We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Ranked #24 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good location”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

i Stayed for three weeks with work. Really good location, amazing staff and clean. close to all the main shopping areas. A little rough on a night but during the day lots of business people around. The restaurant staff were amazing, especially at breakfast making us coffee to go.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bake_1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,286
    867
    274
    90
    63
See reviews for
556
832
190
392
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Managed to get premier inn for 29 pound which is the cheapest I've ever got a hotel room to be honest. Their is options to check in online a few days before , which I did and it saved a lot of time . You just go in on the self service screens and it gives you your key and room number . Room very very clean and bed very comfy . Great rooms and great location. Location right next to the center. All staff was very friendly and helpful , was was staying over to see Rihanna in concert and we asked for directions to the MEN and she explained very clear that you just follow the tram lines which we did and we found it . Nice and comfortable stay for the night overall , no problems whatsoever .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antonia12321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthQuinn, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It’s always great to get such positive feedback and we are happy that we could make your stay an enjoyable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, USA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

i was told cheap and cheerful - and it was - not my cup of tea!!

kettle didnt work, no hair dryer ...literally was just the basics

breakfast however was very good..

bathrrom was tiny and cramped - didnt feel clean!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piggymagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
151 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We got this room at a bargain price of £29. Check in was super easy on a touch screen computer. Room standard premier inn, bed super comfortable as usual. Rooms had internal screen on windows to filter noise out and the street seemed as though it was silent! The only noise came from our neighbours who were moving furniture around and slamming doors at 6am.

All staff were really helpful and I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Central Manchester.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsShoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthQuinn, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am really pleased you found our check in to be quick and easy and that your room was quiet and comfortable. We aim to make our guest experience as simple and enjoyable as possible and I’m thrilled our friendly staff were able to assist with this. Should you experience any disturbance from your neighbouring rooms or anything else in future please call reception anytime and we would be happy to assist.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

stayed here for 2 nights for Manchester 10k. Great room overlooking the start line. huge family room and a third single bed was put in the room upon request. Nothing was too much trouble here. great breakfast too with such lovely smiling helpful staff. The staff working here are a total credit to the hotel - best service I have ever known!! thanks so much for a lovely stay . special thanks to Magda for being so helpful when we were leaving... ordering us a taxi and carrying our luggage out. Really felt welcomed and valued as a guest and my hubby, 3 children and I were very happy. Thanks

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yummymummy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthQuinn, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words regarding our team in your review about your recent stay with us. I was thrilled when I saw the title of this review. I will ensure Magda receives personal special thanks regarding how she helped you during your stay. I am happy that we were able to meet your needs and make your stay enjoyable.

We would love to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Hotel in a good location in the city of Manchester. Easy to access and find.
Staff very courteous.
Check-in and check out very quick with staff very happy to help at all times.
Bedroom was quiet and comfortable for a decent sleep.
Breakfast was busy and the buffet was constantly replenished.
Restaurant was quiet on Saturday evening due to the R. Steward and Bon Jovi concerts and dinner was nice and affordable.
1 Minor point: the shower is slighlty to low and banged my head on the shower head a couple but I am 6" high. The pressure could be improved.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthQuinn, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us from check in to breakfast the next morning. All teams within the hotel will be really pleased that they contributed to your stay being easy and comfortable. Your comments regarding the shower will be taken on board so we can try and improve this for next time.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you visit Manchester next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Hotel was situated in a very good area for us to get to where we needed to be in Manchester; the staff from word go were very friendly and ALL seemed to have plenty of time for us including the security team late at night and were keen to have a good bit of banter with us. The breakfast in the morning was a typical Premier Inn all you can ask for breakfast, we stayed 2 nights and saw different staff both days at breakfast and both were very chatty and friendly. Will definitely stay again when in Manchester.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthQuinn, Manager at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review after your recent stay with us. Our teams thrive on positive feedback and I will pass all your comments to our teams and security. I will also pass your feedback to our restaurant after your breakfasts.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 116 in Manchester
2,451 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
0.1 mi away
Novotel Manchester Centre
Novotel Manchester Centre
#43 of 116 in Manchester
1,553 reviews
0.3 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#8 of 116 in Manchester
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Property: Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Address: The Circus 112-114 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4WB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#12 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Manchester, Piccadilly train station is just a 10 minute walk and there are tram links to Manchester Old Trafford stadium, Manchester City stadium, and Media City Uk. Attractions nearby include Canal Street, Oxford Road, Palace and Opera House theatres and lots of bars and restaurants. Passes for nearby gym facilities are available please enquire at reception. Parking is available at a discounted rate (approx £14.50 per over night stay) at the Q Park on St James St - M1 4LX. Voucher is available from hotel reception upon departure. Our Manchester (Portland Street) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Portland Street) Hotel Manchester
Premier Inn Portland Street
Travel Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing