints!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteFreeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for leaving a review about your recent visit to us here at Portland Street Premier Inn.

It is always nice to hear our guests having a nice stay with us. I am happy that your experience was a good one and I hope that you had a wonderful time In Manchester.

Thanks again for the review and we hope that you check back in with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,256
    838
    261
    85
    59
See reviews for
541
801
183
379
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, Uk
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

I stayed here with some friends recently on a Friday night. The staff were friendly and helpful which was a good start. The hotel is in a handy location, quite near to Oxford Road station. My room overlooked Portland Street but there was hardly any noise getting into the room which surprised me. Noise from the corridor was more noticeable but that was minimal so not a problem.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northwestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thanks for leaving a review about your recent visit to us here at Portland Street. Premier Inn.

It is always nice to hear compliments about our staff and that they are leaving a good impression on our guests. So thank you for your kind words about our staff.

I hope that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you had a great nights sleep.

We hope that you visit us again soon, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

This hotel is nothing but terrible.

Firstly, we were greeted with by nasty service from the hotel staff.
Secondly, when we checked into our room, we saw how dirty the hotel is. Wall were tainted and the bathroom looked older than me.

There were noises coming from somewhere (like a machine) throughout and we had to put up with the noise as we tried our very best to sleep.

No basic amenities such as safe and their towels look and smells like rug.

For the price I'm paying, this hotel is definitely a flop. More like a hostel or motel to me.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendoarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a relaxed stay in a comfortable environment and I apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights at the end of February/beginning of March. Standard Premier Inn, however it had air con which not all do so made for a comfortable stay. Brilliant night's sleep, bed comfortable as always. Nice, clean and perfect as a base for a weekend in Manchester. Ideal location - a short walk to the station, city centre and arena. There is a Weatherspoons just around the corner for a cheap breakfast/late night drink. Security man the desk late at night so we always felt safe. Would definitely stay here again - good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Charroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
It is always very nice to hear when guests have a pleasant stay with us here at Premier Inn. I am very glad that on this occasion you had a wonderful nights sleep with us, and that our location was well suited for your needs.

I am always very happy that you felt safe whilst staying with us, as this is very important to us and to you.

If you stay with us In the future I would like to recommend trying our breakfasts as we have different types of breakfasts from a continental breakfast to an all you can eat buffet which I am sure you will find one suitable for your needs.

Again, I would like to thank you for visiting us and leaving a kind review about your visit. We hope that we see you again visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Me and my friend stayed for one night having visited Manchester to see Michael Buble. Check in took seconds, staff really helpful and friendly, rooms spotlessly clean. Only let down was disrespectful noisy guests. On checking out we mentioned this to the really helpful and friendly staff and they apologised profusely refunding us for our nights stay. I would definitely go back and have always had a great experience at Premiere Inn hotels. It's not their fault that some people don't know how to behave. Maybe a staff presence walking the corridors at night might stop this.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Emmajsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thanks for taking time to leave a review about your recent visit to us here at Portland Street Premier Inn.

I would firstly like to apologize for the noisy guests that have spoilt your stay with us. This is not acceptable by our standards, as this has had a negative effect on your visit. We do have night staffs that patrol the corridors on an evening but it seems on this occasion that this may have not been the case. I will look into why our staffs have missed these noisy guests and to ensure that this does not happen again in the future for you or any other guests staying with us.

I hope that this did not ruin your visit to Manchester too much and I hope that Michael Buble was as good as you expected.

We hope that we see you again checking in with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pokhara
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Nice enough place, receptor staff pleasant and informative.

Room was big, all the usual available. The room was however heated by a small heater attached to the wall. So got cold during the night. Room over looked the side alley of the hotel and early morning noise could be heard. - though it's a city, the dragging of bins was a bit annoying.

Bathroom was good, also had shaver charger/ electric tooth brush socket - many don't any more.

I have stayed here a few times and would suggest asking for a room within the inner circle of the hotel, they are more modern and up to date.

Didn't have breakfast this time but was great last time with very polite staff.

Over all an average hotel and good enough for a night. Location is a bit of walk from new street but great for visiting the University (MMU and Manchester).

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thanks for taking time to leave a review about your recent visit to us here at Portland Street Premier Inn.

I would firstly like to apologize for the heater in your room not giving you the heat that you required, if for any reason this was to happen again please call down to reception and they can do there best to help you to ensure that you have a pleasant sleep with us.

I would also like to apologize for the bins being dragged, which I know can be very annoying. I will look into why this has happened, as this is not acceptable, as it has disturbed your sleep. As a recommendation when booking your room to stay with us if you contact the hotel via phone prior to your check in date we will do our best to allocate you into one of our quiet rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

staff very friendly, and went out of there way to help, even drawing me a map of the areas i was going to, they could not have done more to help, the room was spotless, and very quiet.would use this premier inn the next time im in manchester.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WakefieldJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thanks for taking time to review your recent visit to us. I am happy that on this occasion our staff have made you feel welcome and gave you the assistance you required.

We hope that you visit us again in the near future. We look forward to checking you in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Property: Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Address: The Circus 112-114 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4WB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#12 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Manchester, Piccadilly train station is just a 10 minute walk and there are tram links to Manchester Old Trafford stadium, Manchester City stadium, and Media City Uk. Attractions nearby include Canal Street, Oxford Road, Palace and Opera House theatres and lots of bars and restaurants. Passes for nearby gym facilities are available please enquire at reception. Parking is available at a discounted rate (approx £14.50 per over night stay) at the Q Park on St James St - M1 4LX. Voucher is available from hotel reception upon departure. Our Manchester (Portland Street) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Portland Street) Hotel Manchester
Premier Inn Portland Street
Travel Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing