We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“31/3 - 2/4 booked in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Ranked #33 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

3 nights booked, nice friendly staff, great breakfast, Weatherspoons next door, would stay again no problem £29 per night. Walking distance to Arndale shopping centre and MEN Arena and GMEX bus stop outside entrance.


  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 658WilliamP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,808)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,083 - 2,089 of 2,808 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

I managed to get this room for a bargain £29 and although arriving at the hotel 30 minutes earlier than the 2pm check in time the staff were very helpful in checking us into our rooms, as the self service machines wouldn't have allowed us until after 2pm.

Appearances can be deceiving because despite the small entrance this hotel is BIG and I had quite a walk around to my room once I had reached my floor. If you have difficulty walking I advise requesting a room closer to the lifts.

I was there to see Katie Melua at the Bridgewater Hall and being just five minutes walk away the location of this hotel was fantastic, it is also less than 10 minutes walk from Picaddilly station.

If you are hungry I also highly recommend the New Emperor Restaurant just around the corner in China Town, one of the most delicious meals I have ever tasted!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dazza_stoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

A pleasant hotel that felt warm and friendly with good breakfasts and a nice bar. Located close to the main station and tram and bus services to other parts of the city. The city centre is only a few minutes walk.

Room Tip: Seemed generally quiet, even though it was a busy weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRMALEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel itself was clean and everything you'd expect from a Premier inn, which we have stayed in lots of times throughout the UK.
But the chain seem to have a policy of not allowing bedroom windows to be opened - not even a little bit. Therin lies the problem. On the first night there, the room was so hot there was beads of sweat on all of us - mainly me. I tried several times to control the heating (following the very basic instrucations on a sheet of paper) it clearly said use the control up and down switches to alter the heat/coolness. Ours defaulted to 23.5 degrees. Even with the cooler on the noise woke my two sons, so for a while three of us were awake. in the end I turned the cooler and heating system off altogether. I just feel that they are making the rooms unbearable by not allowing the windows to be opened.Also clearer instructions for control of heating and cooling would be better, and a more silent cooler system would help
This inability for me to sleep put a bit of a dampner on our weekend as you can imagine it made me rather grumpy.
On the plus side the hotel was spotless and the food was good. Most of the staff were very friendly, especially Luis who served at the breakfast and dinner tables (we ate in the hotel on the 2nd night and the food was very good). However the front of house staff seemed to have a "cannot be bothered" attitude,and was busy looking past me to grab the room keys off the other people behind me. They seem to have a "lets get the customer out as quickly as possible attitude".

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank castlecraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Got our room for £29 so was a bargain!
Easy check in, pleasant guy on reception, room a good size and very quiet so got a good nights sleep!
I enjoyed the breakfast, my hungover partner didn't really get his money's worth though! A lot of family's with children dining as its kids eat free under 16!
We parked at the Q park round the corner, if you don't know Manchester (like we didn't) then it's a bit of a nightmare to find as it looks like a narrow back alley! 24 hour McDonald's nearby and Wetherspoons!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hippo35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Nothing wrong with this hotel apart from the need to secure a portable heater when staying here during cold weather. The standard radiator can only be set to a maximum temperature of 23 degrees and cuts out when the unit reaches that level, regardless of the room itself having failed to do so.

Room Tip: If it's cold weather when you check in, ask for a portable radiator there and then before they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotsjimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed last year for a weekend and came back again to take our son to see Manchester City. Both visits were great. The rooms very clean and we all slept great. On both stays we recieved a warm and friendly welcome. Breakfast was really good and again customer service 100%. The location is great and we found Manchester a really nice city to visit with a lot to do and see. We look forward to our return visit. Thanks......

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smokies1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel
0.3 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Address: The Circus 112-114 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4WB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#12 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $60 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Manchester, Piccadilly train station is just a 10 minute walk and there are tram links to Manchester Old Trafford stadium, Manchester City stadium, and Media City Uk. Attractions nearby include Canal Street, Oxford Road, Palace and Opera House theatres and lots of bars and restaurants. Passes for nearby gym facilities are available please enquire at reception. Parking is available at a discounted rate (approx £14.50 per over night stay) at the Q Park on St James St - M1 4LX. Voucher is available from hotel reception upon departure. Our Manchester (Portland Street) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Portland Street) Hotel Manchester
Premier Inn Portland Street
Travel Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing