We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent for single female traveller”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Ranked #21 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent for single female traveller”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights on a training course. I was concerned as I was travelling alone but I was very much put at ease and felt very safe. I was made to feel welcome and comfortable eating on my own in the restaurant.
The staff were friendly but not overpowering.
Lovely comfortable rooms with huge baths and very quiet as mine was an interior room so no road noise. Breakfast was lovely especially for a buffet.
Absolutely nothing to complain about.

Room Tip: Ask for an interior room with a bath. Not on 1st floor where the bar/restaurant is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albapup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thanks for leaving a review about your recent stay here at Portland Street Premier Inn.

I am very happy to here that you felt safe whilst staying with us. Our guest’s safety is very important to us and we take it very seriously.

We are also very glad that you enjoyed your time in the restaurant whilst dining with us.

We hope that you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,271
    856
    267
    86
    60
See reviews for
549
821
185
385
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

The welcome on arrival was lovely - warm and friendly (thank you Tom). Our room was spotlessly clean and comfortable. The armchair in the room was really nice. Plenty of storage space and hanging room in the open wardrobe. The bed was quite bouncy which felt a bit strange but not unpleasant. The bathroom was clean and had the amazing treat of a shower curtain which doesn't cling to you!! Breakfast was fine - all self-service including hot drinks which I found a bit strange and was glad it wasn't too busy as folk wandered around with hot food and drinks all within a small area. Check out was a bit disappointing in contrast with the welcome but was still ok. The lifts are possibly the fastest I've ever encountered in a hotel. We will use this hotel again. Great value if you book well in advance.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thanks for taking time to review your recent stay here with us at Portland Street Premier Inn.

It is very nice to hear that you had a great time here at the hotel whilst visiting Manchester. I will mention to Tom your kind words, as I am sure he would love to hear them.

I am glad that you also found the room to your standards and to what you have come to expect from Premier Inn.

We are very happy that you will use our hotel again, this makes us very proud as a team knowing that guests will be returning from there previous experience.

Again, I would like to thank you for your review and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed here Sat 1st March 2014. The room had only been equipped with towels for 1 person instead of 2. The tea/coffee refreshments had not been replenished. The kettle was not working properly. Poor internet access. The taps in the bathroom sink were the wrong way round - the red being cold and the blue being boiling hot - this would have been very dangerous. We had to request a member of staff to unlock the bedroom window during the afternoon and to lock it during the night (which was a struggle). We stayed here 2 years ago and it was a much better experience then. We received a full refund and was told the hotel was about to start being refurbished. It didn't spoli our weekend but just made our stay in the hotel less relaxing. It is in a good location and we will return - we just hope it's a better experience next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thanks for your review about your stay here at Portland Street Premier Inn.

I am very sorry about your experience that you have had with us. This is not acceptable by any means. I will be looking into why these numerous things have happened to ensure this does not happen again.

Again, I would like to apologize for your stay this time and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Can honestly say I have never met such incredibly friendly and helpful staff.

The hotel was good - only thing I wasn't too keen on was the location - walking back late at night felt a little vulnerable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for leaving a review about your recent visit to Portland Street Premier Inn.

You kind words bout our staff is very much appreciated. Regarding the location if you ever feel that you need to talk to somebody whilst you’re with us feel free to call reception and they can direct you to the hotel and ensure that you get back to us safely.

Other than that I hope that you had a wonderful time with us and that we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Fantastic stay. Great location. So accessible. Staff could not do enough for us. So glad we stayed here. Suited our needs for our visit to Manchester perfectly. Would definitely recommend it if you require a no frills attitude.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thanks for your review about your visit with us here at Portland Street.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. This makes us as a team very proud and it makes us feel like we are doing a good job for our guests.

We hope that you visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I have stayed at the Premier Inn in Portland street several times now, on my visits to Manchester. It is clean, comfortable and quiet, despite being right in the centre of town. The costs are very competitive and the staff are always friendly and helpful. I have eaten breakfast and evening meals here, both very good! Great for theatres and concerts in Manchester City centre and close to taxis and public transport. Public parking across the road quite expensive , but secure!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for your review about your recent visit to us here at Portland Street Premier Inn.

It is always wonderful to hear that guests are returning to us time and time again. So thank you for returning.

Regarding the parking if it is the Q Park you are parking in which is the next left from the hotel, all of our guests get 30% discount. Just pick a voucher up from Reception. I hope this will make it a little cheaper for you if you haven’t already been getting the discount voucher.

Again, I would like to thank you for your kind words and that we see you again checking in with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for nice and very comfortable hotel but cannot afford the posh ones, Premier Inn is perfect speaking of all hotels. I stayed in Manchester last year in March and strongly recommend it! I loved their comfortable beds! Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthQuinn, Operational Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for your review about your recent visit to Portland Street Premier Inn.

I am happy to hear that you had a nice time with us, it is always nice to when guests mention our staff going the extra mile that is very pleasing to hear.

I hope that we see you again checking in with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Property: Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Address: The Circus 112-114 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4WB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#12 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Manchester, Piccadilly train station is just a 10 minute walk and there are tram links to Manchester Old Trafford stadium, Manchester City stadium, and Media City Uk. Attractions nearby include Canal Street, Oxford Road, Palace and Opera House theatres and lots of bars and restaurants. Passes for nearby gym facilities are available please enquire at reception. Parking is available at a discounted rate (approx £14.50 per over night stay) at the Q Park on St James St - M1 4LX. Voucher is available from hotel reception upon departure. Our Manchester (Portland Street) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Portland Street) Hotel Manchester
Premier Inn Portland Street
Travel Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing