We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Ranked #24 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“good standards”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed here overnight, i think this hotel should be recalled The Tardis - tiny entrance to a massive hotel that just keeps going round and round !! Ive stayed in a lot of Premier Inns so come to expect a certain consistent standard, once again i was not disappointed. Clean, comfy bed, soft towels, very very friendly and helpful staff. Bathroom is in need of a slight refurbishment but would definitely not put me off going here again. Location is excellent, walking distance to everything in Manchester.
Only niggle i have, is that the windows in our room did not open. There is secondary double glazing so you can slide the first layer back, but opening the window was not possible, this i didnt like as i like to be able to get fresh air in the room in the morning. That said, i would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ange f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,286
    867
    274
    90
    63
See reviews for
556
832
190
392
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stopped here last year, and I've just got back from another visit.

It's as good as it was - very friendly staff, fun auto-checkin consoles, warm and welcoming bar.

There was no noise from other guests or traffic, and I slept well.

A couple of slight niggles (I'm being really fussy!)

1. The handle on the loo fell off when I first flushed it.
2. The freefiew channels often break up, especially in the mornings,

However, overall a great stay, and considering I paid just £19 a night it fully deserves a 5.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pspr0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel we stay here as much as possible when we go to Manchester and if its not available we go to deansgate.
The location is perfect walking distance from the train station, perfect base for shopping site seeeing and getting to Old Trafford.
Close to trams, buses and tains.
Friendly helpful staff.
Good size room, comfy beds and tea and coffee in the room
We have gone as a couple and family and the experince is aways great.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2012

i stayed there but i find house keeping services are not good. cleaning services are not up to the mark. customer care department lack of communication. room warming facilities are not quite good
i launched two times to customer care department but they did not do anything.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ila I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We really appreciate your feedback very much as this enables us to improve standards and provide guests with the best possible service and a comfortable stay.

Please be assured that we take all feedback seriously and on the receipt of your details, the issues raised will be fully investigated.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Naina

Social Media Team,
Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

It is rare that you find staff in a hotel chain so clued up on giving the customer the best possible experience but I have to say it would be hard to beat the team at this hotel. No amount of "customer training" would generate their great attitudes, friendliness and ownership of issues than was shown at this hotel. From the front desk where we had a slight problem with the auto-check-in (apparently someone else had booked in, in our name and then realised they were in the wrong hotel! - Premier should add an extra layer of security to avoid this from happening). But Rob, the Desk Manager, was swift to resolve the issue and apologetic for the error. The chamber maid and the restaurant staff were also extremely friendly and clearly took pride in their jobs. They know there's a recession on and they understand how loyalty works - if they keep this up, the Premier will be full most nights. We've now stayed at a few Premier Inns of late and we have to say that there's been a change for the better....well done to all! Oh and the room was spotless, clean and comfortable and their breakfast offering was spot on.

Room Tip: The rooms appear to all have secondary as well as double glazing so I dont think it would matter whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trebor100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed in the Premier with a friend, taking advantage of a £29 per night offer.

Comfortable, clean and spacious room. However, the most noticeable feature is the very efficient and friendly staff: they obviously really care that you are satisfied with the service.

It is in a very convenient situation for central Manchester attractions.

Room Tip: As far as I can tell all the rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawrieinnott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed at this hotel primarily for my partners birthday and wanted a nice, comfortable hotel reasonably priced within the centre. We could not fault this hotel, lovely room, clean and very comfortable. Lovely staff and the breakfast in the morning was worth it....ample selection in a really nice dining room. If I visit Manchester again for a night out I will be using this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not at the long end of the corridor i.e, the gable end of the adjacent side s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sedel60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 116 in Manchester
2,451 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
0.1 mi away
Novotel Manchester Centre
Novotel Manchester Centre
#43 of 116 in Manchester
1,553 reviews
0.3 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#8 of 116 in Manchester
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Property: Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Address: The Circus 112-114 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4WB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#12 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Manchester, Piccadilly train station is just a 10 minute walk and there are tram links to Manchester Old Trafford stadium, Manchester City stadium, and Media City Uk. Attractions nearby include Canal Street, Oxford Road, Palace and Opera House theatres and lots of bars and restaurants. Passes for nearby gym facilities are available please enquire at reception. Parking is available at a discounted rate (approx £14.50 per over night stay) at the Q Park on St James St - M1 4LX. Voucher is available from hotel reception upon departure. Our Manchester (Portland Street) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Portland Street) Hotel Manchester
Premier Inn Portland Street
Travel Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing