We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendliest staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Ranked #19 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendliest staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Having stayed in several Premier Inns before (because of convenient locations, child friendliness and price) I knew what to expect and the standard of the room was as usual very good. However, this hotel has the friendliest, most helpful staff I have come across. Working in the hotel industry can be a thankless task involving very hard work, so I feel they all deserve a special mention. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthQuinn, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Nia,

Thank you for taking time to leave feedback about your recent stay with us. Your review is very kind.

Thank you for mentioning the staff, it is good to hear that they are doing a good job, making your stay with us more enjoyable. I will inform them of their good work and commitment towards giving the best customer service.

We hope that you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,246
    816
    249
    81
    55
See reviews for
524
781
182
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night. Staff were very helpful on arriving. The room was larger than usual possibly as we had the angle room, but as always clean and tidy throughout the hotel . We had breakfast which also does not disappoint.. The only disappointment is that we had to park our car in private car park close by which wasn't on the cheap side. Would recommend though for locality.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
176 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Reviewing Premier Inns is boring. You know what to expect in the room (the bed, the furnishings etc.), you know they will be clean and that a good breakfast is to be had. But that is the strength of the brand and this Premier Inn does not fail to deliver. If looking for budget accommodation, Premier Inn is ahead of the competition and works hard to maintain this position.

This PI is close to Piccadilly station, the trams, Chinatown and is, therefore well situated to explore the city. It seems to be a new property which means the standards are perhaps just a cut above some others in the chain.

If you just want a (very comfortable) bed for the night and aren't worried about having every convenience but need somewhere that does a hearty breakfast and a bar on site - and if this is your preferred location this is for you, .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronnie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthQuinn, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Ronnie, Thank you for taking time to review our hotel, your views and feedback are vital to us so that we can achieve a high standard of customer service to you as a guest.

We hope that you stay with us again soon and look forward to accommodating you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ludlow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were a group of 2 adults and 2 children, (a mother and her 3 children) and booked the premier inn for our shopping weekend in Manchester. Unsure of what to expect on our arrival, we were very impressed. We arrived at the hotel about 11 o clock, which was too early to check in too our room, but that was no problem. The staff were very welcoming and showed us to a room where we could leave our luggage. When we did check in, the staff were very helpful and nothing was too much hassle for them! We got to our room and couldn't of asked for anything more, it was just what we needed. Very clean, tidy and very comfortable beds. The following morning was a delight after a peaceful nights sleep, we had booked for breakfast. Breakfast is served right through till 12 and is an experience in itself. It was amazing! There is something there for everybody and you can eat as much as you like, and again the staff were all very helpful and welcoming. The best thing about this hotel is that check out time isn't until 12 noon, so we were able to go back to our room and rest up before checking out. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannah_Ox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here for three nights while attending Tatton Park Flower Show. Very close to Piccadilly Railway Station so very well situated for travelling to and from Knutsford. Room was clean and comfortable, although small, but all that was required for our purpose. It was a typical budget chain hotel room. Breakfasts were included and were very good. Restaurant staff were attentive and helpful. Reception staff were excellent. The staff have obviously been well trained and know exactly what their responsibilities are and carry them out with a friendliness and humour which was appreciated. Manchester City Centre is within walking distance but there are a variety of bars and restaurants close by. We will definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mistahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire, Scotland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great hotel in a central location, 2 minutes from canal street, and 5 minutes from Piccadilly. Friendly staff, nice big rooms, big comfortable beds. Bit pricy during Manchester pride, but otherwise great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markyboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here on a Sunday night at the advances rate of £29. Great service from staff.Liked the way the hotel gave free sweets for the kids after returning the "hidden ducks" in the room.Excellent location especially for China town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis9489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,674 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Property: Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Address: The Circus 112-114 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4WB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#9 Best Value Hotel in Manchester
#12 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Manchester, Piccadilly train station is just a 10 minute walk and there are tram links to Manchester Old Trafford stadium, Manchester City stadium, and Media City Uk. Attractions nearby include Canal Street, Oxford Road, Palace and Opera House theatres and lots of bars and restaurants. Passes for nearby gym facilities are available please enquire at reception. Parking is available at a discounted rate (approx £14.50 per over night stay) at the Q Park on St James St - M1 4LX. Voucher is available from hotel reception upon departure. Our Manchester (Portland Street) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Portland Street) Hotel Manchester
Premier Inn Portland Street
Travel Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing