We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous room let down by very poor aircon and temperature control”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel
Ranked #14 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2011

Choice was either freezing cold room with aircon on and temperature at maximum or aircon and heating off which led to an unbearably hot and stuffy night's sleep! Restaurant closes at 9pm as does room service apparently - or, at least that's what the staff told us! Car park is supposedly free but no warning that space is limited to upper 2 floors and that parking below that is charged for and must be vacated by 10am next morning! Car parlk attendant is aggressive and generally stroppy individual. Such a shame because other than that the hotel is fabulous and the other staff were great. Maybe premier Inn thinks its location will carry it through no matter what - wrong as far as I'm concerned, am voting with my cash and will spend elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank HilaryCharles64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,277 - 2,283 of 2,417 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2011

Good location. Room a little noisy from air con. or other service equipment.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulus10103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

came up to manchester for a show and catching up with some old friends this past weekend with a couple of girls, this hotel contributed to the great time we had because the staff were friendly, especially the guy who checked us in and gave us tips on good restaurants in the city, also our room was very clean and quiet on what was a very busy weekend with lots of people partying.. checking out was nice too and we were sent on our way with a smile.. def. would stay here again especially since premier inn gives you a better rate if you book ahead...

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marycamden101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

We normally stay at the Crowne Plaza but the pricing for 2nd April was ridiculous so paid £109 for the Premier Inn.
Potentially this hotel could be fantastic. Great location for the MEN , shopping and dining out. Free, but limited, car parking. Good breakfast. Very efficient staff. Good room size kept clean and well maintained.
Let down by the sleeping arrangements.
Bed VERY firm. You lie ON it not IN it.
Pillows either hard foam or very soft foam. Very uncomfortable.
Mixture of hen parties, going to Kylie and partying till late into the night, with "sobre" citizens doesn't work.
All bedrooms door on the corridor close with an audible bang.
Guarantee of a good night's sleep worked, room rate was refunded promptly. Thank you.
The bed needs a better mattress with a topping layer as the best hotels.
If they could sort the noise and mattresses out we would stay again.

Room Tip: Car park spaces ca 60 so try to get there early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

Chose this Premier Inn as was going to a concert at the MEN. Location is really the best if you're going there, also for city centre in general.
Have stayed in a few Premier Inns, so knew what to expect.. Our twin room was a good size overlooking the car park (which was free!) on the eighth floor. We paid for breakfast which is well worth the money.
Have already booked again when we're going to the MEN, so would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angleseymember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Can't recommend this hotel enough. Normally you feel that you don't get enough service for your money, but we paid £54 per room for a (really) central city location and got 4 star service. The reception, bar and breakfast staff were all helpful, efficient and friendly and the rooms were huge, clean and modern.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lottielastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

we stayed at this hotel for 3 nights while visiting Manchester for football, the location of this hotel is great for the printworks which has great places to eat (much better than the hotel). After traveling six hours on a friday evening we arrived at the hotel only to wait 15 mintues to be checked in (the lady on reception was busy talking to another member of staff), when we finally got the ladys attention on reception, she was rude and blunt and when i asked her how to get to the football ground she told me to phone a taxi, not being funny but if i wanted to go by car i would of drove myself?! the room was clean and big however the bathroom was small, with a very dirty shower and fag buts in the pan of the toilets a broken loo roll holder, the only thing the bathroom had going for it was the lighting and big mirror, needs a repaint! the bed was really high up and hard to get in and out of when your only 5ft 3in! the bed was hard with dirty pillow cases. we used the hotel bar on the saturday night the food was good valuve and off good quality but the staff were clearly bored and were more intrested in where they was going out that night, one memeber of staff was swearing rather loud in front of customers. the view from the hotel room was of a building site but we knew this when booking and wasnt a problem. I will not stay at this hotel again due to the poor customer service and poor beds, i was told perminer inn offer a good night sleep or your money back well when i complained to reception they told me i would not get my money back as they couldnt prove i had a bad night sleep!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Central Arena
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Piccadilly) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Central
Travelodge Manchester Central
#37 of 120 in Manchester
1,216 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Central Hotel
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel

Address: Victoria Bridge Street | North Tower, Manchester M3 5AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Manchester
#6 Best Value Hotel in Manchester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#27 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $61 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great city centre location, this hotel is conveniently located for amenities and attractions including Manchester Arena, Arndale Centre and Printworks where there are many bars, restaurants and a cinema. Conveniently located for Manchester Victoria train station. Our Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an integrated restaurant serving a mix of traditional and contemporary dishes. ' Currently our lower ground lift which provides disabled access is under refurbishment and will be out of service for a further 6 months. We do however have escalators in the reception which will take you up to the first floor where more lifts are available to take our guests to the rooms. If booking a universally adapted room please be aware we unfortunately can not accommodate for wheelchair users that require the lower ground lift facility. we will however look to book you at a close Premier Inn that has that current facility. We apologize in advance.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Arena/Printworks) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester City Men/Printworks Hotel Manchester
Manchester Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing