We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was excellent - staff are great. Room was adequate.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Ranked #29 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were welcomed by a member of staff on arrival as we were checking in at the self service screen, who explained a bit about the hotel and services.
The room was a bit of a let down for £96 for one night. It was basic an not really worth the money. I booked a twin room, which turned out to be a double bed and the sofa was turned into a single bed - not great. It was adequate though and did the job to be fair.
On leaving I had a needed help from the lady on reception, who gave fantastic customer service and was really helpful. Even though I thought the room was a bit of a let, the last impression of the hotel was really positive because of the great service.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank halsall85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,769)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,210 - 2,216 of 2,769 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

I always prefer Premier Inn because the hotels are the same wherever. Sorry 'smaller chains' but some reviews are appaling and as for the big names, you pay a high price but still get the clean bathroom, fluffy bed, tea/coffee and TV that you get in PI's.
This one was no different, bar/restaurant on the first floor and the usual security comfort of no access to the main hotel without your card.
One small gripe was that (and there's no air con in PI's) the window wouldn't open so the room was a little hot for me
The staff were very helpful and friendly, whether on reception, bar or restaurant, nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is the 'wrong end' of Portland St for Piccadilly and the Arndale but there's a tram stop around the corner and its only ten minutes walk any way

Room Tip: Ask for a rear facing room - away from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerryBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This place does exactly what it says on the tin. Great prices very clean, comfy bed, top breakfast, superb location for city centre amenities. What more can you ask for?. Book now.
Very secure too, need your room key to enter lifts on return to hotel which makes you feel totally safe whether you are in the bar or in your room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hally31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

I got a great deal for myself and a friend to stay after a gig we had tickets for. The staff were friendly and the room clean. it was just what we needed as we checked in on the day of the gig, went shopping and came back to change and drop our bags off. Then to the gig. when we got back to the hotel it was quiet which was a huge bonus. would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steffdagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Great location. However if you are thinking of staying here I would reccomend asking for a quiet room as there are a few building works close by which start very early in a morning. Also having booked twin rooms we didn't did not know until we had arrived that they do not have twin beds at this hotel? Therefore each of us had a not very good nights sleep when our turn on the sofa bed .Also the single duvet provided smelt of stale cigarettes. The double bed was more than comfy just a pity about the other. Having said that the excellent customer service when this was reported made our stay memorable for the right reasons. Full marks to all staff at this hotel and the super breakfast!

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room away from the building works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy Dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The hotel is a very short walk from the Portland street train station. And not too far from either major train station. I arrived at 7:30 am after a long flight to Manchester and wasn't expecting to be able to check in until the afternoon but the woman working the desk asked if I would be ok with an assisted room. It turned out to be what I call a handicapped room and besides a bed a little lower to the ground I also had a nice large bathroom. Needless to say I took it and was able to have a nice rest before meeting my friends a few hours later. The woman was also very helpful in recommending some local restaurants and places to visit. The price was very reasonable and the room was very clean. Just what I nedded. I will definately stay again when visiting Manchester.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ricka..
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Excellent customer service from the time we arrived until we departed. Very family friendly. A large clean room which had no problem accommodating the three of us. The beds were extremely comfortable and the breakfast was of good quality. Great central location.We will definately book again when visiting Manchester.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katrina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Deansgate Locks) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#55 of 120 in Manchester
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street

Address: The Circus 112-114 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4WB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#12 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $61 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of Manchester, Piccadilly train station is just a 10 minute walk and there are tram links to Manchester Old Trafford stadium, Manchester City stadium, and Media City Uk. Attractions nearby include Canal Street, Oxford Road, Palace and Opera House theatres and lots of bars and restaurants. Passes for nearby gym facilities are available please enquire at reception. Parking is available at a discounted rate (approx £14.50 per over night stay) at the Q Park on St James St - M1 4LX. Voucher is available from hotel reception upon departure. Our Manchester (Portland Street) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Portland Street) Hotel Manchester
Premier Inn Portland Street
Travel Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing